We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrummy food; good beer. We will go back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodford Bar & Restaurant

The Woodford Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #97 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scrummy food; good beer. We will go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Can really recommend this place. Cork has plenty of places to eat, but unfortunately few of them in the 'reasonable' price bracket really deliver tasty, hot food. This place does and in pleasant, well thought out, 'antique-like' surroundings, with leather arm chairs and scrubbed down tables. We opted for typical lunch-fare: beef burgers, chips, salad and beer -and all were of a very good quality.

Next time we are in Cork, the Woodford will certainly be a place to go and perhaps next time we will try out their evening entertainment. It's obviously a well-managed pub/restaurant and our guess is, from the quality of their food, that they'd spend time getting that right as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HertfordPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    72
    20
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A pub without a tv!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a really chilled out bar with good food, live music and ( thankfully) no tvs playing incessantly overhead. One of my favourite bars in Cork

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Hang Sandwich in Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Bar is a hidden gem, located in down town Cork City just meters from the English market. I would recommend a half and half soup and sandwich option. You have to try the honey glazed ham sandwich slow cooked on the bone. Served on a sourdough bread, with a mustard mayonnaise & cucumber pickle. The pickle is surprisingly delicious. Best time to visit is Thursday through Saturday. Management are friendly, some of the staff are forgetful and give the impression that they would much rather be playing PS3. Hence no five star even though the food deserves it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a gastro pub and not a restaurant. The food is excellent and unpretentious. The service is attentive but not overly so. I really love this pub. It is one of the most beautiful buildings in Cork and is very centrally located. I love the fantastic high ceilings. It was also very good value for money for both food and drink. We enjoyed it so much that we ended up staying for the night which was great because they a live band on after dinner and stayed open till 2am.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REI101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corcaigh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a fab lunch here recently having had the special tempura chicken i would retuen. It was cooked to perfection with some amazing dressing. Staff were friendly and the place was buzzing at lunch time.. truly indicative of good value and great food

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glamchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodford Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Woodford Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing