We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As a family we would if in cork stop off at the commons on a Sunday for lunch and have always found it to be top class. The service and the food is excellent. Last week my wife and myself and another couple decided to try an evening meal there. We were not disappointed. All 4 of us had the chicken and bacon salad for starters. Fantastic, then 3 of us had the steak and 1 of us had the house burger for main course. We have eaten in many places for an evening meal but this has got to have being the best. I would highly recommend the commons for an evening meal. Thanks also to Daniel who looked after us on the night. .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are always working to provide the best possible dining experience for the best price. You might be interested in our new "Wine & Dine" special, which offers a four course meal for 2, together with a bottle of wine, for €49. We hope to see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    132
    69
    33
    25
See reviews for
125
147
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The food here is excellent, great value for money and good quality. Most recently we celebrated my son's christening in their restaurant (our daughter's christening took place here too). The staff were very friendly and our waiter Daniel ( he will be easy to identify due to his warm, welcoming smile and his ability to put a person at ease with his friendly chat) was so attentive and accommodating. Our christening party was quite large on both occasions and included quite a few children, Daniel was so patient and made sure to give each guest whatever attention and assistance they required, his attention to detail ensured that my husband and I got to sit back, relax and celebrate our son's big day which we can look back on with very fond memories. All of our guests were really pleased with the food they were served and with the service Daniel provided. I have no doubt that should the occasion arise, we would choose the restaurant as our venue in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EMKJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted that Daniel was able to meet and surpass your expectations and it's something that makes us proud of all our colleagues working with us here at The Commons Inn. Why not stay in touch with everything we have to offer on our facebook page- The Commons Inn. Again, many thanks & we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

By god I would swear by this place! I have been coming here for 13 years and the waiter known by Daniel was excellent at his service! Daniel had came over to the table where my family and I had been having a birthday meal! Daniel made sure that we were ok and he always had smile! Daniel is very friendly and helpful and he is an excellent worker, he went out of his way to make sure that the food was correct and the family were fine! I will be having more parties here at the commons and Daniel well done :) if I was daniel's boss I would be proud as punch! Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danii132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. Here at the Commons we take great pride in our colleagues and the extra mile they go for our customers. I have passed on your comments to Daniel. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe for our new Family Offer which we are launching on Monday 13th January. Check out our facebook page for details- The Commons Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Travelled in a group of 8. The Inn is ideal as a base for travelling out and about. Only 2 storey so easy access to rooms. Reception and all staff incredibly friendly/helpful. Rooms clean and spacious, 2 very comfy double beds and en suite with basic toiletries. It is opposite a busy road but there is double glazing and traffic noise did not affect our sleep quality. Breakfast plentiful with a help yourself buffet and/or order full Irish or whatever variation you fancy.
Located in between Cork and Blarney with bus stops outside going either way. Cheapest way to travel and drivers very helpful (telling us where to get off etc). We also travelled by train to the Titanic Experience in Cobh.
The Inn has a very large Bar and Function facilities which catered for several local parties during our stay. We were not disturbed by any of them and were welcome to use the bar during these times.
Apart from breakfast we did not eat here but if the Locals use it then it must be good.
Cork is a beautiful city with great shopping and great bars (tho' we always seemed to end up in Cook Street!)
Will definitely visit 'Commons' and Cork again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshiregal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again when you are in Cork (and don't forget to sample our barfood next time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We decided to try the Early Bird menu after seeing it advertised in the local paper, and boy were we glad we did ! The food was GREAT. We had Goats cheese salad and chicken wings to start and pasta and fish cakes main with bread and butter pudding for desert all for 20 euro ! We had a really nice and helpful waiter called Daniel , who couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely be back again soon.
Katherine. Cork City.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. You will be delighted to know that we are launching our new barfood menu next week on 15th November 2013. We would be delighted to see you back and to let us know what you think of it. Hoping to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very helpful with a late booking when we could not find much in the way ofaccommodation in Cork. Clean room and within easy driving distance to Blarney Castle restaurant adjoining for a quick meal, nice breakfast. Only problem was our room didn't have any hot water. Staff were very apologetic.

Room Tip: Great for stop over rooms at back of hotel can be noisy as they are adjacent to the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We apologise again for the problem with the water in your room but we are delighted that you were happy with everything else. We hope that we might see you again if you are back in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The visit did not start off too well...reception closed, large noisy bar, no food available at 7pm on a Sunday. Good sized bedroom, clean and functional. Breakfast is very good. Food tasty and as much as you want served by friendly welcoming staff. Had bar food on 2 evenings. Bar and waiting staff so friendly and helpful and the food............suffice to say if this hotel was situated elsewhere they would be queuing to get in. The fish and chips were gorgeous, well cooked, well presented and very reasonable. I dont know what I was expecting to get but nothing on this scale. It was marvellous.
What started out not so promising ended up as a few days in a gem. All staff - reception, bar, food service, housekeeping - were friendly and helpful. Full marks Commons Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breffni054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. The staff are delighted with the positive feedback that they received. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,601 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
753 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Property: Commons Inn
Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience at affordable prices, the Commons Express Inn is an ideal place to spend your relaxing vacation, or makes as a home away from home during business trips. The Commons Express Inn is located on the New Mallow Road (formerly Commons Road), just two miles from the centre of Cork city and 4 miles from the popular Blarney castle. The nearby Blackpool Shopping Centre & cinema are a simple 10 minute stroll away. A bus stop for both the City, Blarney and Mahon Point Shopping Centre is conveniently located right outside the Commons Inn. Ample free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing