We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just stayed for one night, on route home. Great welcome from very friendly staff. Room was basic and clean but OK. Great location for the city centre, shops, bars, station, etc. Very good gym and pool. Breakfast was buffet style, tasty and hot, even though we were last to arrive at 1015am.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,605 - 1,611 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel, good service, friendly staff, clean rooms. Most of all, at a walkable distance to pubs, restaurants and the city centre. Their own restaurant is good either, you should try the curry!

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are more quiet than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our third consecutive year of staying in the Gresham Metropole. It's a quality hotel in a prime location for all your city needs. It is suitable for business or for pleasure. All local shops are on the door step as well as Cinema's, Theatre's etc. The rooms are clean and of a very high standard. The breakfasts were also very tasty and we enjoyed them very much. The bar in the hotel was very welcoming!! We'll certainly be back next year!!!

We also thought it represented v good value for money in relation to the package we chose, which also included full use of the swimming pool and gym.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stay at this hotel regularly for business and have done so for the past few years. I always have a pleasant stay and the staff do their best to make sure this is the case each time. Compared to some other hotels in the city, it's great value for money. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here. The location is excellent also.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishrovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel at the weekend. Was really cold on Friday and when got into room expected it to be warm, however it was just as cold as outside. My boyfriend and I had to sit with coats on and make tea to warm up. Phoned reception and someone came up to look at radiator- he said we would have to wait an hour to see if it came on, Waited the hour and didnt come on so he came back up and bled the radiator, it eventually worked but did not heat up the room very well at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gribbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great Location with parking (chargable) close by.

We were checked in by a nice effiicient lady, and served in the bar by quick and friendly staff.

When booking we paid an extra €10 per person to upgrade to an executive room, this is pointless as the room was very very average and although had a view of McCurtain street it proved very noisy and we could hear singing from the street untill 3 am. We did not complain as I understand there is very little the hotel can do about it.

Location was great, price was good, (€79 for a double room only), and staff was very nice, but hotel needs a make over and executive rooms to me would not pass as standard

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennydug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have stayed with this hotel several times in the past and returned this past week only to find out that now more than ever its age starts to be visible. Dont get me wrong, this is a nice hotel and in a great location to exploire the city however the corridors, restaurant and lobby, same with rooms, all need some touch up. What really bothered me the most was the heating...for my standard the weather was cold and a central heating that worked until 10pm, and then from 7am onwards did not really help. For a 3 star hotel you ge the value you are looking for but would not raise my expectations too hight with this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,638 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,153 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 98 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Metropole Hotel is a Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing