We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade to the executive floor. The rooms are crisp and fresh.”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upgrade to the executive floor. The rooms are crisp and fresh.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the executive floor which provides access to a suite with newspapers, juice, cookies and space to watch a big screen tv. The restaurant was good for both evening meal and breakfast. Cork is a small city and there is no better place to stay if you would like to walk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Dalyhols,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, a selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet. Our friendly chefs are also on hand to make any other requests such as pancakes or perhaps an omelette!!
I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. There rooms are amazing with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Guests also have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge where you can have tea, coffee, selection of juices, water and a variety of pastries served throughout the day. All of our rooms here in the hotel have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,504
    685
    104
    46
    26
See reviews for
755
1,318
103
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wow - what a face lift ! The Old Jurys on Western Road has been revamped on a grand scale and we loved it. Great location, good food, excellent friendly staff, good attention to detail.Underground car parking.Great beds, Clean, bright, views out over the weir were good, Rooms quiet, apart from the one drunk at 4.00 am
Will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask to look out over Western Road and go as high as you can get of the 5 floors and as far down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmacginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Michaelmacginty,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. It is our main aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing stay and as every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement.
Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have put together amazing menu's with outstanding dishes being served to all our guests to enjoy. All of our food is sourced from the freshest and local producers. We have an amazing array of dishes available with mouth watering flavours such as Crisp Skeaghanore Duck with Pomegranate, Spring onion with Toasted Sesame & a Soy & Balsamic Dressing.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again. so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Let me vent first, our gps could not find the hotel. At night, in the rain, one way streets, manual transmission, driving left, you get the picture, we were stressed out. The hotel doesn't have a numbered address, just the street name which didn't help. They said this happens often.
The hotel also did not tell us that we needed to bring our parking receipt up to the front desk everyday so you could get out or anytime you left the garage. Minor inconvenience.
As a side note, the front desk advised that this hotel was recently purchased and may have been under another name. Perhaps that is why our garmin couldnt find it.
The hotel hallways and room was showing signs of wear.
Aside from that, the hotel had great ammenities, friendly staff, great gym and we would stay there again since we now know had to get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secretwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear secretworker,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am happy to see you enjoyed the amenities here at the hotel and found out team to be very friendly. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork.
I am disappointed to read of your difficulties in locating the hotel. I will most certainly speak with our team and do our utmost to solve any issues with GPS in order to help our guests arrive to the hotel without difficulty. Cork has many one way streets with some wonderful boutique shops and restaurants for guests to experience.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Said to have a reputation as the best hotel in cork
Certainly lived up to its rep
Nice riverside location
Great fitness room
Be forewarned ALL must wear a bathing cap fir the indoor pool
Seems to be on the circuit fir bus tours of Ireland which may mean a queue if you head to breakfast at the wrong time
All in all very modern and comfortable

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear tbll,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to see you also had the opportunity to use the Gym Facilities. NRG Fitness Centre has state of the art equipment with very friendly staff to show guests the different fitness facilities they offer. They have a 22 metre pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. They have a great selection of classes for guests to avail of such as Spinning, Zumba and Kettle Bells to name but a few.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

From the moment I entered the River Lee hotel I was made to feel like the most important guest in the hotel. That's the kind of service you don't get everywhere. When checking in the receptionist was exceptionally helpful. I asked for directions to the English Market and she not only provided directions and a map but also gave me a brief history of the Market and it's origins. Our room was on the executive floor looking out on the river, it was really clean and comfortable. The nespresso coffee machine was an unexpected bonus. The bar has a really nice atmosphere and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with lots of tasty healthy options. Again the staff were fantastic and always eager to please. The pool area is really clean and the temperature is perfect. I hate really cold pools. All in all there was nothing that I could fault. I can't wait return to try out the spa as there was no time on this trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Ger001,
Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. There rooms are amazing with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Guests also have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge where you can have tea, coffee, selection of juices, water and a variety of pastries served throughout the day. All of our rooms here in the hotel have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city.
We are a mere 7 minute walk into the heart of Cork City Centre where you will find great shops, restaurants & bars. We are also within walking distance of many wonderful attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and Cork Old City Gaol to name but a few.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and myself stayed here on a Friday evening during a city break. We felt very comfortable in the hotel and we loved it. Hotels are in the service industry, yet very few have any idea how to make guests comfortable. Not so the River Lee Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated with genuine friendliness by all members of staff. When we left the receptionist made sure we had a voucher to exit the car park free of charge and we were given bottles of water for our journey. We ate lunch outside (in rare Irish sunshine) in the bar area and the food quality was excellent. The hotel is less than a pleasant 10 minute walk to Cork City Centre. It is in a location overlooking the river and very close to an impressive college campus which is worth walking around. Breakfast was impressive: good quality buffet fry, various organic products (e.g porridge), great selection of juices, cereals, breads, cakes and great coffee. My only small grumble was the size of the double room we were given which was an end room, a strange shape and rather tight - hence only 4 start instead of the 5 i would like to give this hotel. We shall certainly return though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Choepel,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, a selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet. Our friendly chefs are also on hand to make any other requests such as pancakes or perhaps an omelette!!
I am glad to see you enjoyed some of our key touches such has hot towel on arrival to freshen your hands and a lovely bottle of water to take with you on your journey home. We also offer all of our guests secure complimentary parking whilst staying in the hotel in our underground car park.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Property is well maintained. Had American sized rooms. Well appointed gym. Terrific breakfast buffet . Bar had excellent ambience and on a scenic canal. Free Wireless through out hotel that worked well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Palmer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Linda Palmer G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, a selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet. Our friendly chefs are also on hand to make any other requests such as pancakes or perhaps an omelette!
I am happy to see you also had the opportunity to use the Gym Facilities. NRG Fitness Centre has state of the art equipment with very friendly staff to show guests the different fitness facilities they offer. They have a 22 metre pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. They have a great selection of classes for guests to avail of such as Spinning, Zumba and Kettle Bells to name but a few.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing