We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome chipper”
Review of The Fish Wife

The Fish Wife
Ranked #23 of 680 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: The Fish Wife is a new Take away on the Cork scene. the Fish Wife prides itself on quality locally sourced fresh food. Burgers are produced daily by the local butcher. Chips are cut daily in the shop and fish are sourced locally. Specials vary depending on availabilty. Shop is charming, quirky and homely. Small but cute!!
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a mate down from Dub last week and did a bit of a crawl round a few favourite pubs and ended up at the Fish Wife. Been a couple of times before, but fantastic after a few beers. Non greasy batter, lovely fish, the best chips and mushy peas were great too. Not like me to leave food, but couldn't get through it. If you're anywhere near, just get there, you won't regret it if you like your fish and chips. One slight criticism - plastic forks not up to the job, too flimsy and snap too easy!! Anyway, I'll be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Philip,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed the food and we love people who appreciate how fussy we are about only serving the best. We are investigating your issue with the forks - they are currently undergoing some laboratory pressure tests! Hope to see you back in real capital soon.
Regards, fishwife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 519 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great after a night out. Haven't tried the fish but chips are great. Small but adequate. Looking forward to trying full meal there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Eilis,
Glad you enjoyed our food after night out. We think you will enjoy it any time! We guarantee the suppers are definately a good size!
Thanks for the review and please spread the word.
The Fish Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've eaten here many times now and have to say it's definitely one of the nicest chippers in Cork city. A little more expensive than others but well worth it. Fish are fresh and cooked well and the burgers are delicious - you can tell they use good quality ingredients. Only problem is trying to stop myself from visiting there too often!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Dave,
thanks for the review. Please do keep coming back and feel free to tell your friends. We guarantee to continue using only the freshest and best quality ingredients. We really do value quality above all else.
The Fish Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were in Cork for a few nights. After having a few drinks at a pub, we asked for a recommendation of a good fish & chips place. He directed us down the street to The Fish Wife. This turned out to be one of our favorite meals of the trip! The prices are great, the food is AMAZING (both fish & burgers), and the property was charming.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank UWECSARAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

HI UWECSARAH,
Glad we were recommended to you. Delighted you enjoyed both our Fish, chips and burgers. They really are our speciality. We were aiming for a 'charming' look with the shop too!
Please do tell your friends as we are still only new, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
The Fish Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've eaten here a few times. It's very good. Big fish portions (a few options daily), light non greasy batter and home cut 'chipper' chips but still crispy; all nicely presented in a cardboard box with mushy peas. No complaints there.

Now, the burgers. Quite simply the best burgers I've eaten anywhere in Cork. Good tasty patty from a local butcher, cooked to order (never over cooked), really nice bap type bun and sensible, fresh toppings. Just perfect. Knock yourself out with a double bacon cheese burger!

This is essentially a take away with counter space for a few people to eat but they will also bring your food across the road to you in The Cork Arm's if you fancy a drink with your food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Black_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corklofty, Manager at The Fish Wife, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks very much Black Rider. Really glad you enjoyed the Fish Wife experience. You summed up what we are about! Look forward to seeing you again. The Fish Wife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Wife also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing