We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent two nights here as a family, in two ground floor rooms. Both rooms were large and comfortable, with two large beds (small doubles rather than singles). We found the hotel comfortable, with friendly and very helpful staff.
The only small complaint would be that the rooms had no bath, only a shower. We had a problem with one of the showers when we were unable to turn it off again. On reporting this to reception, someone came immediately to deal with the problem, but mentioned that it was a fairly common occurrence in rooms throughout the hotel.
The hotel is not in a particularly scenic or attractive location, being on a busy dual carriageway, but it is very convenient for visiting Blarney Castle, just a couple of miles away, and is only a few minutes drive from Cork City and other places of interest. As well as Blarney Castle and Cork, we visited the Blarney Woollen Mill, Cobh (formerly Queenstown, last stop of the Titanic before it sailed for New York), Kinsale, Clonakilty, the Dromberg stone circle, and Macroom.
We had good breakfasts at the hotel, and ate in the restaurant on one evening. The quality was excellent, though a little pricey. To eat more casually, there is a McDonalds just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Many thanks for your review Andy. For future reference 10% of our rooms have baths whilst the rest have oversized American style showers. We apologise for not giving you the option when you were here.
On your next visit please check out our "Weekly Barfood Specials" which start at €11.95, or try our "Family Meal Deal" where 2 adults have a 2 course meal with wine/beer and two under 12's can dine from our Kid's Menu with soft drinks, all for €49! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    123
    62
    28
    21
See reviews for
114
127
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Avoid room 102 as the shower leaks and the managment either don't know about it(hard to see how you don't know when water spills out from bathroom into bedroom) or just don't care - i'm going with just don't care.Rooms are big and beds are comfy, breakfast is slow to be served.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 as the shower leaks and the managment either don't know about it(hard to see how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. it is unfortunate that you were not told that your room was a wheelchair adapted room which has a wetroom as opposed to a regular shower/bath. Please contact our accommodation manager, Ashley Colson, on 021-4210300 and she can discuss your review in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The reviews and photos influenced my choice to pick this hotel.
On arrival, it looked like a nursing home. We found our way to reception as there was no signage for the main reception.
The bad: rooms need redecorating, smelled musty, and overall just felt horrible. The ensuite only had a shower and again needed to be ripped out and upgraded.
The good: the staff and food are this hotels only saving grace. The staff were polite, efficient and atteded our needs. The food was great and lifted out spirits after the disappointment of the room.
I wouldn't stay here again or recommend until they have every room done up to a good standard. I have stayed in shared dorms in hostels that were better.



  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'd like to apologise if your room was not up to standard. We are currently upgrading our rooms and it looks as if you were in one of the rooms that are yet to be done. We hope to have this work completed as soon as possible. I am happy that you found both our staff and the food to be very good. I would hope that you would try us again, in one of our upgraded rooms and that we could convert you into one of our happy customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Ideal for overnight stay in cork
my room was spotless my room very comfortable I t was great value and I will definitely stay again commons inn is in Great location. My rate included breakfast which was very good. Staff were lovely

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed in the Commons on a business trip last week. Got my booking through a Group on deal so it was great value to begin with which included B&B and main course . Arrived to a very nice receptionist who quickly checked us in. Corridors a bit dated as was the furniture in my room but wow it was huge with two big double beds with beautiful fluffy duvets and very comfortable. Also a flat screen tv and bathroom had a huge shower so they can be forgiven for the dated furniture and paintwork. A little uplift and it would be super. The bar is big too and we had our dinner in there. Because our deal was for two persons and there was only one in each room we made enquiries at the desk regarding getting our starter free. Daniel our waiter came over and informed us that there was no problem at all and he was so pleasant and helpful it made our stay there extra nice. He explained the menu and the wine list and could not have been more accomodating. Full marks to Daniel! He also told us it was Bingo nite which we stayed for and won €50 so all in all very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was fast, hot and scumptious!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 562Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and accommodation and that you were a winner in our fun bingo session. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We took advantage of a midweek break two nights B&B and one evening meal. On arrival we were greeted by friendly helpful staff and without any fuss we were in our room within ten mins. A nice airy family room, with all the facilities one requires. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and again service was incredibly friendly and efficient. Overall we can't praise this establishment enough. It was truly a home from home and we felt at home due to the lovely friendly staff. Well done to all concerned and many thanks for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank i2dayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are delighted that we made you feel so comfortable and this is, as you point out, due to our colleagues working in all areas of the Hotel. We take huge pride in all our staff and their ability to make all customers feel comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Cork again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

A very comfortable stay. The rooms have been redecorated since I last stayed and look really well. The staff are all very nice and the bar food was fantastic. I would have no qualms recommending the Commons Inn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedub2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are working hard at the moment to finish upgrading our rooms and we hope that the majority will be completed shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons Express Inn when you are back in Cork again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Property: Commons Inn
Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing