We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight stay”
Review of Gabriel House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gabriel House B&B
Ranked #7 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

this guesthouse was in a good location up a hill not far from Cork City and Railway which is good,the only problem would be the walk back up the hill so we got a taxi as we had young kids, so not good for older people either, also we were in the family room which is also on the 4th floor up a lot of stairs, so because of no elevators in the property, (which may be because of the age of the building) that was also a walk up four flights of stairs,one double bed was hollow on one side from years of use and i did'nt sleep to comfortable because of this as i kept falling into the hole, but apart from that the staff were very friendly and really welcomed us on arrival and anytime we passed by they were so friendly, and thats the joy of the "Irish Welcome",the kids even got brought out to see the chickens living in the garden and were allowed to collect eggs, so there's a lovely touch. The rooms were very reasonable and also clean which is the main thing, breakfast was ten euro each adult and five each child but we were told it finished at 9.30am which was a bit early so we did not avail of it, so ended up in the English Market in a beautifull cafe for a cheaper breakfast.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking or are elderly ask for rooms on first floor as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    169
    67
    24
    22
See reviews for
99
180
82
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's unusual to find such a gem in a city. Normally when I stay for such a reasonable sum, I expect it to be tatty or chilly or isolated - but the opposite was the case. Private parking, well lit, wide corridors, cosy bedrooms looking out over the city and welcoming staff. Modern bathroom, spic n span. Breakfast was rather nice too, which you pay extra for, but for convenience worth every cent. I'll stay again - no more €75+ at the Maldron for me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I was only in the door 5 minutes and I felt like I had been coming here for years. The breakfast was fantastic. With anything from full Irish to American pancakes. Bed was very comfortable and one of the best bathrooms/showers I have ever used. The staff will do everything to accommodate you and are like old friends within an hour. 5 minutes walk from Kent station which is excellent however if you are arriving by train after dark I would advise getting a taxi especially if on your own as the area while nice is like any other city late at night, a bit dodgy, however that could have been how late i arrived. but a Seriously cheap and I would strongly advise for business trips and couples breaks alike. I will be returning for a romantic weekend in the near future and have been told that they give special rates to return customers. The wifi is also very quick. The only issue I had was with that I didn't get to relax as I was on business. I cannot wait to return for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCahill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself, wife and our 3 year old stayed in the weekend.
Great location, just 10 min walk to city centre, so ye don't need a taxi at all.
Our room was very nice, clean and spacious.
Staff were really amazing. Such a great true Irish hospitality.. you will have to go back again !
Hens and ducks were another lovely great attraction for my daughter. Great panoramic view of Cork from your bed room was another cherry on top.. Lovely breakfast with a menu from smiling staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in No 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoKallarackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
At Gabriel House we try to pass on our love of our city and our establishment to the guests. We like to take time to chat with those who have the time to do so thus sharing our knowledge and improving the guest experience. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived in Cork on the train and only a five minute walk later we were at the guesthouse. The staff were great- very friendly, organised and nothing was a hassle. They gave the guesthouse such a warm vibe. Our room was wonderful. Panoramic views of Cork was a delight to go to sleep and wake up to. The double bed is very wide, so there is lots of space for two! Spacious bathroom as well.
Breakfast is incredible. Not only do you get a selection of cereals, bread and juice, yogurt and fruit salad are available as is a wide choice of hot breakfasts. We definitely recommend the Gabriel Salmon dish. The eggs are very fresh as they have their own chickens.
Being a young couple, we had no difficulty in walking up and down the hill. It could perhaps be difficult for others, but there does seem to be a fairly regular bus service running up the road.

Room Tip: We were in number 13, which was on the first floor and had a great view. It is close to 14 through s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlino90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Public Relations Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your words of praise and I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast.
In answer to your query bus routes 207/208 pass by our entrance every 15-20 mins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Only stayed one night but would have been happy to stay longer. The location is around 10/15 minutes walk into central Cork, up a moderately steep hill but easy to get to with plenty of parking.

Views from the rear of the building are exceptional, a great overview of cork and the surrounding

The staff were pleasant, breakfast a delight and the room was acceptable, only some slight noises when people walked above.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Gabriel House during our first two nights in Cork on an 11 day visit to south west Ireland. We found Gabriel House on Trip Advisor. The positives are that Gabriel House is clean, with friendly staff and great breakfasts. The less than positives include that it has roughly 30 rooms, and is thus not quite a quaint little B&B. The bed mattrasses were well worn in, and that's being kind, the bathrooms are very small, and the price was roughly 30% more than the average price we paid per night for a B&B in Ireland. All in all, it was all right, average, and that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gabriel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House B&B

Property: Gabriel House B&B
Address: Summerhill North | St. Luke's, Cork 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gabriel House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gabriel House Bed and Breakfast in Cork city is a beautiful period guesthouse, set in an elevated position overlooking the habour area. Located close to both bus and train stations it is a 10-15 minute walk down to the centre of the city. Gabriel House dating from the early 1900's has been lovingly restored,aspiring to its former glory. With 10-foot ceilings, feature staircase and many original features it is not difficult to imagine this impressive house as it was in its heyday! Our South facing sun terrace compliments extensive gardens and a vegetable garden, fruit trees with greenhouse produce to provide for breakfast needs.Featured in the garden are rabbits,canaries with our hens and ducks producing fresh eggs daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gabriel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel House Hotel Cork
Gabriel House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing