We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and well placed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cork City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and well placed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I staying on one of the upper floors looking north, a great view to wake up to. As I was on a business trip and needed to work in the hotel I was happy to find that wifi was free and that the room was well appointed. There is also a large reception and a bar/restaurant which proved useful for meetings. The hotel was clean and well-kept and the service very good.

Room Tip: Outside and high up for views across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Phil B,

Thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to hear that the Clarion suits all your business needs. We cater for a lot of corporate guests so ensuring your stay is comfortable is very important to us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future in which I will ensure you will have another great stay. Also, We would love for you to keep in touch and join us on Facebook .

Warmest regards,



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    773
    229
    57
    42
See reviews for
357
750
104
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had the best stay at the Clarion Hotel, the service and hospitality was faultness. I would highly recommend this hotel. The room wasn't ready straight away but we did arrive exceptionally early. The staff were kind enough to check us in and store our bags whilst we started exploring the City. The rooms were extreamly clean and the designer shower gels were a treat. The beds were so comfortable and the views of the river were an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Ryan500,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for writing your wonderful review about our hotel. I know that my team read all the reviews too and they will be delighted to read yours. I am delighted that our staff were able to assist you in every way possible, especially to ensure you were checked-in as soon as possible. It is great that you got time to explore Cork, and it sounds like you had a really good time, which is good to hear.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Clarion, in which I will ensure you have another fantastic stay. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Cork Clarion now 46 days this year. The hotel is excellent. It is clean. It is comfortable. It has an excellent gym for a hotel. Kudos bar and grill has excellent food. The staff is also great and always takes care of me. Particularly Artur. But all the staff there has been excellent. I definitely recommend staying there if you are in Cork. Oh...and I highly recommend Cork too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCoollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Bcoollman,

Thank you so much for your very kind words, the team will be delighted to read them, especially Arthur. I also appreciate you taking the time to write the review. I am delighted to hear that you like Cork so much, it really is a treasure.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon, and I know everyone will take good care of you as per usual. Also, be sure to keep in touch by following us on Facebook.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Highly recommend the the Clarion Hotel in Cork, which is within walking distance of the train station, bus station, Oliver Plunket Street and Patrick Street. Fabulous modern decor. Breakfast buffet was excellent,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann29323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Ann29323,

Thanks for your very descriptive review which also highlighted some excellent activities in the area, which is very much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and especially our breakfast.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Clarion, in which I will ensure you have another fantastic stay. Keep in touch by following us on Facebook, in which you will receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, and receive regular news updates.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just back from a hen weekend staying at the Clarion in Cork, fantastic hotel for a fabulous price. The hotel is in a great location so close to all the sites and main areas of Cork. I cannot fault the service provided to us. Rooms were spacious, modern and very clean. We were a group of 23 ladies and from the initial point of contact till our departure the staff made us feel so welcome and were so accomodating to such a large group of ladies.The hotel was amazing and the effort made for our hen was outstanding, giving my sister a fabulous room and little chocolates and notes on the pillow, such a nice touch to make a bride to be feel very special. Will most definitely stay here again upon my next visit to Cork. Thank you to all at the Clarion for making our stay most comfortable and our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aislingading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Aislingading,

Thanks for your wonderful review. It sounds like you all had a very enjoyable weekend which is great to hear.

I am delighted that you all enjoyed all our extra touches, especially your sister, its great to hear that they made her weekend extra special.

I am looking forward to welcoming every one of you back again to the Clarion, in which I will ensure you all have another very memorable stay. Also, we would love for you all to follow us on Facebook, to receive our exclusive special offers, enter our competitions, receive news and information.

Warmest regards



Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent hotel,Very modern and in a great Location.stayed here a number of times for weekends away would highly recommend it.Rooms are very clean and modern. walking distance of Cork city and bus station. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try avoid room over looking homeless shelter,as bit of shouting at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Shiv000,

Thank you for your very kind words, the team will be delighted to read them. Also, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic & descriptive review about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that you had another great visit hear in Cork and I look forward to personally welcoming you back again soon. Also, we would love for you to join us on Facebook to keep in touch, and to avail of our fantastic deals and enter our competitions.

Warmest regards


Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent customer service even before we checked in! Was given a complimentary room upgrade as was celebrating a special birthday - well received and most appreciated! Room was as my little daughter put it...paradise!! It was amazing and huge!! Food at the bar was beautiful and the service was so fast! We will be back for sure! Residents bar was rocking even at 3am!! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel if you want a great centrally located hotel in Cork City!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FordeE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations101, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear FordeE14,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to hear that we were able to make your birthday with your daughter such a memorable one and that you had such a fantastic stay here with us.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon in which I will ensure you have another memorable stay. Also, we would love for you and your daughter to join us on Facebook to stay in touch, and of course to avail of our fantastic deals and enter our competitions.

Warmest regards,


Valerie Forde
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing