We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was expecting more from this famous Cork landmark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“I was expecting more from this famous Cork landmark”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have wanted to stay in this hotel for many years and my opportunity came this week. It used to be the boarding and alighting point for the old Slattery's bus service to London thirty something years ago. My first impression of the reception was not awe inspiring but it still had a sense of former opulance to it. Check in was a bit slow. To my horror I was told that wifi was not available in bedrooms - only in the bar and reception area. I adjourned to the bar to do my evening e mail work but was later told by a fellow guest that some rooms have wifi and others don't. It transpired that my room did. The hotel need to sort out their offer in this respect. Parking was a bit messy too with the need to present a stamped ticket from the hotel at the kiosk in the morning (it's not the hotel's car park). It would have been fine if the kiosk was manned but 20 minutes later I was on my way when the attendant returned. The rooms are a bit small but only to be expected in a hotel as old as this. The bed was not particularly comfortable but the curtains were real blackout types with no light ingress to wake you up at too early an hour. Breakfast was on the good side of average though the cold buffet and the hot buffet were quite a long way apart. The toast maker was beside the cold buffet so OK if you wanted toast with cereal but not if you wanted it with your hot breakfast. I'm not keen on standing around in a queue to make my own toast in a hotel anyway. It's a very handy hotel for the city centre and extremely local to some very quant little Cork pubs. A short walk across the river takes you straight into the heart of the city and the jollity that lies therein. All in all it's a nice hotel and chances are I will stay again when I'm in the mood for a drift around one of Ireland's most beatiful cities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear JohnM,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and tell us of your experience. Thank you for your comments and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel in all our bedrooms, conference centre and public areas. I would like to apologise for any misunderstanding regarding the WiFi. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole in the near future. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when making your next booking with us.
Kind Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
e-mail: roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    660
    283
    127
    78
See reviews for
266
696
144
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Great price, superb rooms, lovely food and friendly staff. I will definitely be returning.
Pool and gym access is a nice bonus too.
Nicely situated to the local bars and city centre.
I have to write 200 words so heres an extra sentence.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ManOfSteel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear ManofSteel85,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and tell us of your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when making your next booking with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole. Kind Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
e-mail: roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildangan, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just spent a night at this hotel,cannot rave enough about it,friendly staff,great food and a wonderful atmosphere,kids had a ball at their leisure center,location excellent less than a 5 mins walk into high street.Booked a night away there for December when I returned home.
S.Beckett.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Samantha G,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and tell us of your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when making your next booking with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole. roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Kind Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I read other people's reviews on this and wonder what their aim is in life?!

Stayed here for 3 nights over St Patricks weekend - got a fabulous deal on lastminute.com, considering the prices everywhere else was charging.

Location is 100%, exactly where you want to be - book it for this if nothing else.

Don't understand the reviews about cleanliness, I actually noted how clean the room was.

We had a room at the back so no view but I would have accepted traffic noise to get a view over the river.

Breakfast was ok, staff were all friendly, service was swift. Didnt use the leisure centre but not sure I would have been too upset about filling out some forms....!

Its not the best hotel I've stayed in but why should that warrant a complaint? Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plastikjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Plastikjan,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and tell us of your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when making your next booking with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole. roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Kind Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Our room was tiny, loud, and dirty. The bathroom seemed like it hadn't been cleaned. When we complained to the front desk the quickly moved us to a even louder room facing the street which never stopped.

Breakfast was including in our room rate and it was also a disappointing. The fried eggs were like rubber and everything was blah.

We will not be returning and would not recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sonia M,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and I would be grateful if you would contact me so we may discuss this further.
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

As a regular visitor to Ireland, but first visit to Cork. The hotel is centrally placed for visiting the city. The staff were polite and friendly. Our double room was clean, tidy and big enough for the both of us, being without much of a view didn't bother us in the slightest. The food, especially the bar meals were excellent and good value. Would stay here again if visiting Cork.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Keith J, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell General Manager roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the other night, a truly terrible experience that the staff couldn't care less about and a manager, roger russell, that doesn't care. Room had stains on the sheets, a dirty carpet and a strange damp smell. The noise at night was upsetting. When I went to complain they shrugged their shoulders and said 'managers not here' . When I went to complain in the morning he left me waiting for fifteen minutes before dismissing my complaint with 'there has been soft refurbishment' before rushing away. Soft refurbishment? By the looks of it this was done pre millennium. Ridiculous. Roger and all his staff need to take some customer relations beginner courses. I'll never go back here and would recommend others do the same.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ciara M,
Thank posting your review. I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and rather surprised at your comments. I am afraid that there must be some sort of misunderstanding and I would be grateful if you would contact me directly so that we may discuss further? roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing