We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Lee Hotel Cork Ireland Good Hotel”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A good hotel in Ireland close to Cork City Centre 10-15 minutes walk clean comfortable beds excellent toiletries restocked everyday television with English channels. Breakfast very good fruit cereals full Irish breakfast. Stayed 16 days Bed & Breakfast. Good Vegetarian Restaurant close to the hotel.Went with Superbreak.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 2nd. floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627Roberts627Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Your comprehensive comments are appreciated and we are always thankful to receive the compliments. Our team is proud of the service and experience they provide to our guests.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,727 - 2,733 of 3,655 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I could not compliment this hotel enough! On arrival - when we went to check in we were offered 4 warm wash clothes to freshen up one for each of the four of us - what a great idea as we were just after coming back from Fota Island, on check out the idea of offering a bottle of water for our journey are fantastic extras that I have not seen in hotels before. From the front desk staff, bar staff, restaurant staff and the accommodation staff that you meet in the corridor were very friendly, absolutely could not find fault. Breakfast super , rooms spotless and very spacious - this is a well run hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delightedcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of The River Lee Hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to see that you had a great time while staying with us during your recent trip to Cork. I was thrilled to see you enjoyed some of our key features in our hotel such as the hot towels on arrival to freshen your hands and complimentary water on departure. It is always great to see such lovely comments on our staff who are delighted that they were able to help make your stay a memorable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!
Why not stay in touch with us on Facebook!
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

River Leed hotel Western road Cork, well appointed hotel with all the amenities one would need for a short or long stay! Parking excellent, standard rooms have everything, flat screen tv, safe, tea & coffee, iron & ironing board, trouser press etc. Full bathroom with separate bath & shower. The breakfast was "divine"! From smoothies, home made yogurts, nuts, cereals, porridge, conotinental etc etc... amazing array of food. very friendly staff & just a stroll to city centre. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Bernie W,
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments for during the Jazz Festival here in Cork. It is an amazing weekend here in Cork full of complimentary entertainment throughout the hotel and a very busy weekend all round Cork City.
I was absolutely thrilled to hear you have a great weekend and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Chosen this hotel as was attending a course in the ucc close by .
Had a room on 5th floor so it was great to avail the executive lounge. Duvet was a bit too thin for my liking
Food was excellent as caters well for coeliacs. Breakfast was the best breakfast of all the hotels I been to
Check in and checkout was quick
Highly recommend the hotel
Pool was lovely too

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Seajac,
Whenever a Senior Contributor takes the time to write a review of our hotel we are very thankful. Your compliments of our team & your overall experience of The River Lee Hotel are certainly appreciated.
I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent only one night here in late October. This modern hotel was built during the 'boom' years and exudes a confidence about the economy and tourism that maybe now is not quite so bright. However it is smart, modern, clean, spacious and very friendly reception. Bedrooms very spacious and beds very comfortable. Tried the swimming pool in the morning and fine for a quick dip. Breakfasts are ample and plenty of choice and good coffee. Would return again with pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham1EssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Your comprehensive comments are appreciated and we are always thankful to receive the compliments. Our team is proud of the service and experience they provide to our guests.
We are renowned here at the River Lee Hotel for our breakfast as we have quite a variety of fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries and boasts a wide range of hot dishes for breakfast.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook as we love to hear from previous guests and when they are staying with us again.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Recently stayed here for 3 nights the staff were excellent and the hotel passed all expectations our one complaint was that the dinner menu for the 3 nights never changed so on one of our evenings we ate in the bar and the food was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar201025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Oscar,
Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Your comprehensive comments are appreciated and we are always thankful to receive the comments.
I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us, as we are in walking distance of all local activities however I was disappointed you did not enjoy your meal in the bar. Our Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan has just launched a new menu in our Bar which has a fabulous variety of dishes.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future where you will be able to taste the exclusive new menu containing local products.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Two adult family members and I stayed at The River Lee in July, 2012, during our first trip to Ireland. This is a beautiful hotel and the staff were friendly and professional. The triple room was plenty big for us. It was clean and lovely. We only stayed one night so we did not have the opportunity to the hotel much, but what we experienced was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Chris QT,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review here on TripAdvisor.
We were delighted to read you loved our hotel and had a great time here with us while you were visiting Cork.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will see some fabulous deals and competitions running for the hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,165 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $143 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing