We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great, food excellent”
Review of Cafe Serendipity

Cafe Serendipity
Ranked #22 of 650 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since October 2012 we are now serving Dinner from 6pm to close Thursday to Saturday. All Day Breakfast and Brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We are a modern Cafe on the Western Road in Cork City Opp River Lee Hotel. We serve Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch. Morning Coffee and treats and Afternoon Tea and Treats. Scones served with Jam and Cream. All made for you, by us in our Kitchen at Serendipity."Fresh Homemade Food" Call in to see us anytime.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service great, food excellent”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The service was very fast, and the staff was very welcoming! That started us off on the right foot, but the best was yet to come. I ordered the chicken risotto, and my fiance had the smoked haddock. At first bite both of our meals were easily the best we've had in Ireland (my fiance swears it was the best meal she's ever had). If your thinking of going here for dinner, just do it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smnirven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    103
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I went back here recently to have an evening meal with a friend. The menu looked lovely and there was a good selection of fish on the Specials board. I had the Chowder for starters and my friend had the Smoked Chicken Salad. I had Steak for the main course and my friend had the John Dory. The food was gorgeous and the service excellent. We will definately be back again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justinsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic addition to Cork's Restaurants”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have eaten here a few times recently - both lunch and Dinner and just loved it. The menus are beautiful - something to suit everyone. The best about it is the freshness of the food and the careful preparation and presentation. There aren't many Restaurants that serve such beautiful Seafood dishes in the City so for the seafood lovers this is a must. I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ajh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Been to Cafe Serendipity many times for lunch and it never disappoints. The food is great and staff never keep you waiting long. The best part of this cafe though in my opinion is the relaxed atmosphere, it's almost homely. This is down to the great staff, beautiful interior and great food. I will definitely return here many times in the future!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank a w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Clear
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked into the B&B Anam Cara and wondered if they'd recommend the cafe/restaurant next door. It turned out that it is owned by the same people, Tim and Aideen, who are lovely, friendly hosts. So we dined there. What a fantastic meal we had! Amazing hake, served with beautifully prepared vegetables. We were very impressed with the service, ambiance and food. Would recommend Cafe Serendipity to anyone who enjoys food which could be Michelin rated. They have recommendations for awards for their food and I'm not surprised!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyandDaveCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Serendipity also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Cafe Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing