We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed last week for a few days at the Clarion. It's one of the best all round hotels I have stayed in based in a city centre. Really quiet rooms, air conditioning that works, and above all FREE wifi in the rooms that works a real fast speeds, not like at most hotels that claim to offer this service.
Breakfast is fantastic, a huge range and as much as you want.
Can recommend to anyone on business or a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel whilst in Cork visiting family. The hotel was very central to all shops and restaurants. The hotel has its own pool and spa.

Our room was spacious, clean and very quiet. We had all mod cons, hair dryer, iron, tea making facilities, safe and lovely toiletries in the spacious bathroom. The staff were so lovely and helpful, and we were even given bottles of cold water on departure. We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for a 'girlie' weekend, perfect location for night life and shopping. Easy parking, lovely staff, special mention for Aideen, from the beauty spa, a wonderful ambassador for the hotel. Loved the choice of resraurants. Found the air conditioned bedrooms to be pure bliss! We will definitely bd back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our company hosted a multi-day series of meetings in the conference area. The hotel staff were very accommodating and made last minute adjustments when we ran into glitches. The hotel itself was clean and the restaurants were excellent. In response to some of the US-based travelers - you are in Europe, so a few simple things will address your concerns. 1. If you like ice in your drinks, or washcloths in your rooms - ask for them. Also, ask for an extra room key and leave it in the master switch so the A/C will run while you aren't there to keep the room cool. EU hotels often have the A/C shut off automatically if you aren't there to save energy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the Clarion Hotel for one night in August. The hotel is modern, centrally located with good parking facilities and a nice leisure centre. We were also greeted warmly by the reception staff on arrival and the staff in the leisure centre could not have been friendlier. The big issue with this hotel and the rooms we stayed in was that our rooms faced into the lobby area and as a result you could not open the windows. Although it was not very warm while we were in Cork, the rooms got very stuffy at night and the air conditioning system was not the best. It really is such a shame that the hotel was built like this as I personally could not imagine staying in one of these rooms for longer than one night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where you can open the windows - one facing out on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Globetrotter_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice hotel and great location. Only minute walk to cork centre. Beds and pillows were very hard so uncomfortable nights sleep. Staff very nice and service great. Very much a business hotel not cozy at all. On the whole though I booked this hotel for the location so it was fine for our 3day trip

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocktailCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear LouiseA,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and providing us with feedback.

It is great to hear that you found our staff so friendly, and that we provided a great service. I have passed all your great comments back to the team, who were thrilled to receive.

I am disappointed that you found the beds hard and pillows uncomfortable, in which I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We do offer feather pillows on request which you may have preferred.

We value your feedback on the comfort of the rooms and will use it to fine tune our operations.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards,


Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice Hotel with great food in the bar. Close to the bar and restaurant area in Cork and a quick taxi ride to most of the business areas. Plenty of parking in the underground car park. Free WiFi........

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear leginnamenots,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted as a business traveler you enjoyed the comfort and quality of our hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments about our great food and Kudos bar. Also, it is great you found our free Wi-Fi so efficient we know how important all these small things are to our business customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Be sure to keep watch our website for our latest special offers.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,216 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,283 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $132 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cork City is Cork’s premier 4 star city centre hotel and is superbly located overlooking Cork’s famous river Lee, facing the inspired architecture of City Hall. The hotel is just a 5 minute stroll from the city’s shopping and entertainment hot spots and the premier business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing