We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right”
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found it excellent. They have secure parking close to the city centre. It is a modern building that looks and feels fresh and new. The staff are efficient in every thing they do.

The room are spacious and modern. They are very well appointed. The bathrooms are large and very clean too. Every thing was as it should be.

Breakfast was truly excellent. The choices are too numerous to mention. Essentially you can get any thing you want freshly cooked. The service is excellent and with the morning newspapers available.

The Lancaster Lodge is not plush but is all you would want for a stay. It's slightly functional nature might not suit everybody but I found this refreshingly honest. It has no pretencions just good value accommodation that gives you all you need without any frivolous dressing. It is like some body identified all the core attributes of what hotel accommodation consists of and put them into here, with nothing added.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 804 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location, clean, updated, free wifi , helpful staff and right price. Would stay again. Tripadvisor never let's us down! Easy to find as well and free easy parking right outside the hotel. Def a bargain for the area and not a dump which I was worried about lol:)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed here with my boyfriend for my 21st, was in a great loacation as was in the city centre which was ideal as there was loads to do, upon arrival the staff was very welcoming as both me and my boyfriend are not from ireland so they gave us information we may of needed for our trip, the hotel was very clean and well maintained, comfortable and great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Clean, efficient, comfortable, welcoming, overlooking river. In walking distance of centre but research your dinner well as hard to find a good restaurant (none attached to the lodge though breakfast available). We went to Il Padrino, Italian, which was superb.
Beware the one way system & beware the directions of passersby!

Room Tip: Ask to face the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed in the Lancaster lodge guesthouse on our way through Cork, and found it to be well situated for Cork city centre. The room was clean and very spacious. And the staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this guest house.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dex00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster Lodge. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel clean, modern and comfortable. We were surprised about the lack of AC though. The weather was warm and the open window did not cool the room to our liking. The breakfast was very good and the service excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FourdaysWestdeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The purple carpets and green upholstery were not to my taste but otherwise this guest house is perfectly acceptable for the price. There is no air conditioning but that may not often be a problem with the climate in Cork City. The bathroom lighting is not ideal for shaving but that's not unusual. There is not extra charge for the wifi, which is as it should be!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,638 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,236 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $95 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing