We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Gabriel House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gabriel House B&B
Ranked #7 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and several other traveling companions in March, 2013. The room was good and the food was good but what impressed me the most was the staff. I had stepped into a bog by accident and the mud was everywhere. Without being asked the staff asked for my clothes and shoes and cleaned them without charge. They also have a chicken coop out back and I was given a mini-lesson on raising chichens for eggs. We were all made to feel special and if I ever get back to Ireland (we live in the USA) the Gabriel House is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TainisteCSMAU, Front Office Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay & didn't suffer any ill effects after the bog. I hope the family wedding you were attending went off without a hitch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 575 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I had a good night here. Bed and bathroom were just fine, and they serve a tasty breakfast. Also, if you want to head out for a pint there are some pubs within walking distance.
The staff was very friendly, which is in my opinion their best selling point.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for four days during June 2012. We arrived and was greeted at reception by a lovely Irish lady. She showed us to our room which was in reception (would suggest anyone who has a room here to ask for a swap as it does get noisy).

Breakfast was really nice, with plenty of options and the staff were helpful. Overall our stay was welcoming with only the locaiton of the room being a slight downfall for the b&b.

Room Tip: anywhere apart from Reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JA102015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Gabriel House for a weekend break for his 50th Birthday.

We had a great spacious room. Very clean, lovely bathroom.

The staff could not have been much nicer, they were fully knowledgable about where to go and eat etc.

The chef even made my husband a chocolate Birthday Cake !!!

The hi-light of our trip was going to Kinsale. We got the bus from the bus station and it took about 35 minutes, this is a beautiful coastal town. We had a super meal in the 'Fishy Fishy' restaurant here, beautiful food, highly recommended.

Woud definately return, was sad to leave.

Room Tip: we had room No. 13 - brilliant large spacious room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was some time ago now but thats how good this place was. The best part was the staff. So friendly, helpful and kind. It's well situated on the side of a hill overlooking Cork and the main rail station. It's not far from the station but it is up a hill but we managed just fine. The breakfast was fantastic and the eggs are as fresh as they can be, with chickens on the property as well. We were coming towards the end of our european holiday and this was the best place we stayed in in our 2 months, mainly because of the staff and the personalised experience they gave us. This was especially noticed by me who made the bad decision of buying a kebab at a fish n chip shop on our last night and became VERY sick, when we were checking out the lady at the desk offered to call a taxi as well as offering some food and drinks, and if I wanted to sit or lie down while the taxi came. Very nice staff, great views, great city, great country.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the road you approach from have the best views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Along with offering excellent accommodation, service and food, the staff at the guest house honored a previous booking that we were unable to make. This was far above what they had to do, but made our visit to Cork all the more enjoyable. If you are going to stay in Cork, then this is the place to go. A short walk from the busy city centre and offering ample parking space and everything you want when staying somewhere different.
Everywhere was clean, tidy, great food, comfortable rooms along with the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TainisteCSMAU, Front Office Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you David and it was nice to finally meet you and your party. We are delighted to hear everything was to your satisfaction during your stay.
Kind regards
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome from the start. The breakfast was great, hot and plentiful, really set us up for the day. The trip into town was quite a hike down the steep hill but we found out there is a bus which runs every 15 minutes and this will take you straight to the centre for EUR 1.80, more importantly, it will bring you back saving you the climb! The rooms were very clean and comfortable although ours was a little on the small side, we went with other family members and theirs was much larger.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailb772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,598 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
785 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
933 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House B&B

Address: Summerhill North | St. Luke's, Cork 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $95 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gabriel House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse, set in an elevated position overlooking the habour area. Located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dating from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored,aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with greenhouse produce to provide for breakfast needs.Featured in the garden are rabbits,canaries with our hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gabriel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Bed And Breakfast
Gabriel House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing