We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Mid week break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cork City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Mid week break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a lovely mid week break in th Clarion Hotel last week.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the foyer and we had no window to open, so we asked to be moved and it was no problem to move us to a bigger room with a view.
The food in the Kudos restaurant was lovely as was the breakfast.
The pool and Sauna was an added bonus in a City Centre Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that you can open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Kerrymar

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

It's a delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in Cork City. It always brings me great pleasure to hear that guests enjoy our dining options. Thank you very much indeed for your very kind praise of our hotel, especially our leisure facilities.

I would like to express apologies for the room, although I am pleased to read that this was rectified swiftly.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel again in the near future


Warm Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    773
    229
    57
    42
See reviews for
357
751
104
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived at the Clarion Hotel Cork city Friday evening which was in walking distance from the bus stop a beautiful hotel over looking the river Lee
First impression was a lovely clean hotel with reception staff ready to answer all our questions helpful in every way
Our room was on the second floor overlooking the river Lee it had a lovely view very comfortable beds tea and coffee making facilities irony board with iron which are very useful when your in a hotel
Breakfast had a good selection of cold and hot food which was perfectly cooked
You could also relax in the hotels spar which had a large adult warmed pool and a smaller one for children , a jacuzzi two sauna,s also showers and hair dryers

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river were really good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Patricia L

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review, and for indeed choosing to stay with us recently.

It was a pleasure to read your review from start to finish and to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much indeed for your praise of our reception staff, the leisure facilities, the breakfast buffet and our guest bedrooms.

It would a pleasure to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Clarion hotel Cork City, which was very pleasant. The staff were lovely, and the food in Kudos restaurant, and also the breakfasts were very nice. Just a few little niggles. The first room we were allocated was at the rear of the hotel, and had no view, you couldn't open the windows and there was very little natural light which mad the room feel very claustrophobic. We were able ( for a supplement ) to change to a different room, at the front, which overlooked the river, and had a balcony, and seemed like a much larger room. There were tea making facilities, but I would have liked if drinking water had also been provided in the room. Breakfast was lovely with a good variety, but I noticed if you wanted an omelette or eggs benedict, you would be charged an extra €2. Why? Its such a small amount, and it seems like a mean little extra charge. That's the end of the complaints! The staff were very professional, and friendly, parking was convenient, and the hotel seemed very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryj087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear maryj087


Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to read that having stayed with us recently you enjoyed our Kudos Bar, the breakfast buffet and also found the car parking convenient. Thank you for your kind praise of our staff. I am delighted to know that you found them to be friendly and professional.

In regards to our bedrooms, having a city centre location we are limited with views, as you mentioned we are fortunate to have the hotel facing the River Lee and City Hall. I was very sorry to hear that you were less than pleased with no drinking water in the room. However we offer a mini bar which is stocked at request and our tap water is perfectly fine to drink having our own water filtration system, our room service team can deliver a jug of iced water at no additional delivery charge.

Our breakfast is buffet style. In addition to the buffet we offer a cook to order menu, for items like eggs benedict & Omelettes for a small supplement price. I hope that answers your question and I do apologise for this confusion.


Thank you again for the helpful feedback. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork again soon.

Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here for business. The rooms are decent size. Average furniture leaning on the modern side. Bathroom clean. Things that bothered me about the room. The carpet was worn, I felt like it was dirty, but maybe because it was old. I could hear the lobby and the outside quite a but which was disturbing. Minor: there was no clock in the room.

I ordered room service once. The dish I ordered was sub par. (Rice was uncooked)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina_Serra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Angelina_Serra


Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor and providing us with feedback.

I am glad you found our bedrooms a good size and the bathroom clean. However its disappointing to read you experienced some issues. I would like to touch base with you directly, if you would kindly email me at: scribbin@clarionhotelcorkcity.com or 021 4224900, so we can discuss these issues further.


I look forward to hearing from you Angelina_Serra

Warm Regards,
Sonia Cribbin

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

In Cork for a family wedding, we took up a number of rooms, all of which were furnished in the same way, and very clean, tidy and well presented.
The staff are terrific and made us welcome from the moment we arrived.
We loved the Kudos Bar and restaurant with the ubiquitous Wayne and his super staff, and the drinks and the food were quite outstanding. The food is mainly of Malaysian origin, and it is really good. There are some more local meals, but in general the Malaysian cuisine was so good no-one wanted anything else.
My daughter loved the fitness room and the pool and we could not have found people more helpful.
The breakfasts were great with a good selection of pastries and hot food, and the only complaint, which is common to every hotel in the world, was the coffee!
We also ate in Oysters, the fish restaurant within the hotel, although this is privately run. It wasn't bad, but unfortunately the maître d' seemed to be preoccupied with sorting out coats and bills, and as a result, there was no-one to actually take charge of the waiting staff, who did their best, but without any real direction. Not bad, but certainly not cheap

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear GourmetEssex


Heartfelt thank you for the detailed review. It is encouraging to hear that the service you received from our staff exceeded your expectations, and I do agree Wayne is certainly a character.

I will be sure to pass on your glowing review about Kudos Bar Food & the Breakfast Buffet to the head chef & his team. In regards to Oysters Seafood Restaurant, I am surprised to hear that the service wasn't to their normal high standard, please except my apologises for this experience, I will be following up with the restaurant personally.

I am pleased that we were able to provide you and your family with an enjoyable stay and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you all back in the near future


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fab hotel, friendly staff, very clean, lovely ambience. will definately stay again. Great location, great facilities, good value too.kids loved the pool, late breakfast, good food menu. Good parking. Will stay again when travelling next month.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie_ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear eddie_ru

On behalf of the management and staff of the Clarion Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others. It’s always a great compliment to us when we hear a guest wishes to return.

I am delighted to know you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel from the food, the leisure facilities and also the cleanliness of the hotel. We strive to ensure the needs of our guests are meet and your stay is most enjoyable.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel in the near future. Be sure to keep watch on our website for the latest special offers


Kind Regards,

Darragh Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at this great hotel. The friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful including sorting out our itinerary with regards which pubs to visit etc. Perfect location for bars and English market. Nice pool. Great food too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wiganlad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion C, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Wiganlad123


Thank you for the 'Superb Hotel' review. All our staff are an asset to the hotel and are always dedicated to ensuring our guests have an exceptional stay. Its great to hear that you enjoyed our leisure facilities, the food and of course the location of the hotel in the City Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future. Be sure to keep watch on our website for the latest special offers


Kind Regards,
Darragh Brady

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing