We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great value”
Review of Bollywood Express - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bollywood Express
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food great value”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Got a takeaway from here the week it opened and lets jut say this restaurant was a slow starter. Allowing for teething problems we tried it again and we were not disappointed. Takeaway was delivered in just over 30 mins. We both had chicken dishes which tasted fresh with succulent chicken as it should be. The prices are very reasonable as rice is included with mains. One thing I'd like to see changed is to have the option to have bread instead of rice and maybe just charge a euro extra or something. Currently you pay full price for bread and still get a rice that you may not want. Overall this long over due Indian Restaurant in Balincollig has potential and I'm hoping the quality continues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ball11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“More than disappointed-a wasted opportunity.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ballincollig hasn't had an Indian restaurant for a number of years so when we heard a new one had opened we thought we would try it out. We went on a Sunday evening. It seemed to be doing a brisk trade in takeaways.
Firstly, there was no heating on so the restaurant was cold. The only indicators that it was an Indian restaurant were a couple of statues on the windowsill and the Indian music playing in the background. We were given no poppadoms with chutneys or raita- the first time this has happened to us. My chicken pasanda was like eating cool porridge with chicken-completely bland. My other half's Bollywood special balti didn't seem to be like any other he had ever eaten. He commented that the meat didn't seem to be cooked in the usual Indian style i.e. it was not tender.
As we were there the couple across from us queried the fact that they had ordered two different dishes and that they had both tasted the same. They asked the waitress to ask the chef if he had put the same sauce on the two dishes-the answer was no.
I don't think we will be going back. We will make the trip to Spice of India in Bishopstown which is in a completely different league.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zanezanezane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was ok even though the starter looked like a packet job but the staff were a letdown, it was treated more like a social club with no idea on swapping a glass with a change of wine, maybe they just need training.

As I was paying I noticed all of the dishes were scattered all over the floor of the kitchen, not a good start to any news business.

I won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W3bmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Ok!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Ballincollig has been screaming out for an Indian restaurant for a long time and when The Arch restaurant gave way to Bollywood Express I was admittedly happy.

To be fair I have only tried take out here but was disappointed with the Chicken Bhuna, which was bland and didn't seem fresh. Very average at best but am comparing it against the far more expensive Spice of India in Bishopstown which certainly isn't bland. Pricing is good and they offer complimentary poppadoms and chutneys with each order of which I received none.

I will try other dishes though in future to give the benefit of the doubt to a new restaurant, so hopefully I can report a more favourable review here in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedonscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Express also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing