We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is quite a large B&B, it's more so like a small hotel, rather than a usual B&B. We arrived there after a long journey and were quite tired. Upon arrival we were offered tea and cakes, which was very nice and it was exactly what we needed.
It has multiple houses and we stayed in the smallest one, which had only three bedrooms. We had our own kitchen, which was very handy. We stayed there for only one night. The bedroom was very clean. The shower was not the best, but not too bad. The curtains were quite light, so the room was quite bright from early morning. It's literally next door to UCC, which was good for us, and it is not too far from City Centre. Breakfast was enormous! Very good and tasty. Would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing Garnish House during your recent stay in Cork and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with your fellow travelers.

Garnish enjoys an ideal location opposite the tranquil campus of University College Cork and only 10 minutes' walk to the very heart of Cork City centre - close enough to enjoy all the city has to offer but far away enough to relax and unwind as well!

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Garnish House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

A group of 10 of us booked to stay at Garnish House on recommendation of 1 of the party. The owners/staff couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in a house across the road which was newly refurbished. It was clean & spacious. Perfect for a group like ours. We were offered tea, scones & soda bread on arrival, which were delicious. Breakfast was enormous with a staggering selection, better than many a top-class hotel. All cooked fresh & perfectly, as much as you could manage! A 10 minute walk into the city centre & close to the bus it was a perfect location. I hope to go back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Midlandsmum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your delightful review of Garnish House. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your friends in our townhouse, Westbourne, which has proved popular with groups.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Garnish in the near future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Some friends and I just spent an absolutely delightful weekend in Cork, due in most part to our stay at the Garnish House. We arrived before check in time, so our room wasn't quite ready, but they had hot tea and delicious scones available in the dining room while we waited. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. They gave us directions, called taxis for us, answered all of our questions, and were just very accommodating. Breakfast is amazing...tons of food and it all tastes great (did I mention the delicious scones? They really are the best I've ever had). Overall it was just a very pleasant, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for choosing Garnish House during your recent stay in Cork and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor users.

It was our pleasure to have you and your friends here and we hope you'll come back another time to sample a bit more of our breakfast menu -- one stay is never quite enough to try everything!

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here our first night in Ireland. We walked here from the St. Patricks Quay bus stop. It was about a 20 min walk but easy to find. It was near the university but very close to the town centre. We found it an easy location to get around to the Cathedral, Gaol, English Market and pubs. We got there right at tea time. We were shown our room and then we came down to the dining room for tea and cakes and bread! Wow I am not sure how we ate dinner after eating the selection they provided! We enjoyed tea time and breakfast immensely. The breakfast definitely is a reason to stay. The menu was very extensive and we had a hard time finishing everything. Our room was a little on the small side. It was perfectly fine for the two of us and all we did in it was sleep so we were comfy. It was just extremely tiny, but very clean! The morning we were leaving, the owner happily called a taxi for us and it arrived as we were paying to leave. I'm glad we stayed here on our first night. We loved the city of Cork!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler_at_Heart_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for this fabulous review of Garnish House. It is always tea-time here -- whether at guest arrives at two in the afternoon or two in the morning, a tray of cakes and scones and a pot of hot tea waits for them.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent Saturday night at Garnish House and from the moment I walked in the door I was impressed! The building was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean. Once Marcel had shown us our comfy room he sat us by the fire and brought us a huge tray with cakes, breads, scones and a huge pot of tea! What more do you need on a wet and windy Saturday eve?! The bed was huge and really comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious with a plentiful supply of food including berries, yoghurts, museli, scones, cakes and the jugs of fresh juices were refilled regularly!The breakfast menu is very impressive from pancakes to salmon and eggs to full Irish. I wanted to try the porridge with Baileys but I was too full (next time). The staff were efficient and friendly.
I left my phone charger behind and I sent an email which was responded to immediately and politely!

I have travelled alot and I have to say this is a fabulous place. It comes highly ranked as far as I am concerned. Well done Garnish House, I'll be back!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maireaduae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Garnish House.

The idea of our welcoming afternoon tea service is to set the tone for our guest's stay, but on occasion it can be just what one needs after a long journey or while waiting out a dark and stormy night! In this wintry weather it is for sure best enjoyed by the fire in the cosy Garnish sitting room.

We really appreciate your kind comments, especially since you are a seasoned traveler and have undoubtedly stayed in many places. Make sure you leave room for the Baileys porridge when you come back.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, GARNISH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Every time I go to cork my wife and I stay in Garnish house, we always enjoy our stay there and after nearly twelve years we have never been let down. There is always a great welcome with tea and scones, relaxing rooms and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. The staff do their best to make our stay a pleasant one. My wife and I just love the place and at this stage wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when we visit Cork.

Room Tip: Phone ahead before your stay and let Garnish house know about any requirements you may have. I know...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seán S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you sincerely Sean for your latest kind words about Garnish House! It is always our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was visiting Cork with three friends over Christmas, and we had a really lovely stay at Garnish! We were welcomed with an afternoon tea, complete with baskets of scones, breads, pastries and treats - what a wonderful surprise after a few hours in the car! The main innkeeper was so nice and friendly, gave us plenty of tips on where to go, what to do, and suggestions on what might be open during Christmas Eve. The best part was probably the breakfast, though - so many choices and great variety on the buffet - yum! Best of the trip.

We were in a room in a second building about a half a block away, so the only downside was the distance carrying bags. We also had 4 in a quad room, and it was a bit tight, but ok for one night.

Overall, highly recommended! Be sure to enjoy tea and breakfast!

Room Tip: Never saw the rooms in the main building to compare, but if you don't want to walk a block away...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyprato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing Garnish House as your base in Cork this past Christmas, and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Garnish is pleased to offer our guests a wide range of room at our complex opposite the gates of UCC on Western Road. We do have more than one building, but all of our properties are within a minutes' walk of one another and serviced 24 hours by our reception staff. We also offer luggage assistance if required, and we have multiple parking locations.

In our experience guests appreciate that we can accommodate a wide variety of requirements and room types -- ranging from standard doubles to large family rooms to self-catering apartments. Garnish, we like to think, has something for everyone.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,558 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
767 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,108 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $79 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing