We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent three nights at the Clarion and it was a superb stay. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable and has lots of facilities including a pool, gym and spa. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was large with a big comfy bed, TV with loads of channels, aircon, tea and coffee facilities and a good wifi connection. The only downside was that it had no outside view, it faced into the atrium but it wasn’t really a problem. Our room was kept spotlessly clean and toiletries were replenished each day. The bathroom had a bath and good shower.

We can’t comment of breakfast as it wasn’t included in our rate so we took breakfast elsewhere. We did have an excellent meal in the bar one night though, the food in the bar is sort of Asian fusion. There is a restaurant just next door to the hotel that has lots of outside seating overlooking the river and it was nice to sit there in the hot weather.

The location of the hotel is very good, it overlooks the river and city hall. There is a shopping mall a couple of hundred metres to the back of the hotel and this leads onto St Patrick Street, the main shopping area. Just before the shopping mall is the bus station. We took number 226 bus from the airport to the bus station which is only about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We had 7am flight back home but were still able to get the bus to the airport as the first bus is at 05:05 and it takes about twenty minutes. One day we also took the local bus to Blarney Castle which was an excellent day out.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Tedlooney,

Thank you for taking the time to post such great comments.

I’m glad you got time to enjoy all our great available leisure facilities and an excellent meal in our Kudos restaurant. It is great that you found all our staff so friendly and helpful, they really are our greatest asset.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future at which time I will personally ensure you all have another fantastic stay. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Superb Hotel...great location, lovely views, great food, superb staff, nothing too much trouble, very friendly,. We travelled as a group from Scotland nad stayed for 3 nights from the 25th July 2013 until the 28th July 2013. This was for a Stag week-end and all 20 of us had a ball....The hotel was in a superb location, the rooms were awesome, clean, tidy and great views. The staff welcomed each and everyone of us and nothing was too much trouble. You are a 2 minute walk to the nearest pubs and shops and in an ideal location of the city. The airport is only 15minutes by taxi and the main bus station is a 2 minute walk. All the facilities were excellent within the hotel and the food was fantastic. We will definately return to this hotel but with the wives and family.....and shopping....all the nearby restraunts and pubs were excellent....highly recommend this hotel for any trip reason. Simply gorgeous....

Room Tip: All the rooms that we had were varied throughout the hotel, all the lads enjoyed their rooms. The la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear leandy,

I would sincerely like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and sharing your enjoyable experience. It sounds like you and your group had a fantastic weekend and really explored all the Cork – especially our wide selection of pubs.

Also, thank you for your very positive comments about our hotel and I am thrilled that it exceeded all of your expectations. I have already passed all of your great compliments back to each team here at the Clarion Cork. I know all feedback is very important to our team as it is very rewarding to everyone to hear such great comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with your wife. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook and Twitter, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards,



Valerie Forde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our recent trip to Cork. I had never been to Cork, so I would highly recommend its location for first timers. We could easily access everything we needed from our hotel...we walked everywhere! The service on check-in was superb. The gentleman was so welcoming and helpful, even gave us recommendations of places to eat and gave us a map. We used the leisure centre which has a gym, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom. We went on a Sunday evening and the changing rooms and floors were in need of a cleaning but apart from that it was nice. We had a lovely spacious room with a balcony looking out over the hussle and bussle of the city. I will definitely return and highly recommend this hotel. My only issue is paying for the car park. It is 10euro for an overnight stay in a car park that is located under the hotel. I can't understand why it isn't just included!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear LC_Irish,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found it such a great location.

It is great to hear you had such a superb check-in and that you enjoyed our leisure facilities – Sanovitae Health & Fitness Club. Also, I would like to thank you for bringing the matter of the wet floor in the changing rooms to my attention. Be assured, this issue has been addressed by the management of the leisure/Spa centre.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, in which I will ensure you have another fantastic stay. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location was very convenient and easy to walk downtown to the restaurants. Very clean hotel. Staff was generally helpful. One of the front desk steered us wrong on two occasions but the rest of the staff were very nice. The bed however was not. We had a King room, and it was really two beds connected, and not connected well. You could feel the split and it was very uncomfortable unless you stayed on the two sides, not what you would expect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danleiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Vanessa,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review and feedback about our hotel. It is very rewarding for us to hear guests saying the hotel was above their expectations. I know all the staff read the reviews and they will be delighted to read yours.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our high speed internet, along with our Spa & Leisure facilities.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, in which I will ensure you have another fantastic stay. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Although they claimed they are a 4 star hotel but I think they deserve a 5 star rating! The location is superb! Overlooking the famous River Lee by lapp's quay and the City Hall.

There is a cafe right in front of the hotel with beautiful setting, imagine over looking at the water while you have a sip of coffee or beer!

The car park is located behind the hotel, ( took us a while to find it) the elevator at the car park took us right to the reception - how convenient!

Reception area and waiting area is enormous! Staff was helpful too.
There are sauna, swimming pool , fitness center and a Clarin Spa on the lower ground. There are also restaurant and pub in the hotel

Our room was huge, with one look like a king bed and another single bed. The reason I mentioned "look like" a king bed because it was the combination of 2 twin beds! What with the beds in Ireland? Can't they just get a real king size bed or queen size bed? The gap between the bed just made us uncomfortable!

They provide coffee and tea making facility, hair dryer and iron, ironing board in the room.

As much as we love the huge bathroom but not so much about the half size glass door by the bathtub/ shower. The floor got really wet after shower!

I have no complain about the complementary high speed Internet!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear VanessaMunYee,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review and feedback about our hotel. It is very rewarding for us to hear guests saying the hotel was above their expectations. I know all the staff read the reviews and they will be delighted to read yours.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our high speed internet, along with our Spa & Leisure facilities.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, in which I will ensure you have another fantastic stay. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel will save you a lot of trouble when visiting Cork for the first time. The rooms are very cosy, typical Clarion standard, equipped with air-co, all necessary amenities and with room service available 24/7.
Breakfasts are very good as well, there is a wide selection of Irish breakfast and continental choices as well. On top of it there is a possibility to order a daily special (for example an omlette or wafels) with a small supplement of (i believe) 2 EUR.
Hotel has fitness and spa available for its quests. Moreover, it's ideally located for an afternoon or early morning jog - you can sport around the queys.
The hotel is in walking distance from the bus terminal at Parnell's Place and a few hundred meters away from a big shopping mall (in case you forgot your plug convertor - check Boots upstairs).
Although we haven't tried the local bar nor restaurant, they seem to be good and prices seem to be reasonable as well.
So next time you're staying in Cork - consider this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgataStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear AgataStar,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Clarion so much. I would like to thank for taking the time for posting your review.

I’m glad you agree how closely located we are to all the shops, restaurants, bars, bus terminal, & train. Thank you for your kind comments on our nice breakfast specials, the breakfast buffet, our Essence Spa & Fitness Centre. Also, I’m delighted to hear you found our rooms nice and cosy, with reliable air-con, this is always important for us. Our team will be delighted with all the great feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork soon. We would love for you to join us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Clarion Cork was a nice, clean comfortable hotel. The lobby was clean and modern and the staff was extremely welcoming and responsive to our needs. The room was extremely spacious with a comfy king bed and air conditioner, which was welcomed since we visited during a very warm spell. The large glass windows overlooked the river which was very nice, however the view across the river was a little dingy--this was probably the only negative but it was not a big deal for us. We had a buffet style breakfast in the Oyster restaurant. It had a wide range of options, all of which were very good. We also ate a nice dinner in Kudos, an Asian restaurant attached to the. All in all, we had a good stay, and I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Jamie R,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in the Clarion Hotel Cork and that you have taken the time to post your wonderful review.

I would also like to thank you for your very positive comments about the great buffet breakfast, your dinner in Kudos, the spacious rooms and especially our very welcoming staff.

I look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook and Twitter, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards,


Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,693 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,191 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,271 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $129 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing