We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good dayout...expensive though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fota Wildlife Park

Fota Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 144 things to do in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fota Wildlife Park is Cork's most visited Tourist Attraction and has been awarded best family day out in Cork and Munster. The Park is set on 70 acres on the scenic Fota Island in the heart of Cork Harbour only 15 minutes from Cork City (top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2010').The park is not like an ordinary zoo; here you can come face to face with free roaming animals & birds from all parts of the world. So whether it's a kangaroo that hops in front of you or a ring tailed lemur which jumps down from a tree, each visit is sure to bring its own fantastic memories.In addition to the wonderful array of free roaming animals, visitors also have the opportunity to see highly endangered species such as the Rothschild giraffe, European Bison, Lion Tailed Macaque and Scimitar Horned Oryx, most of them without the obstacle of fenced-in exhibits.This is the most spectacular aspect of Fota Wildlife Park, and is the reason you'll want to spend a full day exploring Ireland's Wildest Attraction.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good dayout...expensive though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Its a good family day out...entry ticket rate is bit high,on top of that parking fees too.Worth spending a warm day inside with picnic etc...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tankayalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,437
    652
    169
    42
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“brillant animal park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

such an interesting and crazy day in fota wildlife park, you will see giraffes to lama's to monkeys, they have a giraffe walk once a day which was great, I got stalked by a roaming lama, were ever I went the lama was there, I think he was attracted to my perfume or my be i'm just hot stuff to lama's lol, whent to see the monkeys and a crazy duck chased me, im thinking he was jealous of the lama. lovely grounds very well kept

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aneka j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly a top-notch place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fota really is more of a wildlife park than a zoo. It's so incredibly well laid-out, with very few actual cages, which makes the place seem very open and inviting for humans and animals alike. Many of the animals are kept on mini-islands, and some are even allowed to just roam free among the visitors - the peacocks, Patagonian cavies, kangaroos, and wallabies. I only wish it weren't so expensive so I could go more often!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great day out for adults and/or children alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

They do a great job in Fota. The park is well thought out and you get the impression that the animals are happy in their surroundings. The staff are friendly and enthusiastic about what they are doing. It would be easy to spend a day here, bring a picnic or go to the cafe (where the prices aren't the rip off often associated with a captive audience) we were there for 2 or 3 hours. It's the type of place you can go to over and over and no two days are the same. We've been before and we'll be there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DHAandCoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

entrace cost in €14 in a if you want a map it is an extra €1 should really be in on price. loads of wildlife to see and loads of photos to be taken. it is a self guided too so you wander around at your own pace you can get a road train this costs more too single or return journey. some wildlife out on foot paths noting dangerous thought. there is an electric fence which says dont touch obious reasons electric shock but i saw children touch it anywways good job that some of them are not on in that case. nice to see glad it was a nice day out wise would be horrible when raining as all out doors and plenty of walking.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fota Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Fota Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing