We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in the centre of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cork City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the centre of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Good hotel, Great room (they gave us an apartement cause we stayed for several days), Excellent and friendly staff. Nice and complete breakfast. The gym and sauna where quite outdated and looked not fresh. Hopefully things changed since the time we've been in the Clarion hotel. Overall our stay was very pleasant and when we return to Cork we will go to the Clarion again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    773
    229
    57
    42
See reviews for
357
750
104
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I arranged for a group of 27 to visit Cork in October 2011. Prior to arrival the staff were very accommodating and entertained all of our amendments and changes, they also managed to secure an early check in for one of the party despite the hotel being full.
While we were there everything was superb, we found it great value for money, the food was great, the staff fantastic and the bar was excellent - from watching world cup rugby in the morning to late night drinking (it was very lively on Saturday night!).
All in all we really enjoyed Cork, The Clarion and our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alangroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Only fault with this hotel is I found it to be a bit overpriced for a mid week night, I was there on business so the cost wasnt a major issue. Also just to note I personally do not like internal hotel rooms, and this hotel has them so if you would like to look outside at the lovely sights of cork, make sure u ask for an external room!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a great hotel in the heart of the city, very handy for the pubs and restaurants in town. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly. At a good rate also.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great hotel, good location at a very affordable price. Location is perfect if you are traveling on from Cork since it's next to the bus station.

Staff extremely helpful. For instance, their IT systems broke down and they were still smiling, joking and friendly. Our initial room did not have perfect ventilation, so we were upgraded us to a sea-view room.

Free internet as well (can't believe some hotels still charge for WiFi?)

However, the best part of the hotel is the gym. Forget the typical hotel gym, this is a proper gym with - again - very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Sea-side rooms are nice, although can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaral82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel just over a week ago for 3 nights as we returned from getting married abroad and decided to treat ourselves for a bit longer!!
We checked in effortlessly and we were delighted to see we got an uexpected upgrade and were like excited kids when we saw the size of the suite and the views over Cork city!!
Our families were also staying at the hotel and were really impressed with their rooms and its location to Cork city.
All of us were really impressed with the breakfasts and lunch that we had in the hotel.
The staff were all very friendly and even though we didnt have any requests, I am sure if we had they would have been dealt with very quickly.

We definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandEdel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here on a city break. The room had a balcony overlooking the river. The only fault I could find was that it was a little small - but hey - this is a city centre hotel. From start to finish the staff were superb, welcoming and super efficient. The food was great (Kudos) and the leisure centre was a bonus. Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river - it's pretty at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackr0ckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cork City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cork City

Property: Clayton Hotel Cork City
Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Cork)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cork City 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cork City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion
Clarion Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing