We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Mostly Good”

Cork International Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cork International Hostel
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of September and actually really enjoyed it. It was clean and I liked that they handed us our bedding when we checked in (that way you know it isn't dirty). It was nice to have a bathroom and vanity in each room, most hostels only provide 2-3 showers and bathrooms for the whole place. However, most hostels also provide free breakfast. This place did not. Overall, I would recommend staying here. Worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The hostle was ok the rooms wer big but the kitchen was realy bad, the pans were losing there teflon so that when you cooked something in it you had to eat the teflon with it! To the city centre you could go by bus in 5 min. With a bus that stops every 10 min In front of the hostel. The staff didn't know were the post was and set us of in a wrong direction. The rooms are quite big and have a own bathroom with a shower and a toilett but some of them don't work very well. You can get a good breakfast in the hostel but you have to pay extra for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrdayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed for close to a week but didn't spend a ton of time at the hostel. It is quite out of the way if you are walking- about 25 minutes from the bus station on Parnell. There is a bus stop outside. I used that as my landmark when coming home as Redclyffe is the name of the house and not a street. I agree with the statement about there being no duvet cover. Due to the fact you only bring your sheets down, I don't suspect the rest is cleaned often. It was a bit noisy, and difficult to navigate around in the morning. The staff was okay. The room I was in had few outlets, one which was broken, making charging between 6 strangers a chore. The light switch for our bathroom wasn't even near the bathroom, adding to the noise factor of drunk stumbling girls. The facilities was fairly clean and the lawn was very lovely to sit and have dinner upon. The facilities didn't really make up for the distance, however. At least I got a lot of exercise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnastares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleased with what we got overall. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was both a kitchen available for our use or the option to buy breakfast. There is a small grocery/convenience shop just across the road and the hostel is just a 3 minute bus journey to the city centre or a 15 minute walk. If coming from the airport and there's 2+ people its cheaper to get a taxi than the bus. It worked out as €14 for our taxi.

The only slight hygiene issue with the hostel is that they only give you two sheets and a pillow cover, but no duvet cover... So if you move out of your sheets in the night you can end up using the same duvet cover that the last person used.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hostel offers good clean and spacious en-suite rooms with modern showers and toilets at a very reasonable price – less than 15 Euros per night. There is a nice common area and a beautiful garden. Unfortunately the hostel is situated about 2 kilometres outside the city centre. But there's a bus stop in front of the hostel and it's no problem to walk. Also the Bus Eireann long distance service stops in front of the building.
If you want to use the self catering kitchen, you shouldn't forget to buy your food in one of the supermarkets in the centre of Cork, because near the hostel are only a few very expensive small grocery shops. Beside the location, the kitchen is also a little con of the hostel: It's very clean and well equiped, but is just to small for a hostel of this size. There's only one large fridge and a small one, both were overloaded with food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wobbobbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with friends. Nice staff, surprisingly clean rooms, warm showers. A little bit too far from the center, but otherwise very okay. First hostel where I stayed in Ireland. Really good one!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusannaS994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Don't rely on the Sat Nav co-ordinates in the 2012 YH brochure - they are wrong for this hostel (and the Bluestack Hostel).

Hostel was fine - but expensive for a single room - 30 euro. Plus 2 euro per half hour for wifi - and 5 euro for breakfast - makes it an expensive hostel....

Everything was very clean, & warm, and the staff were friendly and helpful !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almostgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
939 reviews
Shandon
Kinlay House Hostel
Kinlay House Hostel
#12 of 21 in Cork
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheilas
#18 of 21 in Cork
306 reviews
Sunday's Well
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#13 of 21 in Cork
15 reviews
Country House B@b
#10 of 21 in Cork
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cork International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cork International Hostel

Address: 1 & 2 Redclyffe, Western Rd, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range: $59 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cork International Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cork International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing