We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only here for one night while driving through Ireland. My husband chose this place off the Internet because of its location and its price. We were not disappointed! We were taken care of promptly and our accommodations were clean and comfy! Wireless hooked up quickly and with no hiccups. This is important because of the family that is trying to live vicariously through us during this trip ; ). One small drawback was having to unload the luggage and then drive the car around the corner to a separate parking garage. Not far...but could be considered a drawback.
Would recommend this to folks!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Debbie S,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
There are newer reviews for The Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in the Gresham for two night for cycling with Anpost but never got a wink of sleep either night, due to the bathroom window been open and a night club below us and either side of us on the street, terrible place to stay if you want sleep! I complained to reception about the window but they never did anything to help out and in general the hotel is a good location and food was fine but over priced for what you get. The walls in the hotel were paper thin. Not again for me! If you want some sleep don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nulla186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Nulla186605,
I was sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, I would be grateful if you would contact me directly so we can discuss this matter further.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights while I was away on business, it was centrally located and very convenient, it was a short 5 minute walk to Patrick Street, staff are very friendly and helpful both in the breakfast room and on reception. Rachel, Mary & Pavel, Thank you for your excellent customer service. I was on a rate which included dinner and the food was delicious, I would have liked a little more flexibility with the serving times of the food (6-9) but that would not affect everyone it was just my meetings were scheduled for around those times but the bar staff catered for me as much as they could so Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdreka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear DeirdreKa,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great, friendly service, fitness, good sanitation and well located for train, bus and the center of town.

But it's the nostalgic atmosphere, the smell (takes the stairs down once!), the breakfast view across the Lee and the '30s/'40s movie set character that make this hotel so endearing!

Cross the street to the Fish Wife for (take-away) fish&chips

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJH2724SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Mayo55,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in the Metropole Hotel Mc Curtain Street Cork City and had a very enjoyable stay.
The room was quite large, the bathroom was big, the place was spotless. Plentiful amounts of tea/coffee available in the room, not just two sachets. the bathroom had a towel warmer and it was just fab after a bath to have nice warm towels. Lovely tray of products in bathroom also.

It is excellently located, Everyman Theatre is practically next door, shopping in Cork City is just around the corner - literally.
I ordered room service and the food was excellent, hot, fresh and tasty.
Excellent for Business or pleasure.
Staff were very nice.
Cannot fault anything. I would recommend for travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift and if possible ask for one with a view of the River Lee, it is super...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear NoraGal,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in Metropole for one night only, booking a suite, for what I thought was v reasonable price for the quality of the room. Everything about the stay was enjoyable, staff was v friendly and helpful, room was clean and tidy, with plenty of room and all amenities. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the winners, pick one if you can.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miqeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Miqeel,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stated for 2 nights while on a course. Small but comfortable room and staff were very friendly. Only few minutes walk from centre which was handy. Gym and pool nice as well and was able to avail of aerobics classes. Lift up to rooms was pretty cramped and old!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maevedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Meavedunn,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,557 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,108 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
918 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $111 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 98 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Metropole Hotel is a Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing