We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Stag's”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently had to organise a Stag in Cork.
We narrowed the search to 3 hotels within a walk of city centre; Option A the Clarion won and wins hands down.
The terms and conditions were more favourable than the other 3 we looked at, just get money up front before hand.
Group rate on offer was great and worked out cheaper/and a fair bit cheaper, than the other two options.
I was at a stag in one of the other hotels 5 years ago, more known for stag parties. This place is far far nicer plus has leisure facilities/pool to clear the head along with plenty of nice touches; Complementary towels, water, specials and a great brekie.
As one fella put it, you could bring your partner!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bat641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    799
    240
    60
    49
See reviews for
376
779
111
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed one night while on business and found it a very comfortable and convenient hotel. The room was a good size and comfortable bed. Clean and good facilities. Wifi worked well and was free. I had lunch in the bar and the food was very good and the service excellent. Very good location for central Cork approx. 5 mins walk into centre part of the city. Car parking was fine although a little difficult to find behind the hotel and underground.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our fifth visit to the Clarion in Cork, it is so well situated in the city and easy to get to by bus from the airport, bus station is at the back of the hotel.
We were blessed with the most wonderful weather we even needed sun cream and sun glasses.
Spent the days taking in the walks around the city so easy to find and follow, still finding things we have not seen before on our previous visits
We ate in Kudos both nights and had the most wonderful meals both times. Over our many visits we have had different rooms all have been very good would recommend the ones facing the river with balconies.
Our visits are for the pre-season rugby matches at nearby Musgrave Park, shame London Irish didn't win this year, but we'll be back next August.

Room Tip: Facing the river with balconies are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with partner and child we had kingsize bed and single room was massive with everything you need large mirrors,iron,mini bar,hair dryer the breakfast was lovely and I used spa swimming was very busy but lovely and clean and had everything you need, would defo stay again not a bad word to say.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night while on a coach tour of Ireland. The room was spacious, modern, and clean. The bar/lounge restaurant was very good, though service was somewhat slow. Food was very tasty and good value. This hotel appears to cater to business travelers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a surprise to find a centrally located hotel with lovely friendly staff, very clean rooms & bathrooms with nothing shabby . Very little noise , lovely & quiet so a sound sleep in a comfortable bed. Free Wi-Fi , free pool, extensive breakfast . We were attending a photographic conference and the venue couldn't have been better as the meeting room was large and with black out curtains. A pre meeting drinks bar too. I have only one gripe and that is the fee for car parking even if you are staying as a guest , it is €10 for a day . It didn't bother me as I had no car on this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view , no road outside these. Car parking is on site but € 10 per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Clarion Cork was the site of a 3 day business conference I attended recently. The room was nice and clean. Free internet and good hotel facilities. The breakfast was really excellent and I especially appreciated being able to have white and black puddings. the meeting facilities were likewise nice. Hotel staff were helpful. I checked out very early and had to call out for the night manager, but it was no big deal. The location is also nice along the Quay and you can walk into the heart of the restaurants and pubs in 2 minutes. I am not sure if I would stay here if I was vacationing just because it is so clearly a business hotel, but I would certainly consider it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,500 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
2,071 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing