We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm afraid I have to disagree...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I'm afraid I have to disagree...”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I have to say I think the breakfast is extraordinary, but I was so tired due to lack of sleep because of noise I didn't really feel like it.

We stayed on the Thursday before the bank holiday in August and yes, it was busy, but really there was no escape from noise, above us the floorboards creaked and the people staying there had very loud sex then and jaccuzi at 1am, behind us were a bunch of students or similar having a party, to the side of us were very inconsiderate people smoking under our window talking loudly and just not giving a toss. So if we wanted silence we needed to close all of the windows and put in earplugs, not ideal.

We had driven a very long way and just wanted some rest, this wasn't the place for it. The restaurant they recommended wasn't much chop either, very expensive and not that nice, over 100 Euros for two without wine is not my idea of value.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    329
    99
    44
    16
See reviews for
287
487
79
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Just adding to the chorus.

Really best BnB in Ireland, rooms great, the Breakfast and all day tea was out of the world!

FAB FAB FAB

  • Liked — ALL
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

I booked this guest house based on a recommendation in the Lonely Planet and other reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad I did. We were on a 10-day tour around Ireland on our motorbike, had come through terrible rainstorms all the way into Cork and arrived hungry, wet and thoroughly miserable. We were given a suite, rather than a room (upgraded without having to ask), in order that we could lay out and dry all our motorbike kit. We then went for our welcome tea of scones with fresh cream, chocolate cake, fruit cake and endless fresh coffee. NEVER has such a treat been so welcome. The hospitality and excellent cooking raised our spirits beyond belief. I ate so much that I didn't want supper!

Breakfast the next day was equally superb. The choice was staggering and as a vegetarian, I rarely have the chance to say that. I found it almost impossible to decide, but we were offered porridge and a 'main course' and pancakes!!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I have nothing but praise for this excellent establishment. Book it now!!

And many thanks to the Garnish Guest House staff.

  • Liked — Level of service and food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orwellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

When we checked in we were told we would be staying in a house up the road from the B&B so we had to park at the B&B and then walk up the road, in fairness it is only a two minute walk but not pleasant when it's lashing rain!

The room was lovely and had a sitting room attached to it with a little kitchen which was fab. The room was also very clean.

The only gripe we had was we were told “breakfast starts early and finishes late” so at 11.30am the next morning we stumble down looking forward to our cure but were surprised to hear that the chef had left and breakfast was over!! I was really annoyed with that but when requested they did give a E10 discount.

Location of this b&b is great but to be honest Ithinks its very over priced.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edengarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

you really cannot fault this B and B. the welcome tea you get on arrival is amazing - fresh cakes and scones - and everyone is so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed up the road from the main B&B and the room was very comfortable - very modern and clean with complementary fruit and lovely furnishings. The breakfast menu has to be seen to be believed! I would heartily recommend the porridge with Baileys to start - and the food just keeps coming and coming! We ate so much we had to lie down to recover and still didnt sample half the food on offer. Well worth the money - so good we returned again at the end of our week long holiday and it was by far the best B&B we stayed in. Superb.

  • Liked — breakfasts and welcome tea
  • Disliked — nithing to complain about
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich UK
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2008

From the very second that you walk into Garnish House you are made more than welcome. It takes time to adjust to tha fact that people like Mrs Lucey and her staff still exist in this world. The place is spotless and the food is quite superb, Breakfast is an experience that we will never forget, it was just mind blowing!
Our party of 6 ranged in age from 14 to 81 we all agreed that this was the best place we have ever stayed. Forget your diet, forget all you have ever been told about star rating, Mrs Lucey and her staff bring Irish hospitality to a new and wonderful level.

  • Liked — The People
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank helsby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Clean, comfortable, B&B. Room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. About a 15-20 minute walk to the center of town but the breakfast makes it all worth it. By far the best breakfast we had the whole two weeks we were in Ireland. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cost was 115 euro.
We only stayed in Cork for one night but if we had it to do over again would have stayed for probably 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,426 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing