We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food”
Review of Oysters Restaurant - CLOSED

Oysters Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Oysters - Cork City's First Dedicated Seafood Restaurant using local suppliers in all of its dishes, both from the land and the sea.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had their fixed price dinner and couldn't have been happier. The food was well prepared and nicely presented. The service was attentive without being overly so. The chef's selection of desserts was particularly nice with a truly memorable champagne sorbet with watermelon.

One of the qualities I especially appreciate about Oysters is their music selection. They had obviously given it some careful thought and it very much enhanced our whole experience there.

We also had breakfast at Oysters! Where we were pleased with the selection of hot and cold foods. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    36
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deja Vu.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our third visit to Oysters. Had the set menu ( early bird) . Great value and quality, with impeccable service. Donald brings great professionalism to the operation. All the staff are very pleasant ,and attentive. It's very difficult to maintain the standards evident here, but to date they have been very consistent in their endeavour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Downes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Truly Excellent Meal”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on two occasions and each time I have been so impressed. The quality of the food is truly amazing and looks really impressive on the plate. In my opinion, this is Michelin standard food. The set menu represents excellent value for money.
The whole experience is very professional and the Manager himself lends a very personal touch. Nothing is any trouble for him and his team.
If you would like a truly fine dining experience, be sure to give Oysters a visit.
Well done Oysters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DympnaM259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Been here 3 times and just love it! I can't fault it and look forward to treating myself again soon with another visit.

The service is the best I've ever had. From the professional waiting staff to Donald the manager who is so welcoming and runs a great restaurant.

The fish is out of this world and I think even those who don't like fish would enjoy this excellent food.

Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a treat or for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a lifetime of enjoying fish, from Musselburgh to Cornwall and Boulogne, I have to say that I have never had anything as good as the simply-cooked halibut put in front of me here. It was preceded
by a few excellent and beautifully presented scallops

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burblage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oysters Restaurant also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing