We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE FOR CLOSE TO CITY CENTRE”
Review of Belvedere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belvedere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR CLOSE TO CITY CENTRE”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good value for a place quite close to the city centre. The owner was very amenable and helpful advising on parking within the city. On site parking was good. Breakfast was very good and served in a delightful dining room by friendly staff. Each table had an individual set of fine china which was a nice touch. The garden was lovely. Would benefit from more information about getting around in Cork and what to see there; more information available about the house would have been interesting. We discovered a little, but only because we asked. The beds were comfortable but had blankets which I'm not keen on. Although a good location for access to the city, our room, which was at the front was very noisy all night as it looked out onto a flyover. There were also two bright lights just below our window which were illuminated all night. Ask for a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    135
    47
    21
    17
See reviews for
55
145
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
646 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here last week. Enjoyed it. Nice location, clean room, powerful shower, free wifi. Friendly hosts and a very tasty breakfast. Only complaint is the constant doorbell, it got a tad annoying but having said that i'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the belvedere lodge for two nights during our stay in Ireland. We were travelling with our two children and had a very good sized room.

On the first night I lost my mobile during a cab ride. Vince (our host) really went above and beyond to help me out. He personally called different cab companies to check and let them know I lost my phone. And what do you know, after I was home for two weeks they found my phone and sent it to me. All thanks to the effort Vince and the staff put in.

So overall a great stay with excellent hospitality and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I would start by saying be VERY CAREFUL using Google Maps navigator as there is another Belvedere Lodge private house by the airport and we ended up there! What should have taken minutes took us an hour and a half stuck in rush hour traffic. We were booked in here as we were at a wedding at the Silver Springs Hotel and this place is just metres away. Once found, the house is lovely and there is ample parking. A beautiful well kept garden with seating and a gazebo make you forget you are on a main road and oddly the noise first thing in the morning isn't noticeable as the house is well sheltered and set back a bit. It took a while for the door to be answered but we were checking in late (circa 9pm) and personally I liked that the door was securely shut at all times. A lovely lady took us up to our room. A bit of a walk and a few stairs, but the house is so charming and full of character it was nice to see so much of it. I have to say in a house this old, it was warm and well maintained. Our room was bigger than many hotel rooms, large flat screen tv and a great sized bathroom with bath/shower. Good amenities including Wi-Fi, tea/coffee, even kit kats! Bathroom amenities included branded products which was nice. The breakfast room is bright and the service was quite good. Full Irish with toast and beverage and a bar for cereal etc. A relaxed check out with people enjoying the lounge area and reading and the lady checking us out (possibly owner) used my first name which was a nice touch. Slightly outside of the city centre, but not much in a cab and to be honest of a night time you wouldn't walk far anywhere regardless. Great alternative to a hotel with equal facilities and a homely personal touch you can't get in a hotel.

Room Tip: Top of the house, number 15 - worth the stairs as a great size overlooking the lovely garden and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORegAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed just one night. The outside is very pretty and we suddenly came upon it, having booked earlier, as we came off the motorway - really easy to find . The décor is quite charming, a mixture of nice older pieces and modern furniture (not at all minimalistic) and the dining room is cosy and well presented. Lovely breakfast and very affable waitress who let us have the exact combination we wanted.
Our room was nice with an extra conservatory attached to it. This all needed a bit of a refurb, was a little shabby and a we had an awful old TV which didn't work properly but it was pleasant enough. Maybe our bedroom was next on the list to be decorated etc. Needed a flat screen though!

Room Tip: They didn't do food here of an evening ( it was 9 pm anyway) but we went to the large hotel - 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APP81067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent one night here on our travels around Ireland. It was a bit difficult to find but once we found it we loved the staff, the room and the breakfast. They recommended some places to dine in for dinner and although we had to drive, it was not far and parking was no problem. It is larger than it looks from the road. My husband and I were situated upstairs but the stairs were a bit difficult for my aging mother (78) to manage so they relocated my mum and dad to the ground floor without any fuss. Very helpful and obliging, cannot fault the accommodation or staff. If passing through Cork, well worth a stopover.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I guess the lodge overbooked, because when we got there they said they said something happened to the room. But here's the good news..... they booked and paid for a room for us in the Silver Springs hotel right next door! The hotel was absolutely gorgeous, and far more than we would ordinarily have been able to afford. They told us to come on back for breakfast still! We went back for breakfast and it was delicious! So I didn't see what the rooms were like or anything like that, but I do know that they handled us very well, and ended up loosing money on us...but they did the right thing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhetzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Lodge

Property: Belvedere Lodge
Address: Belvedere Lodge 6 Tivoli Gardens, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing