We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Overall our stay was fine, however sitting in the hotel bar at 11pm with the seats beside us being stacked up sent a hint that it was time to move, leaving us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. Breakfast choice was limited but the views from our table overlooking the river were attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    722
    319
    137
    80
See reviews for
303
787
163
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The standard rooms were comfortable but small which wasn't a problem for me since I was alone but might be a little tight if you're traveling with someone. No A/C in the room so to stay comfortable I had to keep the windows open. I slept well for the most part but with the windows open the street noise occasionally woke me up. Very limited channel selection on the television but you generally don't travel to Ireland to watch TV. Breakfast was decent with a fair selection of different foods including the standard Irish breakfast. Not a big fan of the parking situation where you have to park in a nearby garage for 7.50 euro per night but it wasn't a deal-breaker either. Wireless internet was convenient but slow.

There's no denying the location. Shopping, restaurants, and pubs all within a short walk was especially nice since I didn't have a lot of time to look around. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly. The hotel decor was quaint with the old Victorian style architecture but could've used a little TLC. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to check out the fitness area and that I didn't bring my swim trunks as the pool looked nice.

All in all a pleasant hotel with some minor quirks that to some degree are offset by the great location.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a room that does not overlook the street. Standard rooms can accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend in Cork and the Metropole yet again lived up to expectations. A lovely hotel centrally located with friendly staff. We had asked for a quiet room as we were celebrating our anniversary and not only did we get a quiet room but a celebratory card and cakes to welcome us.

Breakfast is taken with a lovely view of the River Lee and we had no trouble with staff constantly checking we were ok, did we want more drinks, toast etc.

There are plenty of pubs, clubs and restaurants nearby. Plus you're just just a short walk from all the shops and bus station.

Overall a fantastic weekend away and stay at the Metropole.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleet_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely old Hotel with very friendly staff. It's central and comfortable but essentially not wheelchair accessible to any extent, you will need to look elsewhere. Steps on the way in, steps down to the lovely bar area, steps up to the restaurant area, access to floors via one tiny lift, need I go on? Anyway, it's a lovely 19th century building with all that goes with that era - wheelchair users and other disabled were not an architectural priority. All that said, thanks to portable ramps and friendly, very helpful staff - we managed, and even enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

had a great time staying here,ideally suited for visits into the city centre minutes away,great bars outside hotel and resteraunts for those who do not like walking,staff very helpful food great would stay her again.

Room Tip: dont miss out here it's a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atjmtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Co. Kildare
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Really nice Hotel located right in centre of Cork and close to the Rail Station. Great rooms and first class breakfast with great view of the River Lee. Sampled the Bar Menu and it came up trumps on both occasions. Friendly staff which helped to make the stay very pleasant. Tom, Naas.

Room Tip: High floors have a great view in Cork
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountbellew
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I found this a very comfortable hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and it is so convenient to the bus stop and the city centre. Car park a bit of a walk away though. The weather was fine when I stayed there, but I would not fancy puling a case after me through the rain. Bit pricey having to pay €7.50 even though the hotel validated the parking ticket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking. Regards Roger Russell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,501 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,595 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
910 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 98 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Metropole Hotel is a Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing