We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hail 'The Windsor'”
Review of Windsor Inn Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windsor Inn Cork
Ranked #53 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“All hail 'The Windsor'”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I dont normally review hotels I have stayed in, but on this occasion I feel I have to.
I visited Cork for the weekend with a group of friends, we booked the The Windsor for its value for money. Not sure what to expect we were only delighted with the place, in fact it made the weekend! Perfect location to explore the city, close to train, convenient car park over the road. Extremely helpful and pleasant staff, lovely clean bright rooms. A great fry up in the morning and a fine pint of the black stuff in the equally great bar in the evening. Highly recommend this spot, next trip to Cork- I know where im staying...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    29
    41
    71
See reviews for
20
78
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Myself and two friends (all girls) stayed in one of the 3 bed rooms (2 singles and a double) with an en suite. We needed a budget place to stay and apart from a few minor niggles (1 of the singles beds had a very worn mattress, no double glazing (which is noisy at night as you are by the road and the live music can be heard from the bar below, even from the 2nd floor) bathroom door didn't lock, but you're in a private room so it doesn't matter) it was a lovely place. The bar downstairs (it's all part of the Windsor Inn) was lovely, the staff were very very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Felt like a lovely Irish bar. It was literally only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Cork and the Windsor Inn is perfectly placed if like us you had a car as is opposite a car park which charges 10 Euro for parking over night. We parked from 6pm one night to 2pm the next day and it was still only 10 Euro.

The hotel could benefit from a facelift as our room did feel dated and there was no hanging space for clothes, ok if you are there 1 night, however we stayed for 4 nights and in the end we used the non-usable bed as our wardrobe and one two of our party bunked up in the roomy double bed!!

I would definitely stay here again if they got double glazing!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main street will be noisy as the windows are not double glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chezibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I didn't expect much when I booked this hotel, we just wanted a clean, basic, comfortable and secure room. When we arrived, I couldn't really believe it, strange smells, dingy carpets, LOTS of stairs. Then I saw the door to our room.... I can only liken it to something you would expect to see as the front door to a barn. It was not secure at all. The room was cramped for a double room. The toilet was clean but the shower looked really grimy. Television was the smallest I'd ever seen, we had to keep moving the kettle over to bedside table to use it as there was only one plug in the room. It didn't look clean at all and the walls and carpets were stained. At night time we felt unsafe, the door did not close properly so light from outside was coming in, it was extremely noisy, if anyone moved in other rooms we knew about it, and there was an awful racket from drunkards outside (no double glazed windows). At 55 a night I didn't have much of an expectation, I just wanted it to be clean, comfy and secure- and it wasn't. The only thing going for this place is location. Breakfast is included, we had cooked breakfasts and it was ok. But I definitely would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMCH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

No gripes about this one. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The ensuite was clean and more than adequate. The staff were very accomodating. Although it is above the pub, I was on the fourth floor and had no noise. There was breakfast included, but not the full
Irish, it was a basic breakfast which was served in the bar but I had no problem with that. The hotel is proud of the various pies that it serves in the evening, rightly so! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Didnt have a positive experience from the beginning - attempted to put address in GPS however street name wasn't recognized (McCurtain Street on Booking.Com confmation). Called Windsor Inn & person in pub answered, which was extremely loud. After a few minutes explaining the situation, was transferred to Reception lady (should have direct number!). Were told street name was spelt differently (MacCurtain street!) - this should have been rectified on website - not good enough!

Reception lady was lovely & helpful but we were slightly annoyed that our 2 rooms were on separate floors (although we made 1 booking for 2 rooms). TV didn't work, shower had NO pressure so shouldn't shower, stains on carpet were clearly visible, could hear traffic from street below even though we were on 3rd floor (no double glazed windows), walls were extremely think - could hear drunk men shouting in corridor & room next door (worst sleep ever).

To make matters worse, the inlaws stayed in 2nd floor room - mother-in law was disgusted to find brown marks on her toilet seat. She wiped it with tissue and it came off - definitely some sor of faeces. In conclusion, don't waste your money staying here, look elsewhere.

STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misscherry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Cheap & very cheerful! You get what you pay for, it's super affordable but very basic but it's got clean linen, it's well kept and comfy and has just about the nicest staff i've ever met. It's low maintenance, relaxed and the type of place to lay your head down for a few hours but not to stay in the room for the evening. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: It's a noisy location so bring earplugs but there's not much you'll find to complain abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I came here with two other single 20 something females, and we chose the spot on a whim for the budget accommodation, including full Irish breakfast in the morning. This is the perfect place for solo travelers, anyone on a budget, or those who are not picky to the fact that the building is old, a bit run down, and you have to climb about a million stairs. The location is only a block from the city link bus stop and across the bridge from other buses, shops, and pubs. If you are looking for a place to experience blissful quiet and be pampering, this is not the place for you. If you want a place with other, fun-minded people, this is the best spot in town.

Hands down, the best part of our stay was the staff. Stacy went out of her way to share tips and directions to things to do in the city, and when we came back at night, Alan kept the pub open as long as we wanted. We were treated like long-lost best friends and spent the wee hours sharing a pint and a lot of laughs with a few locals, other travelers, bar regulars and the staff. After traveling around Ireland, our stay in the Windsor Inn was the night we all kept talking about. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 16 is at the top of what seems like an endless supply of stairs. Great if you need to get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
228 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,551 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
902 reviews
Montenotte
Clon Ross Guest House
Clon Ross Guest House
#24 of 58 in Cork
42 reviews
Centre
Creedon's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn Cork

Property: Windsor Inn Cork
Address: 54/55 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Inn Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Break or concert date? Whatever your reason for visiting Cork make Windsor Inn your accommodation destination. Located on a vibrant street in the city center and only three minutes walk from the city bus station, our hotel is a unique old building that is well cared for and retains plenty of its period features. We are a small hotel with 20 guest bedrooms, all newly decorated and en-suite. We offer an excellent choice of breakfasts with vegetarian and gluten free options available. Hospitality and Value in the Heart of our City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Windsor Inn Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Inn Cork Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing