We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A central and welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cork City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A central and welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were a group of retirees and enjoyed one night's stay in this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for its comfort, helpful staff, cleanliness and ideal central position.
Thank you all for making our stay so very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilafriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sheilafriends


I would like to express my thanks for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful feedback in relation to our hotel & location. I am thrilled with your very kind comments.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your group back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future.


Kindest Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    773
    229
    57
    42
See reviews for
357
751
104
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived on Saturday 5th July at about 12 noon. The lobby was busy as there was a gig that night in the Marquee. We had come down to see Christy Moore. We asked at reception if our room was ready by any chance and as it happened it was. We were checked in in immediately and with no fuss and a great friendly attitude. We went up to our room and were delighted with it. This is our second time to stay here and I must say it is very good. We went out to meet our daughter in town and had some lunch. We went back to the hotel then about 4 in the afternoon and booked dinner for 6. I the went to the well equipped gym and my wife went for a swim. The staff there were helpful and friendly. Our daughter arrived for dinner at 6. The restaurant Kudos had specials for the word cup and the marquee and were very good value with a decent variety. We went to the gig which was by the way top class. Everyone should attend a Christy gig at one time in their life. Put it on your bucket list. Next morning we had breakfast at 9. It was busy as the Munster football final was on that Sunday. The breakfast was good but could have been warmer. That said it was very nice and again the staff were very friendly and attended to my wife's gluten free needs as requested. Afterwards we went to the gym and pool again. We checked out at 12 and were given a bottle of water each on departure. A nice touch. Parking was free for our stay so overall a very good city break hotel.

Room Tip: Less noise higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Patrick R


Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and indeed for choosing to stay with us.

I am absolutely thrilled with your kind comments. Thank you very much indeed for your marvellous praise of our staff and service. It is immensely gratifying to know you enjoyed your stay from start to finish.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again, perhaps for Live at the Marquee 2015.


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stated here with 8 friends and expected the worst as a tight wad mate booked it. Au contraire. Deserves all it's stars. Good room. Helpful staff. Good bar. Great location. Even came back at 4am to find a bouncing bar for a night cap.
Will def stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeekEcosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear GeekEcosse


Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at the Clarion Hotel Cork.

I was thrilled to read that you and your friends were well looked after from start to finish. The entire team will be over joyed with your comments and this will be a great motivator for the busy times ahead.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back to the Cork City in the near future. Thank you also for choosing the Clarion Hotel


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two girl friends stayed here at the week-end. The hotel is within walking distance of all the good pubs & restaurants. The room was spotless, excellent staff, very reasonable, can't fault it! Would definitely recommend the Clarion for value! Not luxurious, but perfect as a base for our girls night on the town!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ClarieMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear clare M

Thank you for your kind review of your experience at the Clarion Hotel Cork.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I was delighted to read your lovely comments about our staff and the service you received. We are privileged to have a hard working and dedicated team working here and I look forward to passing on your wonderful review to all.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back to the Cork City in the near future. Thank you also for choosing the Clarion Hotel.


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

good food, good room, a really nice place to stay. visited my sister and found that all was at walking distance. lovely pool and spa. would definetely recommend this hotel to other travellers, with or without company

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ireenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear clare M


I would like to express my thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Clarion Hotel and for taking the time to share your positive experience with us.

I am delighted to know that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful praise of our hotel, I am thrilled to know that you are so pleased with our location and the accommodation.

Thank you also for your wonderful praise of our service. I will be certain to pass on your comments to our whole team, and I am sure they will all be delighted to know that they made such a wonderful impression.

Be sure to keep an eye on our hotel website for upcoming special offers and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future


Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here on business for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised on my overall experience.

Pro:
- Excellent location - centrally located near shops and restaurants
- Walking distance to two bus depots
- Blarney Castle is about 35 to 45 minutes via bus
- Clean, chic, and accommodating staff

Cons:
- WiFi connectivity was a bit spotty and dropped off a few times
- It seemed as if the Hotel shares out the use of the Gym to non guests. Not sure of the safety of this - but did not encounter any issues either.
- Other than the University and Blarney Castle - not too sure of other landmarks to visit that would make staying here more of a destination than a best viable option in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Von A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Von A


I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review following your recent stay at the Clarion Hotel Cork.

I am thrilled to learn that we managed to surpass your expectations, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We had been experiencing issues with our complementary Wi-Fi, which has been rectified. Our Sanovitea Gym is available for members and hotel guest only - I am please that this didn't cause any inconvenience for you during your visit.

Cork City & County is surrounded by interesting & wonderful places to visit. For instance Cork Harbour is the second largest harbour in the world, after Sydney harbour. There is a fantastic tour available of the harbour which brings you to Cobh Village. Cobh was the final stop of the Titanic steamship back in 1912 , a wonderful memorial museum is located in Cobh and well worth a visit. A jewel of Cork City is the English Market. Recently, it was chosen by the Observer Food Magazine among the ten best food markets in Europe. Another popular visitor attraction is St. Anne's church, which is better known by locals at the Four Faced Liar due to each clock on the tower tells a different time - visitors can ring the bells and climb to the top of the spire where wonderful views of Cork can be found. Also located in the heart of Cork city, beside the Opera House is the Crawford Art Gallery which is a critical part of Ireland's cultural and tourism infrastructure, welcoming over 200,000 visitors a year. Admission to the Gallery and to exhibitions are free. Von A the list goes on, and I would have loved to have had our guest relation managers spoke with you while visiting so you could have embraced our entire city and county - perhaps an excuse to return.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The gentleman at the counter was very friendly and helpful. The hotel looked fresh and our room was quite modern looking. We enjoyed the access to the pool/sauna/jacuzzi. It was just a short walk to the centre of town. The breakfast was quite good though a little pricey. The beds were not very comfortable. The wifi was spotty at best.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Nicole O


Thank you for your kind review of your experience at the Clarion Hotel Cork.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I was delighted to read your lovely comments about our staff and the service you received. We are privileged to have a hard working and dedicated team working here and I look forward to passing on your wonderful review to all.

In regards to our buffet breakfast, the price is €10 per person when included at the booking stage or at check in. However, if breakfast is not included then the charge increases to €13.50 on the morning. We do feel that €13.50 is a reasonable charge for the buffet breakfast we have on offer for our guests. I do apologies if you felt this wasn't sufficient.

We had been experiencing some difficulties with the complementary Wi-Fi, it has since been fixed and we hope this didn't cause any inconvenience during your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I will certainly take your comments regards the breakfast on board. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back to the Cork City in the near future. Thank you also for choosing the Clarion Hotel


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing