We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I should have written this a year ago! We were a family group of five women, one gent visiting the summer of 2011 (July). Although there were beds to fit all six in two rooms, the wonderful greeter/overseer/woman in charge (I did know her name.....) asked if my nephew would like to sleep on the sleep sofa in the lounge. This allowed us our privacy and was very much appreciated. This B&B is about a 10 minute, easy walk to town centre - a great location. As has been reported in other comments, the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous. From porridge (Baileys or Irish whiskey porridge, too!), omelettes, fruit, pancakes - you name it, they had it. All deliciously prepared and served. A homey place with lovely people - highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    329
    99
    44
    16
See reviews for
287
486
79
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent one night at Garnish House and enjoyed the warm welcome and delicious food that was offered in abundance. Check-in was preceeded by a basket of scones, cake and tea but even more welcoming was the handshake from the woman of the house - a first for me and very friendly it was too. I was then directed across the road to the front room on the first floor, which had a double and two singles. The room was being aired and it was nicely decorated, if a little dated. The bathroom was the least impressive area, with a bath and a tiny shower fitting over it. When I was preparing to settle in for the evening I noticed that the traffic noise was quite loud despite closing the windows - the fact the room is level with traffic lights makes the noise a little more annoying as its often the sound of engines ticking over and then accelerating to move off. I always bring ear plugs so I figured this wouldn't be an insurmountable problem but then between 12 and 1am a group of students took root outside the house next door and sang off key renditions of quite a selection of music. Street noise was unfortunately a feature of the whole night, so I slept fitfully but it was nothing to do with the quality of the accommodation, just the location at the front of the house onto a busy routeway for both vehicular and pedestrian traffic. Breakfast was lovely the next morning and again the woman of the house and indeed all her staff were lovely. I would love to stay here again in a room to the rear of the building as the only negative issue for me was outside noise.

Room Tip: Rear of the house if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This guesthouse has the best breakfast I've experienced; you can choose from about 30 different options, buffet, Irish breakfast, whiskey or Bailey's porridge, Florentine omelettes, etc etc.
Tea, coffee, bread, sweet buns served to you upon arrival and while you're enjoying them the waiter is giving you all information you require of your Cork visit. The rooms are very clean and well equipped, there are actually 3 different houses (just next to each other) and at least 2 of them also have a sitting room area, kitchen etc. which you're free to use at any time. It is only about 10 minutes walk to city centre/shopping streets. Good parking facilities. I would highly recommend this B&B :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaLekCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were thrilled with afternoon tea on arrival, but then were completely blown away with the breakfasts at Garnish House. Great quality, huge variety and generous serves. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at Garnish House on my 40th birthday with a number of friends, lovely place. We were all treated to a very warm welcome, tea, coffee & cake before check-in. Breakfasts are amazing. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and comfortable. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie-anne-limejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a lovely B&B, however our family of 3 stayed down the road at their sister property after we thought we'd add an extra night at the last minute, and needed a triple room in August - at the height of summer season. We called about 4 pm and asked if they could accomodate us a day early, and they were able to - although the extra night would not be available in the triple room within Garnish House that we had booked for the second night. We appreciated that they went over to the other property and got the beds made and lights on for us to arrive a few hours later, and we decided to stay at this location rather than uprooting the next day to be inside Garnish House. So, I cannot comment on the rooms inside of here, but we were well acommodated otherwise, and the small 'apartment' was clean, and had parking.
The two mornings of breakfasts though were incredible, and at 10 Euro each, a wonderful value! I cant see our dear hostess making any profit on these wonderful breakfasts!
My husband had the full Irish breakfast, I had smoked salmon and poached eggs, and our son a chocolate banana pancake. All looked they came out of a professional kitchen, and were wonderful. Before that, help yourself to fresh fruit, warm scones, cold cuts and cheeses, yogurts, cereals and croissants. While you wait, a basket full of toast, warm scones and soda bread is brought to your table anyway, with an assortment of marmalade and jam. Teas, coffee, milk and juice to help yourself.
The dear hostess tried to tempt everyone after all of that, with a little pancake 'for dessert!' She greeted every guest at their table and was genuinely happy to meet you.
The location is about 7 minutes walk to the start of the downtown shopping area. Not that you'll need anything as you'll be too full, but a coffee shop is 2 minutes away if you want a latte for the walk into town. If you walk along the street at the back of this house, it has a walkway where many locals walked and biked - a college nearby.
Thank you dear Garnish House - we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCanadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good quiet location for walking into Cork centre; lovely to have the Uni grounds on the door step for a pleasant stroll. The breakfast choice was amazing - as a vegetarian there was enough choice for me to have a different cooked breakfast option every day of our 3 day stay!! Staff were always keen to offer you more toast and coffee/tea and tempt you into a pancake. The afternoon tea on arrival is a nice touch as well.

However, the rooms are small, basic and a little dated. Welcome on arrival wasn't that warm or friendly as we were not shown to our room or offered any help with luggage, despite the room being in a separate building up the road.

All in all though not bad value for city accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing