We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed July 11, 2006

We stayed here twice while in Cork and both times were able to find a room with no problem as they own several properties. Very well priced and nice rooms. Miss Lucy was a sweetheart and so were her employees. Was also able to do much needed laundry. Great location, easy to walk to city center or bus it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    335
    107
    45
    17
See reviews for
295
506
82
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed at Garnish House for one night in May and it truly was one of the highlights of our trip. Marcel and Hansi were extremely welcoming, kind and and helpful - we felt like part of the family!

I had heard about the fantastic breakfasts but it was even better than I imagined. We were set until supper time! Also, our room was spacious and impeccably clean.

I highly recommend a stay at Garnish House - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This was a terrific place to stay and while I loved many aspects of this B&B, my favorite thing had to be the delicious scones! Upon arrival, the friendly staff helped with our bags, gave us excellent recommendations for local attractions and restaurants, then proceeded to set out the most wonderful afternoon tea I've ever had! The scones, the bread, the croissants... my mouth is watering just thinking about them! The room was lovely and in the room was a beautiful bowl of fruit - apples, oranges, bananas, kiwi and nectarines - another lovey touch! The room was decorated in a lovely decor and in addition to the twin and double bed, we had a lovely sitting area with a couch and desk. The bathroom was filled with clean white towels, a fabulous jacuzzi tub and a shower with amazing water pressure! The breakfast had every possible option and it was all delicious! We ate until we couldn't shovel in another bite! The staff was so warm and friendly, and it is obvious from all the special touches that they put into our stay that they aim to please! We can't wait to return to Garnish House on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShanaAFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I booked the Garnish based on the reviews here and was not disapointed. Wonderful location right across the street from the Univ of Cork, we (a party of 6) were put into a separate guest house with beautiful clean rooms, washer and dryer, dining room and kitchen facilities, etc. Service was excellent - the staff was helpful and friendly. And the breakfasts were the best I've ever had - so good that we did not even eat lunch on the days we stayed at Garnish. Try the porridge with Baileys and the plaice with lemon sauce!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank talis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We stayed at the Garnish Guest House for Easter in their annex which is a semi detached house across the road ,we all went from work so had the whole house to our selves just like home from home all rooms ensuite with nice bed s and frsh sheets and towels every day also TVand cable TV in living room large, kitchen with fridge ,cooker ,micro wave.
we was welcomed with cakes and scones with cream and jam tea and coffee we all found it was excellent fully deserving the Bridgestone award for 2006 has the best Irish bb
Breakfast we took across the road in the main hotel and what a breakfast it was starting with porridge and Jameson or baileys then a traditional Irish breakfast enough to keep you going all day .there are up 28 different breakfasts on the menu to choose from

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iluvtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2006

This is perhaps the BEST b&b in the country,certainly the best I have ever stayed in. The staff were excellent,the food was excellent. In fact, there is not enough space to describe the breakfast, as it is truly amazing. During my stay, I stayed out late both nights,and there was always someone to let me in and to offer me a cup of tea..a truly Irish type of hospitality!Note how a lot of these reviews mention Mrs. Lucey by name..this is not some anonymous,faceless hotel, it is very much a family-run,friendly establishment with staff who will bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. I will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilywhite26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

I recently stayed at the Garnish House for five evenings. Upon arrival I was offered tea and scones in the sitting room which was most welcome after a 7 hour flight/5 hour bus ride. My room was on the top floor requiring I carry my large suitcase up several flights of stairs. This is quite tiring and something to keep in mind when booking a room Also, the room was very small with barely enough space for me to open my suitcase. As everyone has mentioned, the breakfast is wonderful with many dishes to choose from. I had the porridge every day-yum! I also enjoyed the pancakes which are really crepes to Americans. Also yummy. I didn't find the staff as accomodating as others have and didn't get much help in the way of planning activites but one of the night staff members did allow me to do some laundry which was a life saver. (It seems self serve laundromats do not exist in Ireland, who knew? lol)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goldrushbrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,462 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
731 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing