We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant visit - Mary - Nenagh”
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another pleasant visit - Mary - Nenagh”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed here on many occasions over the last few years. As usual no faults, I just love the cuppa on arrival not to mention the goodies that come with it. Breakfast is just the best-spoilt for choice. Very friendly hostess & her staff. Excellent location. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    335
    107
    45
    17
See reviews for
295
507
82
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was booked for me. I would certainly not stay there by choice. Was put in another affiliated house 100m from the main 'house' in a pokey room with little space and certainly could not work in the room. Too much useless furniture - couldn't even open the wardrobe door. The so called great breakfast is very ordinary. Minimal fresh fruit (mostly tinned), no yogurts, very hot serving plates - just a pity the food on them is often cold. I have never seen so many tables squashed into a breakfast room - no elbow room. on the +ve side the wi-fi works OK!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaintRP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A warm welcome from very friendly staff. Room and en suite shower was immaculately clean. Bed was very comfortable. The room was small, but I was only there to sleep! Afternoon tea and cake on arrival was a nice touch. Breakfast was amazing. A great location for the Uni or for people who are happy to walk into the centre (15 min walk).

Room Tip: If you are less able, ask for a room on the ground floor. The stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I arrived before lunch-time and really didn't expect that my room would be ready for occupancy. But the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. I was seated in a nice little waiting room and before I knew it I was presented with a tray containing the most fantastic fruit cake (home made) and scones with lovely jam. I had already eaten on the plane so wasn't too hungry, but simply couldn't resist the lovely, delicious cake.
I really needed to freshen up and prepare for the work I was carrying out locally that afternoon. But although I didn't mention that, it was as if my needs were anticipated by the staff because I was offered one of their studio appartments in another house further up the road. This proved to be a great location for myself as it was a very quiet place to stay and ideal for preparations for both pieces of work I was delivering.
The little appartment had everything I needed: free WiFi, stock of teabags/coffee etc and milk in the fridge. A single bed which was comfortable and very clean, separate little shower and toilet and a small lobby. The appartment also had a cooker and microwave, so if I had wanted to cook for myself etc it would have been easy to do so.
I didn't have breakfast as I had an early start but others have commented already. One little tip:
if you are staying in the studio appartment the switch for the electric shower is located in the little lobby.
I wouldn't say the studios could be described as luxury standard, they're not. But mine anyway was comfortable, very clean and very quiet. I just made it a little home from home really during my short stay there.
I especially liked that they had a phone in the room which connects through to reception in the main house. As a female traveller travelling alone, it is reassuring to have that connection.

Room Tip: The little single studio appartment - room 2 - in another house, is very quiet and overlooks the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The garnish House proved a bit difficult to locate, but once we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.
Parking for our car was arranged at the linked establishment across the road, and our bags taken up to our top floor room for us. A nice touch too, even though we arrived relatively late in the afternoon, was the tea basket.
Room was cosy but comfy and the breakfast the next day - unbelievable. Be warned the owners and staff are proud of their breakfasts and expect you to enjoy them, pressing you to try the various treats available.
Getting a meal the previous evening was not so easy as Garnish House is not really close to anything. A good walk later however, we ended up in a Pub down the road that served good cold beer and ordered in Pizza for us, at special discounted rates. Welcome to Ireland!
Garnish House gets our tick of approval and recommendation.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have more stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PleasantSurpriseDJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Great breakfast staff and delicious breakfast, clean for the most part, decent proximity to the city center

Cons: Room was outdated and falling apart (shower tub didn't drain and enclosure was falling off, tub jets didn't work, creaky door, 2 channels on TV, beat up furniture, etc.), loud drilling all night right outside, something generally seedy that I can't quite put my finger on

Overall: We stayed at 6 B&Bs and two hotels in our loop around Ireland, and had great experiences everywhere besides the Garnish house. As the most expensive (with breakfast factored in) B&B we stayed, and almost as expensive as our 4-str hotel in Dublin, Garnish house offered the least value. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goombot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had high expectations of Garnish House after reading reviews, but I was rather disappointed. We arrived a bit after 6 pm, after some confusion finding the place. The parking lot in front of the building is too small, and people tend to double park all over the place. When we arrived, Marcel was extremely nice. We did not get to enjoy the welcome tea though (we had just come from a workshop and needed showers), so we went out to find dinner instead.

The room is nothing special at all. In fact, it was the most hotel-like of all the B&Bs we stayed at. We had a lovely view of... roofs and another window. Ugh. The bathroom is super tiny. You can stick your head in the sink while you sit on the toilet. The door is a plastic accordion that doesn't work very well. The shower was okay though (small also though). It was a very awkward room to have luggage in - we were constantly climbing around our bags (all we had were 2 hiking backpacks and two small day packs).

We were looking forward to breakfast the next morning. We came down to find the dining room completely full, and no idea when there would be a table. One of the staff told us they could call us when there was room. It was after 10 a.m. at this point- we were rather anxious to eat and get going. No one called. We went back downstairs after 20 minutes and found a table finally. The food was nothing special. The fruit was mostly canned fruit in syrup with some fresh apples tossed in. I ordered eggs the first day; they were just okay. The second morning I ordered pancakes with fresh fruit and cinnamon. They were more like crepes stuffed with tons of cinnamon- way too much cinnamon. My boyfriend ordered the Irish Breakfast both mornings; he thought it was okay. The first morning they ran out of mushrooms for his breakfast, and replaced (without telling us they ran out) them with beans- which he didn't much care for.

Also, when we had first arrived, Marcel told us that the next morning we could switch to a king size room because there would be some available. We (unfortunately) never saw Marcel again. We also were never introduced to the hostess, or anyone else who worked there. So, we did not get a larger room. The building is a little awkward too, we had to walk down a hallway in the middle of the building, up three flights of stairs to a little corner area- and that is where our room and one other room were located. That's pretty much the set up of all the rooms- so if you had a lot of heavy rolling suitcases this place would be quite difficult for you (luckily we just had backpacks!).

Also, after our much delayed breakfast the first day, we came back to our room to find a key in the door, and a maid in our room. We were rather flustered to find her there, as we had left many things lying about the room. There are no door tags to request privacy, and we really did not need the room cleaned after one night. Best to take your stuff with you when you leave if you feel unsure about the maid service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
732 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing