We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe fare lives up to its appropriate name!”
Review of Cafe Serendipity

Cafe Serendipity
Ranked #25 of 642 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since October 2012 we are now serving Dinner from 6pm to close Thursday to Saturday. All Day Breakfast and Brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We are a modern Cafe on the Western Road in Cork City Opp River Lee Hotel. We serve Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch. Morning Coffee and treats and Afternoon Tea and Treats. Scones served with Jam and Cream. All made for you, by us in our Kitchen at Serendipity."Fresh Homemade Food" Call in to see us anytime.
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cafe fare lives up to its appropriate name!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Interesting decor and menu offering the diner who crosses the threshold by luck a serendipitous experience. The bright airy interior is complemented by the visually attractive artwork featuring well known Cork landscapes while the outdoor tables allow for relaxing al fresco dining. The menu choice is wholesome , healthy and offers a variety of salades, meat and fish which arrive well presented and cooked to perfection. The waiting staff are knowledgeable and attentive and the service prompt. This cafe lives up to its name which is defined on the ceiling support beam. Go check it out for yourself if you 're interested. It will be a lucky find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marieCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    99
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty unique veggitarian experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The menu was very unique offering really interesting variations of vegetarian dishes. Prices were reasonable and service was excellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bailieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious smoked fish and wine.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful food and warm atmosphere, not far from many of the local B&B places. I could have had dinner here every night. Still miss the smoked haddock. Can you send a parcel to NYC? Hope to return in the not too distant future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goeastfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very sweet restaurant; lovely staff.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went into Serendipity for desert only. It was an intimate, lovely place. We had homemade desserts and decaf cappuccino, which were delicious. The owner came over for a chat; she was charming and you got the sense that she really cared about what was on your plate and the expression on your face.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
345 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

When we walked into this restaurant we viewed the menu and were debating walking out, since the menu is rather restricted and not all family members liked what was on offer. Fortunately we did not leave and all were accomodated with our requests. The person in our group who usually eats just pizza and pasta was very pleased with the risotto served instead. The place is not very big but has a nice feel to it! The dips we had for starters were yummy and tasted Mediterranean. Main courses were all cooked to perfection and the steak tasted divine. One of the tastier meals we had in Cork.

If visiting by car please note there is no parking outside the restaurant, as it is situated on a fairly busy road opposite the River Lee Hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Serendipity also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Cafe Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing