We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is the Real Deal Here”
Review of Windsor Inn Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Inn Cork
Ranked #53 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
skippyd89
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location is the Real Deal Here”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently spent three nights at the Windsor Inn and must admit that I cannot add much more to what has already been posted. However, I will share some oddities I encountered. I book through a reputable on-line booking site, but was told when I arrived that the hotel was under new management and lot was being changed. There was to be no breakfast included. I was discount 50 euros for this, so my room was now averaging 33 euros/night. Ok, I thought. But then James told me the card machine was down and that I would have to pay in cash--which I grudgingly did, making certain to get a receipt. "You're at the top, and, I am sorry, there's no lift." So, I hiked it.

The room was spacious and relatively bright, but the window didn't open all the way. There was a TV and an en suite bathroom. The towels and bed linen were clean, but were never changed the three nights I was there. The carpet was a bit iffy, but I brought a pair of "hotel" socks along. There was only one workable electric socket, so to charge the cell phone or laptop, I had to unplug the TV. And, later, in the bar, I had to ask James for a glass for the room. And, only a half roll to toilet paper was available. There was central heating (but probably no AC in summer).

I travel solo and can put up with most situations. I have been in worse places and I have been in much better. What the Windsor does have going for it, which others have written about, is it's proximity to Cork's bustling city center. Across O'Connell Bridge is the Parnell Square Bus Station, where busses to Kinsale and Cobh can easily be had for day-trips (I went to lovely Kinsale for a day with time to see a play back in Cork that evening).

I hope James was correct about the new management as this place could be quite good if certain fundamental amenities were seen to. And if the credit card machine worked. Cork was a great city, a lot less touristy than Dublin, with a lot of music, historical sites, shopping, and energy. I will definitely be revisiting the city in the future; just maybe not the Windsor.

Room Tip: There is a bar at ground level so, even with stairs, higher may be quieter. Front rooms have the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippyd89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    29
    41
    71
See reviews for
20
78
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

WINDSOR INN CORK.. ..BED & NON BREAKFAST ACCOMDATION..stayed recently.. room 209.. window - broken handle.. window banging all nite.. room freezing.. heating not on.. no towels.. no sink stopper.. ceiling cracked, water dripping on to damp smelling carpet.. kettle dirty.. t.v. no stations, only radio.... breakfast.. a 20 cent box cereal & brown bread.. had to ask for tea.. ..BAR.. old cloth seating.. dull & outdated.. wouldn't recommend, really run down inn.. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED IF BOOKING.. DONT GO THERE.. TERRIBLE..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by James who made us feel like we were at home, firstly. Next we seen our rooms which we warm, cosy, spacious, clean and comfortable.
Then we were given a very comprehensive description of where we should go and what we should see while in Cork!
THEN the next morning we got a tasty full Irish breakfast!
Thank you James and your team! You guys are awesome :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Ok I booked this B and B! And they had a special offer! Okay I thought the rooms are looking cosy and it's close to cork city! When we arrived the room was not really cosy! The carpet would have need a proper hover and under the bed was still crisps bag front the ppl who stayed in before is! All over the floor were small bits and pieces! There was a hole in the wall which was filled with filling foam glue which wasn't really looking nice! I don't want to start to talk about how the mattress looked like I think yellow wasn't a word for it!!! I actually stayed in a lot of hostels which were always cleaner and cheaper than this spot! In the evening I asked if I can rent towels! I don't know what they did but we had pints in the bar with an actually nice band and we came back after 2 hours and still there weren't any towels! This morning we opens the door and the towels were lying on the floor! A bit too late! I think even worse was that we got up in the morning and went to the bar were the breakfast was and there were still 2 people sitting from last night! Totally drunk and smoking in the bar! Was not a nice environment for breakfast!!! To be honest I wish I just would have gone to a hostel it would have been cheaper and nicer! It's a pity cause the pictures in the internet look actually nice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LolaBrennt0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed in room 201, big family room, private bathroom. Spent two nights in the bar downstairs, had the best time ever. Staff were brilliant. €20 a night and across the bridge from Main Street for shopping in cork. Where could you go wrong!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNiNuallain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WICKLOWIRELAND
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I came back here after 3 years and can't believe the changes in the place.It was great then. Stayed in room 107 Friday 6th and Saturday 7th Dec 2013 up the top horrible room lots of stairs to negotiate which feel like they're going to collapse under your feet. No towels,soap,toiletries,grubby shower with very little power and 1 toilet roll and the breakfast has changed for the worst. You used to get a fine size cooked breakfast now all paying guests only get is a mini breakfast well that's what I got both mornings.
Most annoying thing for me is I saw people come in off the street get a much better breakfast than me and I paid 130 euros for my 2 night stay.
I just can't believe how bad it's gone.
One good thing the young lads are nice behind the bar.
but that won't be enough for me to come back.What a disappointment it's not even deserving it's 2 stars now.

Room Tip: If you must book here DO NOT TAKE ROOM 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRENDANDOYLE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of Cork. The staff are friendly and helpful. You get a very good breakfast and you really could not ask for any more from the hotel. Its a budget hotel so its not perfect but its warm there's a clean bed and a bathroom I would stay here again and recommend it to everyone. The bar downstairs is lovely and the locals are very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Acorn House
Acorn House
#15 of 58 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Centre
Creedon's Bed & Breakfast
Sheilas
#17 of 19 in Cork
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn Cork

Property: Windsor Inn Cork
Address: 54/55 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Inn Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Break or concert date? Whatever your reason for visiting Cork make Windsor Inn your accommodation destination. Located on a vibrant street in the city center and only three minutes walk from the city bus station, our hotel is a unique old building that is well cared for and retains plenty of its period features. We are a small hotel with 20 guest bedrooms, all newly decorated and en-suite. We offer an excellent choice of breakfasts with vegetarian and gluten free options available. Hospitality and Value in the Heart of our City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Windsor Inn Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Inn Cork Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing