We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December trip to Cork”
Review of Windsor Inn Cork

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Inn Cork
Ranked #53 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“December trip to Cork”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

My wife and I chose the Windsor Inn due to its location near the centre of Cork and its low price. We were slightly put off by the reviews but decided anyway on the Windsor Inn. We very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and were greeted by Scott one of the friendly staff, a nicely furnished top floor room, a warm inviting bar with friendly locals and great evening entertainment. Breakfast was large and excellent. Evening meal of Irish stew was also excellent. Only complaint was the room was not warm enough for a cold December, but otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigandCaroleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    29
    41
    71
See reviews for
20
78
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xDanielleEmerx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I've not long returned from a short trip here with friends and having read some reviews on here before travelling I was a little worried. However, I needn't have done. We loved the place.

Our room was a triple room up on the top floor. The room, although slightly dated, was clean with very comfy beds. Breakfast that was included with the room in the morning was lovely and set us up for our days of exploring Cork. The location was perfect, about a 5 minute walk from the centre, bus and train stations. The bar and its staff topped off our holiday. We spent 3 great evenings in the bar chatting to the locals and the staff. All were very welcoming, kind and very helpful whenever we asked for anything.

A brilliant little place that I wouldn't hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xDanielleEmerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelCork, Owner at Windsor Inn Cork, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
I m delighted with your positive review and glad that you and your friends enjoyed our simple but good value offerings. I would appreciate anyones concerns at seeing previous reviews and I think there is a phantom or two amongst them. I hope you will visit again soon, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We were 4 senior women who the day before arrival in Cork were able to book accommodations at this charming, historical Inn. Yes, no elevator but we had ensuite rooms which were roomy and comfy. Full Irish breakfast included if wanted. Great as a base for other sight seeing in the area. Near bus station. Easy walk to central markets and T.I. center. Staff were cordial, helpful and cheerful. Price was right. We loved our time there. Don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Upper floors since pub is downstairs at street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbabe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Room are basic and parking is tough if you are traveling by car. The location is good and it's a short walk to Oliver Plunkett and shopping. defiantly more of a backpackers hostel and at first we were a little skeptical but we ended up having two great nights.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

It certainly feels like an ancient city centre inn, with the noise from the bar drifting up the winding narrow stairs. I had a room overlooking Macurtain Street - with a comfortable clean bed, table and chairs, hot shower and a kettle to make tea. The TV didn't work and the place could do with a good clean. I was woken up very early by the clanging of beer barrels being unloaded.
The vegetarian breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed in this 'hotel'..... I use this term loosely in september 2011.
Cheap and cheerfull........ Cheap yes.... Cheerful no way....
From the sour look on the face of the manager Keiran, to the erratic seemingly unstable staff this place is no happy hotel!
It is cheaper than some but still not worth the money... The rooms are shabby and run down... there was no hot water for the duration of our stay... when this was brought to keiran's attention i was told it would be dealt with..... it wasn't!!......
He made us feel like we were a hindrance, that he'd rather be elsewhere, not a great public image!

I have stayed in backpackers hostels that have been better equipped than this place.

The toilets in the bar can only be described as horrifying... for a place that serves breakfast in the bar it's disgusting.... the lack of cleaning runs throughout..... such a shame, the place could be fantastic with a bit of work and a better public face.

Room Tip: I'd give this a swerve.... better places down the same street for around same price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I love cork, I love jazz, but i certainly do not love the Windsor inn. But as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. My own fault.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conniebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Acorn House
Acorn House
#15 of 58 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Centre
Creedon's Bed & Breakfast
Sheilas
#17 of 19 in Cork
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn Cork

Property: Windsor Inn Cork
Address: 54/55 Maccurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Inn Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Break or concert date? Whatever your reason for visiting Cork make Windsor Inn your accommodation destination. Located on a vibrant street in the city center and only three minutes walk from the city bus station, our hotel is a unique old building that is well cared for and retains plenty of its period features. We are a small hotel with 20 guest bedrooms, all newly decorated and en-suite. We offer an excellent choice of breakfasts with vegetarian and gluten free options available. Hospitality and Value in the Heart of our City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Windsor Inn Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Inn Cork Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing