We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guesthouse, but good”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Strangely, I was surprised to discover this was a B&B, which I wouldn't normally choose for a stay. No bar - but lots in the area so not a problem. Comfortable, clean rooms and helpful staff. I was travelling with my dad who uses a wheelchair - disabled parking bay by the front door, disability equipped room on the ground floor close to reception and the breakfast room. He also said it had the best designed shower area of almost any hotel he's stayed in globally (and he's well travelled!).
Nice breakfasts (although ensure you get what you order!).
Quite expensive for a guesthouse though and quite a stroll out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCL_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review for your recent stay.

Thank you for your comments on our disability facilities and we are very pleased that your Dad was so happy with the design of the shower area in his room.

I hope that you all enjoyed your trip to Cork and that you will return to stay with us if ever in the city again.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 830 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here in two rooms for one night during our two week trip to Europe. The hotel itself and rooms were a little dated, but clean and comfortable for one night. There was free Wi-Fi and free parking, which was nice. We were also able to walk to restaurants, so felt it was a good location. We left too early in the morning to be able to have the breakfast. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoJillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review for your recent stay.

I am pleased that you found our location to be good and that your rooms were clean and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Clean and tidy room with everything you need. It is a walk in to the centre of Cork. No bar or Restaurant. Free parking and Wifi. Breakfast was good too. As previous reviews thie hotel is very similar to a premier Inn in UK. Cork itself leaves a bit to be desired compared to other parts of Ireland but try to visit Blarney which is a little drive outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review for your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our free car parking and free Wi-Fi and also our breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to stay at Lancaster Lodge in the near future.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Rather like a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn. No bar or restaurant, although they do a reasonable breakfast. Uncomfortable bed but everywhere was clean and tidy. Nice, friendly staff, but not our choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 158David1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review for your recent stay.

I am pleased that you found our staff so friendly and that everywhere was clean and tidy. I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Cork and will return to the city for a visit again soon!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a good night's stay, the room was good size and had everything you could need. Free wifi and parking, but breakfast extra unfortunately. The building and rooms are a little dated, but no big deal. Not a bad location, about a 15 min walk into the centre of Cork. All in all, an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia3196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review for your recent stay.

I am pleased that you had a good stay at Lancaster Lodge and that you found that we had everything you need. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked a block of rooms at Lancaster Lodge and was very pleased in all respects: from the email and phone correspondence to the front desk and dining personnel, every staff person was kind and professional. The rooms are spotless, tasteful. The hotel is well located, right across the quay from Cafe Paradiso, a fabulous vegetarian restaurant. Breakfast at the hotel was carefully prepared and served in a bright and pretty dining room--no cut corners on quality--full butter croissants. I'd stay here again and indeed prefer it over Hayfield Manor which is twice the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your lovely chic review of Lancaster Lodge!

We are very pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for choosing Lancaster Lodge. We hope that if you ever have occasion to return to Cork that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very good hotel for a night stop in Cork. Very clean and very central. No charge for parking and plenty of parking available onsite. Has everything you would need for a night or 2 stopover.
Helpful staff and plenty of nice cafe's and restaurants around for food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your lovely review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and availed of our ample free parking, and we hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,283 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,216 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $93 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing