We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to come for coffee and cakes.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bookshelf Coffee House

The Bookshelf Coffee House
Ranked #7 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Super place to come for coffee and cakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Met a friend here for coffee and a chat. I hadn't been here before and am amazed at this hidden gem on South Mall.
It is really cosy and comfortable inside with couches, armchairs and lovely wooden chairs. There are lots of old books, etc around and an ancient telephone on display which add to the charm.
We had cappuccino, tea, coffee cake and marble cake all of which were delectable, the design on the cappuccino was very impressive and an indication of the service.
Staff were very friendly and the cost, while a little on the higher side was worth it.
Will be a regular customer from now on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    23
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cake. Please don't go so there will be room for me.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great coffee and cake. Please don't go so there will be room for me.

A private little nook upstairs. With two tables.

Ground level has nice comfortable old chairs and some window seats. 2 tables for 4, 1 table for 2, 2 tables for 2 and 4 stools by the window.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cork spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely cafe in Cork. Not the cheapest at €3.50 for a hot choc but worth it for lazing away the day in a pleasant spot! Food looks good too, just didn't eat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SammyJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

really great soups and sandwiches, chunky and generous with top quality ingredients from the English Market- amazing coffees- needs more seating!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilikemytreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This coffee is in the old premises of the Cork library, and it looks very nice. My first visit there wasn't that great, as we weren't told if we had to grab something at the counter before sitting or if we would be waited on, but the food was simple and good (you can have the sandwich of your choice with really good and fresh ingredients) and their cakes are delicious. I came back for a hot chocolate and was very pleased with it too. It's not a pretentious place and they seem to still get the hang of it but I'm sure they'll expand at some point.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bookshelf Coffee House also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Bookshelf Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing