We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Rumley's Open Farm

Rumley's Open Farm
Ranked #53 of 165 things to do in Cork
Attraction details
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited on the 11/9/2012. Its easy to find with good signage. Its a lovely place to visit with kids with plenty to entertain the little ones. There are plenty of animals to see with a lovely walk around the farm. There is an indoor & outdoor play area which are both great & well maintained. There's an indoor sand pit which our little three year old loved. There's pedal go karts & crazy golf both good fun. We ate in the restaurant while there which was lovely & very reasonably priced. There was a tractoir ride on offer but it was'nt until evening so we did'nt avail of it. This cost extra really I felt it should be included in the admission price. It cost us €23 which I felt was worth it as our little one really enjoyed herself. We ended up spending over four hours there & our little one would of stayed longer if we could of. All in all a great day out and we will visit again next time in Cork.

Thank imelda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tractor ride"
in 15 reviews
"go karts"
in 9 reviews
"indoor and outdoor play areas"
in 4 reviews
"petting area"
in 3 reviews
"sand pit"
in 4 reviews
"santa visit"
in 2 reviews
"farm yesterday"
in 2 reviews
"milking parlour"
in 2 reviews
"general feeling"
in 2 reviews
"winter wonderland"
in 2 reviews
"enjoy coming here"
in 2 reviews
"zip line"
in 6 reviews
"huge variety of animals"
in 2 reviews
"really enjoyed our visit"
in 3 reviews
"school tour"
in 2 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 4 reviews
"eggs"
in 3 reviews
Filter

152 - 156 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

rumleys farm was a nice place to visit went there today 8/9/2012 well located on the main bandon road well sign posted on arriving was pointed to a parking spot witch was near the entrance it was very busy place very clean but the path ways around can be dusty lots of animals to be seen but i did think some of the animals were a bit sedated but that is my opinion as regards price i thought it was a bit on the expensive side of 30 euros for a family of 4 maybe might be better priced at 20 euros there was a lot of thought went in to this place ......eg kiddies playground is nice and the pedal go karts are a treat for the boys/girls the cammels and lamas are a treat for kids as they will eat the grass from the kids ........rabbits and puppies were also a nice treat but if they cant be handled please put a sign up and dont have a fella gruffing at the kids to tell them put them down you can bring your own picnic there but i did notice the food was reasonable priced a nice farm shop where you can buy produce but a bit over priced but again that is my opinion i got a deal from the grabone offer which allowed my family in at half price eg 15 euros but would have felt a bit ripped off at that price as i said earlier in my comments 20 euros per family would have been a fair price one thing i will say get out and go there you wont be dissapointed ......on the way out there are washing facities there was no soap in the dispensers perhaps an oversight but ye have a sign up to wash your hand after handling animals ............

1  Thank linenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went there with my two young boys at the start of August 2012 and I have to say I was impressed. There are lots of animals to see and not just farm animals ie Alpacas, water buffalos, exotic birds...and many more. There is a restaurant, an outside play area, trip on a tractor, mini tractors, inside play area for when it is raining, a shop, and many other stuff for the kids to play and enjoy themselves. And don't forget your picnic basket because there are plenty of picnic tables along the path. I loved it, the kids loved it. To be honest, i would prefer Rumley's Open Farm to Fota wildlife park. The only downside is the carpark is small.

3  Thank MaggieHCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

With 3 kids aged 7 to 3 years, we have been regular visitors to Open Farms throughout the country. Without a doubt this is the best. So far we have visited it twice, one day when it was quiet and one day when it was very busy. Everyone had a very enjoyable day out on both occasions. Plenty of activity to keep everyone occupied, with the large indoor playarea especially utilised in between the rain showers. Table tennis, badminton, pool, play arena together in a covered area is great. Outdoors a large play ground compliments the zip wire, crazy golf and karting. Some supervision would be beneficial on the karts when its busy and the crazy golf area needs a little work with matting needed. Also most of the golf balls tend to get trapped in a pipe going from one hole to the next, so if you are looking for a golf ball, look in there! Beyond that, there is plenty to see around the farm walk and the aviary is impressive. Its very nice to relax in the coffee shop with a sandwich or a treat, and it is almost impossible to leave without purchasing some fresh produce from their farm shop. This place has set the bar high for everyone else to follow. We will be buying the season pass for next year.

Thank AgnesCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very well layout and enjoyable day outing for the whole family.
Lots of exotic animals: Raccoons, Mongooses, camels, Lemurs, pigs, emu, prairie dogs, llamas, Alpacas, sheep & goats, horses, cattles, water buffalo, wallabies, duck pond, marmoset, coatimundi, chincillas, ferrets, tarantula, lizard, chipmunks, snowy owls and lot of different breed of chicken, pheasants and rabbits. There are indoor and outdoor play areas for the children, food shop and cafeteria. Free car parking.
Entry fee: €8 per person or family for €30 (2 adults + 2 Children).

2  Thank KLeongCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumley's Open Farm also viewed

County Cork, Province of Munster
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Rumley's Open Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing