We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The metrople is located on mcurtain st, one of the most interesting streets on cork.
The hotel is itself is nice with a lively bar.
The rooms were cosy.
Parking is a little awkward though, its a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.
Apart from that no complaints, would stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,894 - 1,900 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

Following a native's advice, I decided to visit Cork versus Dublin for my first trip to Ireland and was beyond pleased with my choice! The people and the sites only found in Cork made for a fantastic holiday and I cannot wait to return soon!

I stayed at The Gresham Metropole in an Executive Double Room. The room was bright, spacious, had an enormous bay window, comfortable bedding, flat screen tv and a waterfall shower head in the bathroom. Most importantly, it was all very clean!

The front desk was helpful with restaurant, sightseeing and cycle rental suggestions/advice. It was a pleasure to be greeted by each one of them morning and night.

We opted for the breakfast each morning which consisted of cold cereals to hot full Irish breakfast items. It was great to have a wonderful spread ready each day and to enjoy it in the hotel's restaurant overlooking the River Lee. I absolutely recommend the breakfast, as it's a great deal as well.

The hotel is close to the train station for trips to Cobh or the Wildlife Reserve, the bus station and delicious restaurants (Greene's)! Please cycle to Blarney Castle if possible, fantastic ride!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ActivTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Check in was fine,a pleasant girl checked us in but no direction as to where to go(where the lifts are etc)I paid 140 euro for executive room,breakfast and cinema vouchers for 2.She told us it was a nice room but it was a suite and looked amazing.Four poster bed, jacuzzi bath,2 flat screen tv's.There was an amazing couch and chair I would love to own that couch !! Room service after 9.30 pm is very limited and expensive.Breakfast was not great and 7 euro each for it to be brought to your room is a bit steep.The only downfall and it was a biggie is that the room is stuffy,as in can't breathe.Two of the windows opened which for our room was facing on to a busy road so noise is an issue.I had to have the windows open all night.I got to sleep at 4.30 am because of noise from the street and my husband was woken with the noise from the refuse being collected early in the morning.I said this to the girl on check out about the heat in the room and she said ''well as you can see the whole hotel is like that there is no air in here''.I would love to go back and stay in the same room again but it was just too uncomfortable.If they put in air conditioning I will be back.
On check out the receptionist tried to charge me for the cinema tickets but it was included in the price,so make sure you check your bills !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. We're young and poor college students - so it was like a little luxury treat. I was very pleased with what we got for the money. The room was great with a very comfotable bed, table, hairdryer, and spacious bathroom (the shower was excellent and had six heads). It was very clean. We didn't have a great view - but can't really complain about that. Internet reception worked very well.

The only negative was that the doors closed in a funny way - so whenever other people entered their rooms, we almost thought someone be coming into ours - it sounds worse than it actually was. The front desk wasn't overly friendly - but they were efficient, helpful, and nice enough.

Also, the location is great. There's some bad reviews about the food - but why would you eat in the hotel when you're surrounded by restautants and pubs that have great food, better armosphere and lower prices? Location is excellent - short walk to everything including the bus station. By the way, I highly recommend Market Lane for a nice dinner - delicious and great service. One more thing: I think most of the bad reviews are from a few years back - it seems they've gone through some renovation, beceause it was splendid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imayoungtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in your hotel. I thought the bed was extremely comfortable and the place was spotless.The car park St. Patricks Quay was a bit dodgy though - you have to have your wits about you to negogiate the tight turns etc.! I will definitely be staying again as it is a hell of a lot cheaper and more convenient than getting taxis to and from Dripsey on an occasional night out.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed in room 216 which is a junior suite, the room was lovely and quiet spacious, comfy bed and black out curtains which i love! The hotel room was clean and well looked after. Brilliant location too within walking distance of everything in the city.
Bathroom looked good but the glass shower / bath door just let the water all over the bathroom so the floor was always wet.

Breakfast was nice with breakfast room looking over the river Lee.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I only stayed for a one night so I was only really looking for somewhere to lay my head. The room itself was large, clean, but very dark and overlooked some flat roofs. Our sleep was slightly disturbed by a car/shop alarm going off for two hours in the morning but thats the risk you take when staying somewhere so central to the city. The staff at the desk were friendly but trying to get a drink in the bar was a nightmare - although their was a wedding going on and they were criminally understaffed. The only other downside is the parking which is in an adjacent multistory car park which is like a rat maze. Good luck if your are driving anything bigger than a matchbox.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,689 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,190 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
967 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,267 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cork
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $94 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 98 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Metropole Hotel is a Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing