We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good functional hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good functional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed one night in the hotel so that I could be in time for an early start at a conference elsewhere. There was ample parking and I was able to get something to eat after a long journey. The room was spacious, comfortable, modern and well appointed. Biggest asset of all were the staff who were friendly and helpful. Overall, I was very pleased especially as the room rate was very reasonable

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanganainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Commons Inn. If you are in Cork on a regular basis please ask us about our Corporate Stay program. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commons Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    122
    59
    27
    21
See reviews for
111
127
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midleton, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Commons Inn was such a great place to be in order to spend some time in Cork. The twin room was all the time meticulously clean, the beds were extra large. As a nice detail, there were two kinds of pillows in each bed - lower and higher, so even reading in bed went well.

The staff was very friendly and really thoughtful. We even got some tips about the city and surrounding areas. Each morning the cleaning ladies were ready to give clean towels, coffee and milk.

The pub had excellent food - each day there were enough to choose from: turkey, pork, beef, fish... Nice large portions, fresh, steam-boiled vegetables, gravy. Fresh and tasty!

The room was very quiet and bed so comfortable, that a good night sleep was guaranteed.

Only minus was that the location is a bit remote and if you would like to get to the city center and do not own a car, a bus trip is required. Luckily the bus stop is close by. Hotel management could think of something to get rid of that negative side. For example they could buy a small van that could drive to the city center and back a couple of times a day, free of charge for those who are staying at the hotel.

Thanks a lot for a nice stay!

Room Tip: A room facing to the parking lot was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for your kind review Sven. I have passed on your comments to our housekeepers and reception staff. We are very proud of our staff and the commitment they show in making everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had a lovely meal in the bar with my husband and our son in the commons on Friday evening. The food was lovely and a nice selection to chose from. The service from the staff was very good they were all lovely and very helpful. It was good value for money. We have been here before and we would definitely be returning, We really enjoyed it and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinifredTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review Winifred. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back. Don't forget to check out our early bird 2 course and 3 course meals for fabulous value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited the Commons on Mothers Day with 12 family members. Have to say below par doesn't cover our experience.
First of all, we had to clean off tables to find somewhere to sit. Strewn with dirty plates and glasses. Massive queue with slow service for the carvery.
The food was awful. Rock hard mashed potato. Fatty meat. Vegetables like bullets. Portion control was also on the lean side, but then again we couldn't finish what we had due to the poor quality so really didn't want more of it. When someone eventually come to remove the plates, we were not asked was everything OK or were there any problems. Glasses were left to stack up on the table despite someone coming around to collect the salt and pepper, dirty glasses were left behind!

Draft beer purchased from the bar flat and had to be returned; meaning bottles were then purchased instead. Ladies toilets were filthy, toilet roll all over the floor, dirty toilets, no soap in the dispensers.
Overall ridiculously poor with well over €25 / head spent. Shall not be returning or recommending to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sam. We are sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your lunch on Mother's day. We endeavour to keep our premises up to the standards that surpass our customer's expectations and it's unfortunate that we didn't meet your expectations on the day in question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
641 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very happy with my stay here. Great location, just a minutes drive outside of Cork centre. Nice clean and spacious room but most importantly it was very quiet so i got a great nights sleep. The Shower was amazing! At this price I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review.We hope to welcome you back to the Commons soon.If you stay in Cork regularly why not ask about our Loyalty card? You could save up to 5% on your food and drink purchases and on your accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The staff were very nice,Our rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious as the 3 rooms we booked had 2 doubles in each.We had dinner on the 1st night and it was above expections,The bar was like a local and had music at the weekends,no problem with the pint or the prices.
Corky109

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corky109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. We hope to see you back again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was made to feel very special from the moment I booked in, the service and friendliness from the staff was second to none. They obviously train their staff to a very high standard indeed, through from the restaraunt,bar,reception and cleaning.
I would not hesitate to return there or recommend to anyone staying in Cork.

Room Tip: rooms away from the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank tommy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for your review Tommy. I have passed on your compliments to our staff, who we are always very proud of. We hope to see you back on this side of the world again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Property: Commons Inn
Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cork
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing