We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would avoid...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gabriel House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gabriel House B&B
Ranked #7 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“would avoid...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here, it was last option everywhere else was booked out on that night,

Pros Location, staff,

Cons. No kettle or hairdryer in the room,Room was also on the lower ground floor So had to keep curtains closed as people could see straight into the room,

also on the morning i was advised i could not have breakfast as it was booked by a group..
was offered a box with a sandwich and apple in it,

i wouldn't stay here again especially for the price paid, ive stayed in other b and bs around cork city which are far better value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    169
    65
    24
    22
See reviews for
99
180
78
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have recently returned from a 4-night stay at Gabriel House, along with my Mother and two sisters. The staff are so friendly and made us all very welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean and comfortable and although there were no tea-making facilities in the rooms, we were able to help ourselves to tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the dining-room, at any time. The breakfasts are delicious and help to get every day off to a flying start! We will definitely come again and would recommend Gabriel House to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Along with friends my husband and I spent 4 days at Gabriel House. It was the perfect location to be near the city centre. The rooms were large and very clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there. They made us very welcome, were warm and friendly and gave us lots of information on where to visit/eat in Cork. Breakfast was hearty - only criticism was that the sausages seemed cheap and were a bit tasteless. Would stay there again and would recommend.

Room Tip: There isn't a "fitness centre" afraid couldn't untick box!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have stayed at Gabriel house on several occasions and each time my experience has been excellent. The staff are very friendly and Kathleen the manageress has a great chat each time I return. The full Irish breakfast is exactly what i need as I head off on my days work.Thanks again and I look forward to many more visits to Gabriel House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Gabriel house was 100 Euro per night compared to plenty nearby B&B's which are more simple and modest, but charge 25-30 Euro per night. Yes, Gabriel House is nicer, bigger, offers more comfortable bed, larger TV, en-suite shower (no bath), and better breakfast. But I still think it is overly priced. I would have been ok with 50-60 Euro, but not 100.

Pros:
- Irish breakfast was nice, along with cereal and fruit, orange/apple juice
- staff was friendly
- WiFi signal was steady
- nice relaxing patio

Cons:
- it was hard to find the place, which is located top-hill, so if you carry heavy luggage it's very inconvenient to get there. The website had no map or exact location (street name was available but not the number)
- no elevator, so if you're room is not on the ground floor - you need to lift your luggage
- no window nets, so expect dragonflies, butterflies, or other bugs flying through the window
- if your room is in the ground floor and you want natural light coming out of the window - forget about your privacy, as the window is facing the patio, where other guests can easily see into your room

Room Tip: ground level: no stairs but less privacy (window facing patio) / upper level: better privacy but lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here with my mother on a visit to cork, to visit family. We were greeted by fantastically friendly staff.

Our room was on the top floor, and this was a fair struggle for my mum, but we managed. Although I wouldn't recommend this, for anyone who is not fit as with bags can be hard going.

The room was clean with a fantastic view over the river.

Beds were not comfy and room got very hot even with heating off and window open.

We stayed for three nights, and each night were disturbed. The first night a drunken gentieman was swearing and trying to get in. The second night we had a group of 6 drunken men in the room next to us, keeping us awake till after 3, after a night out.

They had previously had a rather loud room party before they went out, complete with loud music. And while it was between 7-9 ruined our evening in, before a busy day, as the walls seem rather thin.

The final night we were woken by a fire alarm, which went off leaving us all outside, I understand these things happen, but it took nearly an hour for any one to communicate with us and the alarm continued due to a fault for an hour. There were no apologies or compensations offered.

If you are looking for a quiet family place to rest I wouldn't recommend it due to the weekend drinkers and lack of twilight staff to manage this.

We really have returned home, needing a good nights sleep and a rest.

We also thought the breakfast started rather late at the weekend as most visitors wanted to eat early and get out for the day, so it was disappointing that this was later at weekends. This led to a big rush when the kitchen opened.

Although the breakfast was lovely we missed out on the final day as we needed to leave by 8

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanie_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night by myself on a visit, it was such a bargain find! The B&B is more like a hotel really, with lots of rooms. I arrived quite late and the receptionist was very helpful in providing me with a selection of menus for local takeaways and came to the room a couple of flights of stairs up to tell me when my pizza had arrived. The rooms are very comfortable, and modern looking. Gorgeous bathroom. The room was cosy, and the bed was comfortable. The only complaint I would have is that the pillows were really uncomfortable, but this is only a minor fault! Tea facilities were available on arrival with the option of hot chocolate. The breakfast has a good selection, the home made cakes were delightful, possibly the only complaint i had was that the soda bread really wasn't what I would classify as soda bread! But that's probably just personal taste! If you have difficulty with stairs I wouldn't advise the B&B, as there is no lift and you have to carry your stuff up quite a few stairs. Otherwise I would highly recommend it! Plenty of parking, and close to the city centre. A really nice stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gems3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House B&B

Property: Gabriel House B&B
Address: Summerhill North | St. Luke's, Cork 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gabriel House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse, set in an elevated position overlooking the habour area. Located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dates from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored, aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with greenhouse produce to provide for breakfast needs.Featured in the garden are Rabbits, Canaries, hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gabriel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Hotel Cork
Gabriel House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing