We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AAA members be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AAA members be aware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were disappointed with this supposed 4 star hotel in Cork, and admit we are spoiled Americans. However, some of the hotels on our Irish vacation have been great, but this is one to avoid. After unloading our car on the busy MacCurtain Street, and hauling our luggage up some stairs to the elevator after checking in (nobody to help) we went to our room which at first appeared roomy for a historic hotel. We were happy to have the normal rooftop view because it is quieter than a street view. At check-in, we asked for allergy-free, non feather pillows and were told they were not available. We also went down after seeing the bath had no face cloths and were told they do not supply them. No tissues either. The room had old 70's style furniture and the bed is small. My wife, who is about 5'-2" said this was the first time she slept and her feet hung over the edge. The bed foundation was very creaky and noisy. The room was clean, however, and bathroom not so bad. Breakfast was adequate. The location is good with two very good restaurants, Issac's and Greene's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarRLorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    637
    277
    127
    78
See reviews for
254
670
139
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night. There were 2 couples. We were just up for the night. The Gresham Metropole is a nice hotel. It was ideal for us, it being so central, as our husbands went off golfing for the day and we were able to walk to the city. The rooms were fine. As someone else said in a review, maybe a bit dated, but they are ok. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on Sunday morning was perfect. Everything was hot and we had a great choice. I would certainly go back and would certainly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catskills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the heat wave in July 2013. The hotel has no air conditioning and the room I stayed in had no ventilation. The small fan provided was inadequate. Service at the front desk and bar was good. The fitness room is small but ok. I would recommend it in cooler months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herecomesaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

i stayed a lot of times in this hotel and is always my first choice if i have to visit cork.the hotel is in a great location you can just walk anywhere from it to the city centre, the hotel staff is always very helpfull and friendly and always ready to help you.
the rooms are very nice and very clean, they are a very good value for money and you have free acces to the internet.
i think that is a very good hotel in the city center if you want to visit the city or if you are in a business trip.

Room Tip: the rooms located on harleys st are good and the ones have the view in the inside yard are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nico i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had one night in the gresham metropole while i was visiting family in cork. Its a lovely hotel with very friendly helpful staff. I will be honest, it does need a face lift. The rooms are clean & tidy but dated. Apart from that i had a very pleasent time at the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I always stay at the Metropole when in Cork on business - perfectly suits my needs. Staff are very friendly and efficient - any issues that have arisen when I've stayed there have always resolved quickly and without fuss. The location so close to the train station is excellent. The rooms in fairness aren't massive (some can be very small and not up to date in terms of flat-screens TVs etc) but I've always found them clean and well presented. I find it good value overall though food is quite pricey. Wireless (always important!) is pretty good throughout though some rooms can be 'dead spots' especially those on the end of the corridors.

Its not a 5 star palace (sorry guys!) but it has bundles of character and it ticks all the boxes for a business traveler like myself. I'm happy to return there whenever I'm in Cork city and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you're looking for in a room (e.g. quiet, good view etc) when booking. Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I needed a central hotel in Cork as a stop over and this well suited my needs.
Excellent service, great breakfast, adequate room and bed. Good value for money overall.
Well located and did all that I needed without the frills. A touch of old splendour but outdated.

Room Tip: Suggest you check room before you commit. Wifi is dubious on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dajeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing