We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Amazing Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had an awesome experience at the Garnish House on our very 1st trip to Ireland. They treated us so much better than any hotel I have stayed anywhere! We were offered a pot of tea and fresh pastries while we waited for our room to be ready (at 11am). The breakfasts were to die for! You must have the porridge with the Bailey's! And the porridge is only the starter for breakfast. They have 2 pages of menu offerings -- each one very delicious. The proprietor apologized on our last day, saying she "wished she could have done more for us". I wanted to take her home so she could take of us all the time. I can't wait for my next trip to Ireland so that I can stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the very top which was only a problem when we had to drag our luggage up or down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and fabulous review of Garnish House! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Our porridge served with Bailey's is one of our (many!) specialities and a popular choice with all our guests. We're delighted you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish House on your next visit to Cork.

Until then,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    324
    98
    43
    17
See reviews for
282
483
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glocester, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Garnish House after staying at three other B&B's throughout our tour of Ireland. It was the nicest of four. The proprietor and her staff give much attention to detail and pleasing their patrons. The breakfast was delicious, a huge variety, nothing spared. Our room was clean and cozy. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Garnish House and for taking the time to review your stay here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay -- and your breakfast!

Best wishes
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We found this b&b on hotels.com. When we arrived we were welcomed with tea/coffee and pastries. Outstanding. Our room was very clean and fresh. We stayed overnight on NYE. Lovely town. We will come back.

Room Tip: I use tripadvisor when looking for rooms and to see how close to town it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie717_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Cork on New Year's Eve and had time to experience our welcoming afternoon tea service before your New Year's celebrations began.

Everyone hear at Garnish House thanks you for staying with us and looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cork.

Best wishes and thanks,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at Garnish House after getting a great deal on Orbitz. When we arrived, we received the afternoon tea, which was quite good. I asked about recommendations and how far we were from some things listed on the website and Joanna looked puzzled and couldn't really give any. We were told our room was "a step away" and that it was ready. We were surprised when we were taken down the street (more than just a step away) to a different building. The room was decent and had plenty of room for the two of us and two suitcases. While drying my hands, I noticed that there was a long hair on the towel. I thought thought nothing of it and placed the towel on the floor as I didn't want to use a towel with someone else's hair on it. The next day after my shower, I took a towel off of the rack and a large clump of hair fell from the towel. I found several more hairs in our other towels during my two day stay. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed it until the last day when we checked out. When we checked out, I was told we owed €40. I explained that we had prepaid on Orbitz and there shouldn't be any additional charges. I was told that the charge was for breakfast and Joanna told me that "we got a very good rate and sometimes breakfast is extra." I told her that she had a B&B and that breakfast is included in the rate, otherwise we were at a hotel, not a B&B. I was forced to pay so that I could leave and continue on with my journey and hope that Orbitz refunds my money. I felt as though she thought we got a rate that was too low and tacked on the extra for breakfast. At no point did she say or was it posted that breakfast is €10/pp/pd. if you stay here, know that the breakfast and afternoon tea are good, but that you might get charged extra, stay down the road from the main house, and dry off with a stranger's body hair.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank muggsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of Garnish House. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay with other travellers and we are happy that you enjoyed your welcoming afternoon tea, your accommodations here at Garnish and our legendary breakfast.

As we explained on the morning of your departure, we like to offer our guests the flexibility to book either room only rates or accommodation with breakfast included. When you booked on Orbitz, you selected a room only rate; that is the information Orbitz supplied to us. As it often happens that guests who book room only rates regret their decision once they see our extensive breakfast menu, we offer the option to add breakfast for €10 per person in such cases. We appreciate that you enjoyed it and your compliments have been passed to our chef.

We acknowledge the issue you raised with the towels in your room for which we can only profusely apologise. Your experience is not typical of our guests and the issue has been raised with our housekeeping department who will endeavour to ensure it does not happen again.

We thank you for staying with Garnish House over the festive period and hope that you enjoyed your time in Ireland.

Best wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The lady who's in charge was really nice. A HUGE set of pastries and tea/coffee was waiting for me when I arrived. Rooms were cozy, quiet and clean. And the cook-to-order breakfast was out of this world. The location is great if you're doing seminars or other academic stuff at UCC. Wifi signal strength could be improved but was acceptable.

Room Tip: A private room is always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruiNruiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at Garnish House and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our welcoming afternoon tea and our famous breakfast.

We constantly endeavour to meet and exceed guest expectations and we note your comment about the wifi signal strength. We will work to ensure that it is stronger in time for your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just stayed in Garnish House for a weekend in Cork with a friend, for the third time. Marcel, who welcomed us, recognized us and brought the afternoon tea which is included - very welcome after a busy afternoon Christmas shopping. This time we were accommodated in the house directly across the road, which was fine. The bedroom and bathroom were more spacious than some of those in the main house and we had the use of the kitchen to make tea and coffee. The standard of the breakfast the next morning was as good as previously - the main reason people come there and return. Overall, for value for money and location, I wouldn't consider anywhere else if coming to Cork.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights paying 133 euros on room only basis

Breakfast was available at 10 euros per person extra

15 euros is taxi from cork airport

It was 5 mins walk from the centre of Cork and well served by the 208 bus, which connected at the main bus station with the buses for the airport , the hotel was spotless and the staff superb nothing was too much trouble.

Although the rooms were a little dated they were well equipped with Iron Ironing board ,hairdryer and the usual complimentary toiletries.

Only minior grumbles - telly reception very poor, heating only came on in the evening therefore rooms were quite chilly and the 'double' bed was actually a 'queen' size so extremley small

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing