We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I've stayed in”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best B&B I've stayed in”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The lady who's in charge was really nice. A HUGE set of pastries and tea/coffee was waiting for me when I arrived. Rooms were cozy, quiet and clean. And the cook-to-order breakfast was out of this world. The location is great if you're doing seminars or other academic stuff at UCC. Wifi signal strength could be improved but was acceptable.

Room Tip: A private room is always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruiNruiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at Garnish House and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our welcoming afternoon tea and our famous breakfast.

We constantly endeavour to meet and exceed guest expectations and we note your comment about the wifi signal strength. We will work to ensure that it is stronger in time for your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    333
    105
    45
    17
See reviews for
293
499
80
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just stayed in Garnish House for a weekend in Cork with a friend, for the third time. Marcel, who welcomed us, recognized us and brought the afternoon tea which is included - very welcome after a busy afternoon Christmas shopping. This time we were accommodated in the house directly across the road, which was fine. The bedroom and bathroom were more spacious than some of those in the main house and we had the use of the kitchen to make tea and coffee. The standard of the breakfast the next morning was as good as previously - the main reason people come there and return. Overall, for value for money and location, I wouldn't consider anywhere else if coming to Cork.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights paying 133 euros on room only basis

Breakfast was available at 10 euros per person extra

15 euros is taxi from cork airport

It was 5 mins walk from the centre of Cork and well served by the 208 bus, which connected at the main bus station with the buses for the airport , the hotel was spotless and the staff superb nothing was too much trouble.

Although the rooms were a little dated they were well equipped with Iron Ironing board ,hairdryer and the usual complimentary toiletries.

Only minior grumbles - telly reception very poor, heating only came on in the evening therefore rooms were quite chilly and the 'double' bed was actually a 'queen' size so extremley small

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. leonards on sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was literally starving for a good breakfast when I came Garnish House two days ago and what a feast it has been. Check out the menu http://www.garnish.ie/breakfast

They cannot do enough to accommodate me, no request is too small even to getting a lovely cake recipe. The afternoon welcome tea was on offer upon checking in which came with a whole basket of cakes and pastries with butter and home made jam. I have never had such a warm welcome. I would give a 5 star hotel a miss because the welcome I received in Garnish House was a 5 star indeed. Thank Your GARNISH HOUSE

Room Tip: it was very quiet building, I was on a ground floor and it had the private sitting room with a TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxicross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank YOU for choosing Garnish House and for this lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to experience our welcoming afternoon tea and our famous breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish House and to Cork in the near future.

Best wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

To be certain, the room rate is a bargain. The room was small, but clean. Heat comes on at 5 p.m. WiFi is free, but intermittent. Places that cannot figure out wifi have about another five years left in this century. Just saying.

By the by - finding this place can be a struggle. What is not mentioned on the website is that is is located on the west bound one way portion of Western Road. Places catering to tourists which fail to provide good directions to out-of-towners (their customer base) are doomed. Just sayiing.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hands down the best breakfast in Ireland! An amazing quantity and quality! I would stay there again just for the scones. This was the nicest room that we stayed in while visiting Ireland- a king-sized bed, a rare luxury. Clean and modern. The hostess was so welcoming and friendly, just perfect. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked a family room for 1 night. It was by far the smallest room of the other places we stayed while in Ireland. The full size bed for my husband and I couldn't even fit the 2 standard pillows. Our room was located down the street from the main house, involving crossing a street. The person who greeted us, and Marcel were nice and helpful. The scones served when we arrived were delicious, as was the breakfast. Our server at breakfast didn't seem to speak English well, and failed to mention our options for ordering. I had wanted more but wasn't sure if I could have it. I knew breakfast was extra, but I was surprised that it was 10 euros each. That was our most expensive breakfast while in Ireland, and I didn't feel it was worth it. Over all it was the most expensive place we stayed. Bottom line: if we return to Cork, we won't be staying there.

Room Tip: Ask which building you will be staying in so as to avoid surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BnBFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Garnish House but thank you for choosing us and for sharing your thoughts with your fellow travellers.

Garnish House is pleased to offer our guest a number of different room types and in some cases, matching our guests' requests to our available rooms requires allocating them accommodation in our adjoining building, located less than a minutes' walk from reception. Our rooms have double-sized beds as standard but upgrades to superior rooms with king-sized beds are available.

We are surprised that you didn't enjoy the Garnish breakfast as we have many guests who return time and time again almost for that reason alone. We apologise if there was any confusion with ordering. Guests who have not booked a rate that includes breakfast can avail of it for €10 per person but we advise booking directly with Garnish House to avail of best value bed-and-breakfast rates.

Again we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us but we would hope you will consider giving us another chance the next time you are in Cork. We look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing