We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, even more fantastic service”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in garnish on sat night 14th of sept as part of our honeymoon. We could not have picked a better place for part of a special time/trip in our lives. The location is perfect. 5mins walk from the city centre, nestled between the grounds of UCC, and the river lee. The manager & owner Johanna made us feel so welcome on our special trip. The rooms were spacious, immaculately clean and comfy, the king size bed massive with beautiful feather down pillows. Every little request and more was accommodated and in fact she even personally offered to deliver us breakfast in bed the next morning! The quality of the breakfast is simply outstanding and world class. The scope,variety and quality of the menu and food top class.
Would return & stay here in a
flash!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cianoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying here at Garnish House. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you both and we are delighted to hear that we helped make a special trip just that.

Our aim is always to make our guests feel at home and well-catered for, so I read with delight your comments about our hospitality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back to Garnish in the future -- perhaps for an anniversary...?

Warmest regards and congratulations,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved our stay at the Garnish House! We were greeted with tea and coffee and a whole manner of scones and cakes. We originally booked a double bed room, but the owner gave us an upgrade to the one bedroom apartment, complete with kitchen, spacious bathroom, and living area with fireplace. When I was concerned about the price, she assured me it was the same. We had an amazing breakfast fit for kings that was included in the room price. We did stay during the off season, which I'm sure helped, but payed less that €100 for it all. I would highly recommend it,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

After reading so many positive review of Garnish, I knew I'd have to stay there when next in Cork.

I telephoned to advise I couldn't arrive until 10pm. all good. Nevertheless after a warm welcome the the tea was made and a selection of cakes and scones was brought out to the breakfast room just moments after arriving.

Firstly the room, its slightly above average, nothing more. Most B&Ber's will have stayed in better appointed and more luxurious rooms.
Foodies obviously love staying there due to the sensational breakfasts. The food just keeps on coming. Firstly I had the incredible, NOT TO BE MISSED Baileys porridge as suggested by the lovely lady with the heavy Irish accent. Followed by a selection of bread, toast and scones.
I ordered Spanish omelette, delicious, then as I was about to get up, I was offered pancakes for 'dessert'. Thin crepe like pancakes with maple syrup.

Can't wait till tomorrows breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words about Garnish House and in particular, our famous breakfast! We read with delight your comments and we very much hope you enjoyed breakfast as much on Day 2...

Warmest regards and thanks
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights in the second building, Welbourne house. The room was lovely, spacious and very clean and comfortable. Beautiful big windows that looked out on a lovely yard. We were greeted with a delicious tea of cakes and scones in a pretty little parlor. Breakfast was not included in the cost of the room and we did have to walk to the other building to eat. Its a short walk and well worth it as the food is excellent. Three courses for Breakfast and each more delicious than the last. Oatmeal with Bailey's was a taste treat. The only small downside was the young man who booked us in was not too knowledgeable about the buses and tourist things in the city. The owner was very helpful and did her best to help us out when we has questions. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed for 1 night at the main building, and wish I could've spent more time here! We were welcomed with smiles, tea, cakes and scones upon arrival, which was lovely after a long drive. Our room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed (though it can be a little bit on the soft side), large shower with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was delicious and very plentiful, definitely one of the most memorable from my trip. (Do try the oatmeal with Baileys!) Downtown is about 10~15 minutes walk away.

However, if driving, do note to use Lancaster Quay as the address instead. The roads are mostly one way, and it can be quite confusing.

Room Tip: For rooms on higher levels, the stairs can be a challenge if you have large and heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TZ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experiences at Garnish House, and for choosing us as your accommodation while here in Cork.

Our welcoming afternoon tea is indeed intended to be the perfect antidote to a long drive on unfamiliar roads, and we are glad it started your stay with us off right.

Thank you for your kind comments about the breakfast, which we will pass onto the chef and our staff.

Indeed, Garnish is located on a one-way system and 'Western Road' isn't a friend of GPS; we recommend that all guests using Sat-Nav enter the address '1 LANCASTER QUAY' and then keep driving past it that location, where they'll soon see Garnish House on the right.

Warmest regards,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked to stay for 1 night in July as we were touring Ireland following Bruce Springsteen. So we knew accommodation would be at a premium & had paid higher prices all week without feeling aggrieved. But this was not our experience at Garnish House. We paid €160 for a tiny room (for 2) that you couldn't turn around in. The 'en-suite' was ridiculously small - literally space to stand up only - if you moved you banged the wall. Avoid room 6 - only a concertina door to separate room from micro-bathroom. And breakfast was extra (fleeced for another €20) - & inedible. We left our full Irish breakfast, unable to stomach the amount of congealed fat on the plate & hair in the food. A really poor experience which left me wishing I'd spent more time reading other reviews on this site which reveal that staying in the main house seems to be a different experience to staying in the other houses owned by this proprietor.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

We are most disappointed to read that you were disappointed with your stay in Garnish House. However as you can see from the vast majority of other reviews here on TripAdvisor, your experience was certainly not typical.

Our room sizes and accommodation are in keeping with the features of a traditional Irish B&B and we have a large variety of room types available. For example, if the standard double was not large enough for you, you could have opted to upgrade to one of our superior rooms with a king-sized bed, or one of our luxury rooms, which have a separate sitting area and a Jacuzzi bath.

Just like every hotel, guesthouse and B&B the world over, our rates fluctuate seasonally, and July is the very height of the summer peak. To get the best rates available at Garnish House, we would recommend booking with us directly and as far in advance as possible.

We were very surprised to read that you did not enjoy the famous Garnish breakfast -- our breakfast is lauded by guests and many return to stay with us just so they can enjoy for a second time our 30+ delicious choices all freshly prepared by our chef.

We also are pleased to offer both B&B and room-only rates; we apologize if this was not made clear on arrival or at time of booking.

Kindest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a lovely stay at Garnish House. We were welcomed with tea, cakes, a smile and a pleasant chat including lots of recommendations for things to do. Our room was very comfortable. Now, the breakfast, oh my! Courses upon courses of tasty treats are brought to your table, make sure you are hungry. The signature porridge with Baileys was delicious, even though i took some convincing to order it as I didn't think it would be. I was so wrong. There is a very extensive breakfast menu to choose from. We tried lots of different things over the two mornings we were there. Believe me, you won't need to eat again all day! Top notch. Garnish House is near the University, a short walk from the city centre. There is parking available. A great choice for accommodation in Cork.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
811 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $73 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing