We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$235
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$379
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
$230
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel(Glanmire)(Great Value!)
$129
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,255)
Filter reviews
2,255 results
Traveler rating
827
821
350
156
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
821
350
156
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreeveryman theatremaccurtain streetcar parkthe riverlovely hotelleisure facilitiespatrick streettrain stationstaff were lovelybreakfast roomreception staffpubsleesaunaireland
Filter
Updating list...
1,752 - 1,757 of 2,255 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from another great weekend stay in Metropole.
On arrival there was a problem with our booking, reservations had the wrong date of our arrival. However Phil the duty manager sorted this out and had us in a room in no time. We had food & drinks in The Met Bar where we foung the food very good & reasonably priced.
As usual we enjoyed our stay in Metropole as the staff are so friendly & professional.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bannerman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed over Christmas 2012, room was nice and clean. Reception and staff were helpful and friendly. Opposite the hotel are fast food joints and small supermarkets, which was super handy as the prices for food in the hotel were above my budget. Just a few mins. walk to the city centre

would recommend it in a flash..

Room Tip: Ask for the executive rooms as they are more updated.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spratjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A really charming hotel in cork city centre. Its so central yet very easy to get to and has a good parking setup. Its an old hotel that makes you feel like youve stepped back in time but theres also a sense of everything being quite new and fresh, like the bedroom fittings. Super comfy bed too.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
1  Thank NaomiHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed sat the 16th feb -This was our first night away together after having our first baby and we arrived by my own admission early for check in at 2.00 pm - we were told that our room would not be ready until 3.00pm which was fine so we decided to go for a bite to eat - arrived back at 4 as wanted to use the leisure facilities before going for dinner to be told room still wasn't ready even tho people who had obviously just arrived and were allocated a room. Went to the bar for a drink to wait and within a couple of minutes there was a guy cleaning windows with a disinfectant over my shoulder & spray went into my pint - left that & at 5.00pm got into our room , had to rush the trip to the leisure centre in order to be back and changed for dinner.... The leisure centre was v good I have to say with good facilities and friendly staff.
In the room we couldn't shut off the heat so had to open the windows to combat the stifling heat - with the result that because the room was street facing (despite sending an email asking for a room at the back of the hotel) the noise outside was that bad we were awoken and had to close the windows ... But suffer the heat. The wife remarked the next day that we got more sleep the previous night with a 4 month old in the room!!
So overall terrible service regarding when we got the room / the room itself was poor given the problems and what should have been a relaxing night away was anything but.
Disappointing

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian1234byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so that we may discuss this further.
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay staff where fantastic one bar man a bite off but rest of staff where great. Our room was small but it was grand we enjoyed our stay one other couple came with us they to had a grid time I would go back again for sure

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noree04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews