We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great location”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Having returned last night from this hotel I find it hard to believe I was in the same one as the previous two reviewers!
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist at 10.15pm on Thursday, the entrance is very nicely furnished and welcoming, our room 201 wasvery clean and beautifully appointed. It was a corner room overlooking the back of the hotel and was incredibly quiet - I'm a really bad sleeper and had no problems at all.
We didn't eat there but did have drinks and found no problems with any of the staff we met, in fact just the opposite, all from bar staff to cleaners had time for a smile and a laugh.
We found a small cafe just up the street called Cafespresso where they served really nice cooked breakfasts or for something lighter, Cafe Cork just round the corner going towards Patrick Street.
The hotel is in a great location, we went to the theatre on Saturday night which is about a minute away, ate in town a couple of nights which is less than 10 minutes walk .and on the last night at Greenes in the hotel opposite.
I honeslty couldn't find any fault with the whole week-end, we had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireValR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    688
    303
    129
    79
See reviews for
276
733
156
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed here with friend in a double smoking room as they had no twins left, fisrt the size of the room was only slightly larger than the bad so basically it was the size of the bed. Also the room had only been painted that morning and the smell was quite strong, i rang down to be moved. The staff was very helpful with this. Also the room did not have tea and coffee making facilities.
Also the website boasts a resturant and bar food service. The resturant was closed and the bar food was extremely poor quality. i would never recommend this food to anybody. Also the food service was very poor, if you sit in a certain area of the bar they just dont come back, we were thinking of ordering dessert but changed our minds when we waited 25min for someone to come collect our plates and we ended up going to the bar to pay. And it wasn't because they were pack, the place was barely half full.
The only thing i can recommend about this hotel was some of the staff were very helpful and friendly. But this is the only thing the hotel had going for them.
It should be made known that the hotel does not have it's own parking. They have a deal with a car park next door the costs 7.50 per day and closes at 8pm on a sunday. Also it costs over 100 euro to get your car out after 8pm and if your late getting there (ie try to park after 8pm on sundays) you cannot gain access to the car park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathymay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I was dissaponted so much from the very first arrival to the hotel untill the end of it. First of all, there was a problem with connecting to the interent in our room. I rang Reception and they told me they will send a porter to have a look at it for me. The porter appeared after 20 minutes of waiting, looked honestly speaking , a bit handicapped and completely didnt knwo what to say or how to fix it. After another 15 mins of waiting a young manager came up, I think shane was his name and was trying to joke or something about it , checked the plugs (which I already did it while waiting for him 35 mins then!). He said he will try to fix it from the panel downstairs. Was waiting another 30 mins, rang reception twice, nobody rang back or came up. We already were waiting 1,5 h so didnt want to waste beautifull weather and went out to town. The next day at breakfast there was the worst experience I had ever with hotel food, Beautiful view at the River Lee, but apart from that nothing nice! Waitresses in age of 70 years old, totally looked as if just woke up and didnt manage to find comb in the morning, food overcooked, no taste whatsoever, dirty tables all around, total mess and ancient tills they have there in the restaurant! 16 euro per person for breakfast a little bit too much, especially for that no quality food there. Moreover, the windows are so old that they wont close fully and you can hear every conversation on the street and cars!
On the check out Kelly I think the receptionist was very mean to us and ignoring other guests, just incapable of ansering the phones and dealing with guests at the same time, was also shouting across the lobby and totally had no manners whatsoever . The way she spoke to us on arrival and on the check out was unaceptable, like; u dont understand or what?' etc.
Terrible hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0rkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is my own opinion.
It all started the week before we were to arrive, the girl who made the original booking called to confirm and was advised by the person on the other end of phone that we didnt have one. She was advised to phone later in the day to check with someone else. - If the person 'covering the desk' for the receptionist does not know how to use the system then just take names and numbers, don't say 'you don't have a booking'
The booking was for approx. 5 rooms which were down as ''The *Mr Blog* Party''
When we arrived we eventually checked into two of the rooms ( the others were arriving later that evening )There were two receptionists at the desk when we arrived. One told us that she wanted to keep us all close to one another and that we would be put on the 4th floor. This lady then continued to check us into our room on 4th floor and as we were leaving the lobby i realised that the other receptionist had checked the other girls into a room.....on 3rd floor. We brought this to their attention and they rectified it (with attitude)
When we got to our rooms it turned out that we had gotten the largest of the rooms compared to the rooms of the other girls in our group.
When we pulled the curtains of our room later that evening we discovered one corner wall of the room was BLACK with mould. It was extremely bad to be fair. One of the girls booked in for reflexology and she said it was brilliant and very reasonably priced - €45 for an hour.
We had a meal in the bar that evening. We asked a girl for a round of drinks and she had to be 'reminded' 3 times that we were there before she got them.
The other group from our party arrived around 9 that evening and went to check in. It was a hen weekend and the bride to be was in the group that arrived late. We had bought surprises and a few presents for her down town that afternoon and we had them hid in our bedroom.
We stayed in the bar while the girls were checking in. Next thing we get a phone call, the receptionist had checked the girls into our room...which we had already checked into that afternoon. We raced up to the room hoping she had not found the stuff. When we got to the room we could not get in because the reception had disabled our key cards when new ones were issued to the other group.
We got the cards re-enabled and returned to the bar where we stayed til 3am.
Oh! They ran out of Tia Maria which was being drank by two for our party.
When we got back up to the room that night/early morning I wanted to charge my mobile so i went looking for a socket that i was hoping would be at the side of my bed / locker.
I reached down and felt something sharp.....i went to investigate and found 2 large lumps of glass which resembled remains from a glass which was obviously shattered on the locker by previous guests. It was extremely dangerous. The next morning i took them down to reception as i did not want to put it in our room bin in case house keeping got injured by it when emptying the bins. The receptionist advised me that she would let them know i had found it ? ? ?
We had a restaurant down town booked for the Saturday night so we werent in the hotel bar at all Saturday. Bodego's is where we had our meal - WELL WORTH THE VISIT.
There was 8 people in our group and we had starters, mains, shared desserts and Tea & Coffee along with 3 pitchers of cocktails and it worked out at €44 each.
Sunday morning we were checking out and with having paid on check in we were thinking that they should have no problems with this task.
We were advised by the receptionist that we had parking charges for our car to the value of €15. Now considering we had been chatting to this girl on check in about our train journey i thought it odd.
It was once again other people in our group which incurred these charges but as it seems to be the done thing in that place, they mixed up the rooms.
I know this review may sound petty but when the girls were checking in on Friday night they obviously had to have told the staff that they had a car since they got the discounted rate so in doing this wouldnt u think that the staff would have had to record the car details on their room rather than ours....I'm sorry but it was the final straw when this happened on check out and i said it to the receptionist that we were not happy at all and she simply shook her head, refused to maintain any form of eye contact, repeatidly huffed and sighed to herself while i was speaking and cut me off by saying 'yea yea yea' and took the room keys from the desk.
We ventured to the leisure centre Sat morning for a quick few laps.
We had to pay €5 for which we got a swimming hat and towel. But in order to get a locker key you were asked for forfeit your room key and sign to say you've done so....?
In the pool we began our laps and my friend suddenly realised her mascara was running so we swam to the side of pool where she removed her cap (which was her own) and began to clean her face of black streaks, within a minute the life guard ( i use that title lightly) approached her and demanded she put her hat back on, we were up on the side, out of water. She giggled and said 'yea its just my mascara....and' He cut across her and said 'yeah! Well u have to wear it now!' and stormed off ...We thought to ourselves - What a [--] ! !
We shortly left the pool in disgust and ventured to the showers......enter at your own risk. In dire need of updating. Each cubicle had an old white / once white shower curtain which looked extremely un-hygenic. We continued on into them any way but my shower ended quite quicky after i turned on the shower. As the running water began to travel down the drain we were met with the most disgusting and powerful stench of an odour which resembled sewerage.
I couldnt stick it and decided to complete my shower in my bedroom.
I also work on reception is a hotel which is a standard 3 star but in comparison to what we experienced during our weekend, I now view our hotel as the Burj Al Arab of the Midlands.

Breakfast was not toxic but also by no means extravagant.

Sorry Metropole but having viewed this review do you not think that something should have been said or done on your part to explain the lack of respect towards guests. We continued to show it towards your staff during our stay, regardless of their behaviour.

I am not sure whether the staff are rude or whether it is just lack of basic training but whatever it is I could not see myself enduring that experience again willingly.

The hotel itself would be perfect for those wanting a bed. Somewhere to sleep and have a wash without the frills.
Also would be good for a group wanting somewhere situated close to shops...again without the frills.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val-BAYR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

While visiting Cork we stayed in the Gresham Metropole which was relatively easy to find having initially gotten a little lost making our way into the City. Irish road signs!!! There is no carpark directly immediately underneath the hotel but they do have some deal with a multistory right beside the hotel which was priced at €7.50 for 24 hours. Our room was €99 for the night which was OK. We had asked for a no smoking bedroom which was a genuine non smoking room (as opposed to some places that still reek of cigarette smoke from the previous night) and the room was generally comfortable. The check in lady was pleasant and welcoming.

When we got up to our room it was clean and there was a pretty funky double shower with big wide shower heads and also a couple of side sprays going on which we were delighted with ...we leaped into it after being stuck in a car of a few hours , unfortunately while one shower worked fine I could just not regulate the temperature in the second shower as it changed from freezing to scalding and then back again.....how frustrating!! Tthe thing had a mind of its own!!! After about 5 minutes of messing around with this thing I decided to give up and just wait my turn. Oh well

We went out for a meal in Isaac's restaurant which was almost directly across the road (how tidy is that !) which was OK and quite reasonable, I had carbonara starter / steak /shared chocolate mousse while the missus had goats cheese / duck [delicious] /shared chocolate mousse washed down with a bombastic red, it came to around €100 which wasn't to bad considering what we got.

A quick drink in the Shelbourne pub across the road (kind of nondescript) led us back to our hostelry, the bar in the hotel looked nice through the alcove but we were tired and skipped the (final) nightcap and we had an uninterrupted nights sleep. The room was a little warm but hey I could have gotten my lazy backside out of bed to open the window if I was that bothered. Breakfast was the standard fry that you get, nothing special. Hotel is very central though which is a big plus.

All in all it was a comfortable hotel, nice and central, the service was OK, I would give it a thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Dear Gresham Hotel

On behalf of the International Transport Workers' Federation, we would like to send our sincere appreciation to all of the staff of Gresham Metropole Hotel, Cork.

From our arrival to our departure you did so much to welcome us and assure our comfort as guests.

During our stay we held a three day seminar at your hotel and can not thank you enough for all your hard work and assistance from all the friendly and highly professional staff.

We had to make several changes just prior and during the seminar, yet everything ran smoothly, thanks to the you.

Our organisation holds many meetings across the world and the staff at Gresham Hotel have been one of the best ones and we are very grateful for your assistance to make our seminar a successful one.

Once again, thank you the fantastic effort you put in.

Kindest regards

ITF

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1982London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Lovely hotel very smart furnishings etc. Very comfortable room, well furnished and very clean. Helpful staff, great location for shopping, restaurants etc. Lots to see in the city and stunning countryside a short drive away. Only downside, didn't think the breakfast worth the money, but great Spar shop opposite with hot baguettes etc. We were lucky enough to see a good play at the theatre a couple of doors away. Couldn't fault our stay. Got an excellent room rate booking direct with hotel. Car parking a short walk away, reduced rate for hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,415 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
886 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing