We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a one night session in Cork and for the rate we got it was perfect . Clean quiet and no complaints. Very central walking distance to the nightlife ect. Did not have breakfast or use the spa. Parking was close by and no trouble just get your ticket before you park from the hotel.

Room Tip: Best rate for this hotel was found on justgo.ie (65euro for a twin/double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,516 - 1,522 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

The reception area is quite grand, and the rest of the hotel is not quite up to that, but the room was clean and comfortable. Staff are pleasant and professional, not friendly and charming, Breakfast is as expected, the usual variety, and overall, the hotel provides what we pay for. The drop-off zone outside is potentially dangerous because people have to step out into a traffic lane. But, the location is good for the train and for walking the city centre.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank BogCottonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay in this hotel and I was very disappointed with it. The Metropole is probably one of the first hotels people think of when they mention Cork, but it is in serious need of a refurbishment. The entire place is in a time warp, the lift goes at a glacial pace, the doors of the room don't feel secure either.

We arrived and went to our room on a Friday afternoon and it was very basic. The bed was like a rock and there were only two equally rock-esque pillows on the bed. The high ceilings were nice and the window had a view of the main street. The TV was also really dated and the remote did not work. We left for the evening and when we came back there was an awful smell in the bathroom, really gross, like bad drainage from the bath mixed with rust. Not nice at all.

Breakfast is also really poor and I wouldn't go for B&B rate if I was staying again. The selection on offer is very school canteen dinner style and the sausages taste like they are from Aldi. The dining room was staffed by teenagers who really couldn't give a toss. I politely asked one for tea and toast and was looked at as if I had 3 heads. Go to the English market for brekkie instead.

Overall this place needs a major facelift, so old fashioned and not in some uber cool retro way either. I've stayed in nicer, more comfortable and cleaner B&B's for a tenth of the price. Not worth what I paid and I will not be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamhie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at The Gresham Metropole. We paid €110 a night for a double room with no breakfast and you also have to pay for parking which is another €7.50 a night in car-park a couple of minutes from the hotel itself. You need to stop off at the hotel first to pick up a pass for the car-park so be sure to read their website for instructions before you arrive.
We arrived at the hotel for a 3pm check-in as was advised on our booking confirmation. We were met at reception by a bespectacled platinum blonde who informed us that our room was not ready and that she would come into us in the bar with our room key when it was. 50 minutes later we went back to find the room was ready, she just hadn't bothered to come into us.
Our room was spotlessly clean but I feel very over-priced for what you get. There is a distinct 70's feel to it and we had a lovely view of a wall and a storage room. As we were attending a concert in the nearby Marquee we didn't mind so much about the first night but we were sorry we'd booked another night.
That night, despite the hotel being full of concert fans, we got a great sleep and there was no noise at all. There is no air-con so we left the window open with no problems. Not so bad we thought, certainly not the lap of luxury but comfortable enough.
The next day we went about our business but then discovered that there was a wedding in the hotel. Unfortunately we didn't get a good night sleep on our second night. Thumping drum and bass from the DJ until 1.30am and then screaming, inconsiderate wedding guests up and down the corridor until 2.30am meant we were exhausted when we checked out shortly before 9am. Why hotels insist on putting regular guests next to wedding guests I will never know.
We had paid on check-in but when we went to return our keys to the same girl on reception she didn't even bother to ask how our stay had been. Perhaps she could already tell from the bags under our eyes.

Room Tip: Check there isn't a wedding on before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ul0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Written under my boyfriends user name by Helen p. I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday in December 2011. The hotel was great. Lovely clean room and great bathroom. Lovely decor and the reception is beautiful. Great friendly staff and very cheap price. Had a drink in the hotel bar and it was lovely. Great location too. I would recommend anyone to stay here. I think my boyfriend proposing in the room helped.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertyD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a hotel for someone on a medium budget who wants to stay close to Cork centre. £75 B&B pitches it a bit above the more motel like Jury's Inn and significantly cheaper than the various 5* hotels close by. It's more traditional than modern so it depends what you like. Bedroom was of average size as was the bathroom. Decor was OK and bed comfortable. TV was rather old. It was on the inside of the hotel so the view was a concrete wall and I think quite a lot of the rooms have dismal views which would be an issue for a longer than one night's stay.
The Leisure centre isnot a luxury spa but is better and bigger than you might expect in an older city centre hotel with a 20m pool.
Breakfast was typical for a 3 star hotel with nice coffee, which isn't always the case.
Staff were freindly and helpful.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms have only views of walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for the weekend while attending a conference that was also on in the hotel. We were quoted a special rate for attendees of the conference, however when we arrived there was no record of this rate and the hotel staff wanted us to pay a full rate which was very unreasonable. After explaining the situation numerous times to two members of staff, we got the original rate and were able to check in. We were also surprised we had to pay for two nights parking along with our room, a natural assumption would be that if youre staying in a hotel parking is free.

Once we got into our double room it was fine. There was a double bed, kettle, small fridge and nice bathroom. The only downside was our windows were facing out to the street and as they were very old windows, there was a lot of noise both during the night and very early in the morning.

The conference rooms were perfect size and you couldn't complain. The dinner provided on Saturday night was also very nice and the wine was a reasonable price.

Overall the staff were helpful and friendly too apart from the check in.

A 3 star rating from me, its a standard hotel and if you're paying a decent rate you're getting an okay return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,152 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $97 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 98 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Metropole Hotel is a Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing