We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bookshelf Coffee House

The Bookshelf Coffee House
Ranked #6 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

really great soups and sandwiches, chunky and generous with top quality ingredients from the English Market- amazing coffees- needs more seating!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilikemytreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    23
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This coffee is in the old premises of the Cork library, and it looks very nice. My first visit there wasn't that great, as we weren't told if we had to grab something at the counter before sitting or if we would be waited on, but the food was simple and good (you can have the sandwich of your choice with really good and fresh ingredients) and their cakes are delicious. I came back for a hot chocolate and was very pleased with it too. It's not a pretentious place and they seem to still get the hang of it but I'm sure they'll expand at some point.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We ate breakfast here and were very pleased with the quality. The bread was fantastic and prices incredibly cheap. I'd definitely recommend them

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carolesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“i just love love love the place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

i am a bit of a regular there now.. i just love the place.. its like from home to home..
The food/coffee is excellent and the staff are so good.. the only problem I have with the place is the fact that I cannot always get a seat there.. I wonder if I could call ahead and reserve one?

This is more than a coffee house - its a haven,.. a place relaxation as well as refreshment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jessabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could use some books and seats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I like the idea of this cafe and the charming old library entrance is perfect. Just a pity this has not carried through the doorway. The food and service are standard, but there is such limited seating (very large seats, but few), that I wont be going out of my way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank somewhere62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bookshelf Coffee House also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Bookshelf Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing