We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly Cork cafe...”
Review of The Half Door Cafe - CLOSED

The Half Door Cafe
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very friendly Cork cafe...”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Recently visited the Half Door Cafe for lunch and was very impressed with all aspects of our visit, from the friendly service with smiles to the delicious food. The cafe has a good selection of sanwiches, wraps, soups and sweet treats. Would recommend the generously filled toasted sandwiches and a steaming cup of coffee!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went with 2 friends, we all ordered sandwiches but there was only one lady working there so we had to wait 15 minutes for our sandwiches. That not being bad enough, she was extremely rude to the point where i felt like walking out. Despite the long wait and the obnoxious waitress the food was actually very tasty. its just a pity they have never heard of customer service because i will never return and advise anybody to stay well clear.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NoelleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best pancakes ever....”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I used to eat here many times and still come back whenever i feel like to eat sweet pancakes...The best, the sweetest, the most delicious...Reastuarant inside is very tiny but outside seats are much nicer and first off all prices are really good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iv0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was not expecting that....”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went here for lunch on saturday (with the better half). Its a real quirky cafe, there are pics of old movie stars and singers on the wall, little trinkets etc.Signs that tell you where they get their produce, for example there bread is from Ballincollig, and the chicken from the english market.

It is tiny. 4 tables inside and 6 outside. But don"t let that fool you. I received a special that screamed i will not be forgotten. My wife opted for the pesto chicken ciabatta which came with a simple but lovely salad. She loved it. I had a taste too it was delicious. I opted for the Goats Cheese Ciabatta (also served with salad) , i have not had a taste experience like it in a while. Lets just say i inhaled it. Red pesto, peppers, spinach, corn etc etc it was really good.

Service was fast and staff were friendly. Good coffee, great price. As the terminator once said...."il be back"

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Best crepes in town! I spent the afternoon in here watching the world go by and eating :) it was such a delight. Fresh food and with such a wide choice...then to top it off with a crepe...amazing! I am vegetarian and often find it hard in cafes as there isn't always much choice, but had no trouble here! Fab choice of herbal teas to choose from too :) The interior is really cool, vintage, shabby chic and the girls behind the counter wear the cutest headbands! The atmosphere is very friendly and welcoming, I will definitely be back when I am next in Cork :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Door Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing